FORUMS

Which OEM Would You Like to Help?

Most manufacturers have moments of greatness and moments of decadence, and in the past few years … more

Root T-Mobile S6/Edge on 5.1.1 Without Tripping Knox

If you purchase phones from a carrier, you may be no stranger to the difficulties … more

IonVR Coming Soon, HTC M9 Dev Edition Gets Android 5.1 – XDA TV

The HTC M9 Developer Edition has received Android 5.1. That and … more

Android 5.1.1 Omni ROM For Motorola Xoom

Back in Feb 2011, the Motorola Xoom became the first device to be sold with Android 3.0 … more

AHD drops wifi on stock and custom ROMs

4,502 posts
Thanks Meter: 2,010
 
By audit13, Senior Member on 3rd February 2014, 02:50 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
I have an AHD and I have had this problem for a while. When on stock or custom ROMs, the phone will suddenly drop the wifi connection. Sometimes, it will re-connect right away, other times, it takes a bit. Once it re-connects, it will either stay connected for a few minutes and drop again or it will connect and immediately drop it. It didn't bother me too much but it seems to be getting worse.

I'm running the latest Bell radio (mb886_bp_100740.071.65.61p).

Anyone else have this issue?

Edit: does the same thing with the latest retail Mexico radio too.
Last edited by audit13; 3rd February 2014 at 08:00 PM.
 
 
4th February 2014, 03:23 AM |#2  
TheJeremyWhite's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Surrey, BC
Thanks Meter: 27
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by audit13

I have an AHD and I have had this problem for a while. When on stock or custom ROMs, the phone will suddenly drop the wifi connection. Sometimes, it will re-connect right away, other times, it takes a bit. Once it re-connects, it will either stay connected for a few minutes and drop again or it will connect and immediately drop it. It didn't bother me too much but it seems to be getting worse.

I'm running the latest Bell radio (mb886_bp_100740.071.65.61p).

Anyone else have this issue?

Edit: does the same thing with the latest retail Mexico radio too.

I'm not sure how much diggin you did or what you've read on this issue, but after about a half hour i found a thread that may help you. It seems to have helped others with this same issue:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...2469104&page=3

Then.... not sure if this will help your situation, but it's woth a shot. Wifi-fix.zip or something, I've used it before for a similar issue:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2178123
4th February 2014, 11:51 AM |#3  
audit13's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 2,010
 
More
Thanks for the links. The solutions offered don't help. I have WiFi, it just drops randomly at times.

I'll be putting the ahd away and switch to using my backup Samsung phone.
5th February 2014, 12:28 AM |#4  
TheJeremyWhite's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Surrey, BC
Thanks Meter: 27
 
More
I have used the above fix for intermittent WiFi connectivity problems just like yours.

Sent from my Atrix HD using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
5th February 2014, 12:55 AM |#5  
audit13's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 2,010
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheJeremyWhite

I have used the above fix for intermittent WiFi connectivity problems just like yours.

Sent from my Atrix HD using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

I just loaded the att radio from stock 4.1.1 ROM for testing. I'll let you know how it goes.

Thanks again for your help.

Edit: The AT&T modem seems to have really helped. I surfed continuously for 40 minutes and it never dropped the wifi signal
Last edited by audit13; 5th February 2014 at 01:32 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to audit13 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th June 2014, 07:14 PM |#6  
Taha Haq's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag karachi
Thanks Meter: 75
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by audit13

I just loaded the att radio from stock 4.1.1 ROM for testing. I'll let you know how it goes.

Thanks again for your help.

Edit: The AT&T modem seems to have really helped. I surfed continuously for 40 minutes and it never dropped the wifi signal

Hello I am having the exactly same problem can you tell me how you solved this issue ?

Sent from my ATRIX HD using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
11th June 2014, 09:40 PM |#7  
audit13's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 2,010
 
More
Download the stock ATT 4.1.1 ROM and extract the file named NON-HLOS.BIN using 7zip.

1) install the adb/fastboot files to a single directory on my computer;
2) place the NON-HLOS.bin file in the adb/fastboot directory from step 1;
3) open a command prompt window as an administrator;
4) install the Motorola USB drivers and connect my booted phone with USB debugging enabled;
5) from the command line, type "adb reboot bootloader" and press the enter key to get my phone into AP Fastboot Flash mode;
6) from the command line, type "fastboot flash modem NON-HLOS.bin" and press enter; and
7) reboot the phone and check to made sure my baseband now says "QUINARA_BP_100740.081.65.05".

I have to say that it helped but the problem did reappear. I then decided to flash a complete stock ATT 4.1.1 ROM again, I ran the OTA update which updated the modem again, and wifi has been fine since the OTA update.
The Following User Says Thank You to audit13 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes