FORUMS

AOSP 5.1 Lollipop for Nexus Q

Google Nexus Q is an intriguing device released with Android 4.0 Ice Cream Sandwich. It was abandoned by … more

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (Apr 17 – 24)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

Glimpse Notifications: Easier Lockscreen Notifications

Lollipop brought a revamp to the lockscreen, taking away custom widgets but … more

What Are the Best Looking Apps on Android?

As more developers are updating their apps with Material Design elements, we’re … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

HELPP .. Question please

9th June 2014, 04:20 AM |#1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
i got an htc one m8 i wanna know if i can use my ps3 controller without root my phone , via wireless i dont wanna use it via OTG thanks
 
 
9th June 2014, 05:29 AM |#2  
BerndM14's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 550
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by thesebitas1994

i got an htc one m8 i wanna know if i can use my ps3 controller without root my phone , via wireless i dont wanna use it via OTG thanks

I'm not really sure of any other method apart from using the sixaxis app which you need root for. As I understand it, apparently Sony Z2 users can use the PS3 Controller without rooting the device as Sony implemented the means to link up the two without any 3rd party app(Which is logical...Sony after all).

You'll have to compromise somewhere though, seriously. It's a 3rd party controller, how do you expect it to work without at least rooting the device so that you can MAKE changes in order for it to work? It's like trying to install a program(That needs Administrative privileges) on a PC without granting it Administrative privileges
9th June 2014, 09:41 PM |#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by thesebitas1994

i got an htc one m8 i wanna know if i can use my ps3 controller without root my phone , via wireless i dont wanna use it via OTG thanks


You are not able to use the PS3 controller without root. I am using SIxaxis controller on my HTC M8

shot answer NO. needs to be rooted to use a ps3 controller
9th June 2014, 10:09 PM |#4  
tommy_riley's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Portland, OR
Thanks Meter: 48
 
More
Didn't you already start a thread for this?

Sent from a payphone
11th June 2014, 06:28 PM |#5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by BerndM14

I'm not really sure of any other method apart from using the sixaxis app which you need root for. As I understand it, apparently Sony Z2 users can use the PS3 Controller without rooting the device as Sony implemented the means to link up the two without any 3rd party app(Which is logical...Sony after all).

You'll have to compromise somewhere though, seriously. It's a 3rd party controller, how do you expect it to work without at least rooting the device so that you can MAKE changes in order for it to work? It's like trying to install a program(That needs Administrative privileges) on a PC without granting it Administrative privileges

Quote:
Originally Posted by CEROSERDNA

You are not able to use the PS3 controller without root. I am using SIxaxis controller on my HTC M8

shot answer NO. needs to be rooted to use a ps3 controller

ok saw an guide for root , it is in spanish so is ok, but if i root i cant update via OTA , is there any way to unroot easy ?
and i try to use my sixaxis via OTG on my m8 , but it dont work , what app will work for recognize my sixaxis controller via OTG without root?
thanks,sorry for bad english
11th June 2014, 07:34 PM |#6  
BerndM14's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 550
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by thesebitas1994

ok saw an guide for root , it is in spanish so is ok, but if i root i cant update via OTA , is there any way to unroot easy ?
and i try to use my sixaxis via OTG on my m8 , but it dont work , what app will work for recognize my sixaxis controller via OTG without root?
thanks,sorry for bad english

Where do you people get this information from? Link me to the place that says you can't get OTA if you're rooted

You'll get OTA if you're rooted, you just need to make sure that you have stock recovery installed. If you're S-ON you'll have to relock bootloader, if you're S-OFF then you don't need to, but not getting OTA because you're rooted?
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes