Consolidated GApps Central

Following the retirement of Paranoid Android GApps Provider TKruzze and subsequent deletion of … more

Samsung Galaxy S4 I9505 Receives CyanogenMod 12.1

Released in 2013, the Samsung Galaxy S4 I9505 is the quad-core Snapdragon … more

Sunday Debate: Corporate Cyanogen Good for Android?

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on Cyanogen Inc. Come with your opinions and feel … more

AOSP Lollipop 5.1.0 for LG Optimus 4X HD

One of the main rivals of the legendary Samsung Galaxy SIII, the LG Optimus 4X HD has received … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q]2 Problems: "System UI has stopped" & "the process com.android.phone has stopped"

16th February 2014, 10:46 PM   |  #1  
Soul TKR's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Seattle, WA
Thanks Meter: 12
 
175 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
Donate to Me
More
For some unknown reason after a simple reboot I'm getting these two errors pop up. I select "OK" and they just pop right back up not letting me do anything. I tried flashing a fresh version of Cromi-X from wipe both Cache and Dalvik. After it get's through the "Optimizing Apps" and just about get's to my desktop to load I get those two errors. I figured a fresh wipe and flash would fix it but nope...

Any ideas?

16th February 2014, 10:54 PM   |  #2  
sbdags's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Kenilworth, Coventry
Thanks Meter: 14,348
 
12,052 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soul TKR

For some unknown reason after a simple reboot I'm getting these two errors pop up. I select "OK" and they just pop right back up not letting me do anything. I tried flashing a fresh version of Cromi-X from wipe both Cache and Dalvik. After it get's through the "Optimizing Apps" and just about get's to my desktop to load I get those two errors. I figured a fresh wipe and flash would fix it but nope...

Any ideas?

What was the last thing you did before rebooting?

Can you capture a logcat over adb as it should tell you why they are crashing.

Search on xda for how to get a logcat
16th February 2014, 11:00 PM   |  #3  
Soul TKR's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Seattle, WA
Thanks Meter: 12
 
175 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
Donate to Me
More
Thanks for the reply sbdags! I'll check into that and post back up. I'm in the middle of reflashing again right this second lol
16th February 2014, 11:13 PM   |  #4  
Soul TKR's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Seattle, WA
Thanks Meter: 12
 
175 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
Donate to Me
More
OK well this last factory reset and fresh flash of Cromi-X seems to have fixed it for whatever reason... Odd
9th June 2014, 02:37 AM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Unhappy
Quote:
Originally Posted by sbdags

What was the last thing you did before rebooting?

Can you capture a logcat over adb as it should tell you why they are crashing.

Search on xda for how to get a logcat

Hi guys,

I have exactly same problem but it happens when i plug a docking station. Do you have idea why? It started when i installed CM 11 and still continue when i reinstalled it to crombi-kk
11th June 2014, 07:20 AM   |  #6  
berndblb's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Los Angeles, CA
Thanks Meter: 1,243
 
3,565 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by vy8liz

Hi guys,

I have exactly same problem but it happens when i plug a docking station. Do you have idea why? It started when i installed CM 11 and still continue when i reinstalled it to crombi-kk

You mean the audio dock? It's a know bug in CM11. You'll have to live with it until somebody finds a fix or flash CROMI-X.

Sent from my HTC6525LVW using Tapatalk
11th June 2014, 07:18 PM   |  #7  
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 2,684
 
3,681 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by vy8liz

Hi guys,

I have exactly same problem but it happens when i plug a docking station. Do you have idea why? It started when i installed CM 11 and still continue when i reinstalled it to crombi-kk

If you have exactly the same problem, then you need to do exactly what sbdags suggested - get a logcat and read it.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes