Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,733,198 Members 40,184 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

I need help rooting on Note II v4.3

Tip us?
 
booandroids
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 11
Join Date: Dec 2013
Default I need help rooting on Note II v4.3

Hi

I followed this thread here http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...72&postcount=2

I downloaded Odin3-v1.85.zip and 2013.05.20 --- CF-Auto-Root (root package)

ran odin

click the PDA button, and select CF-Auto-Root-....tar.md5

put note II in download mode (volume button, home, power)

click start

wait a couple secs

odin says pass

phone reboots and then does some more rooting stuff and reboots again

runs root checker and shows its not rooted

help???
 
iforgot618
Old
#2  
iforgot618's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 100
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: San Antonio
I just use CyanogenMod Installer and it's easy as cake! Plus you can also have a TW rom ready to go if TW is what you want
 
ItsLasher
Old
#3  
ItsLasher's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 109
Posts: 320
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Quote:
Originally Posted by booandroids View Post
Hi

I followed this thread here http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...72&postcount=2

I downloaded Odin3-v1.85.zip and 2013.05.20 --- CF-Auto-Root (root package)

ran odin

click the PDA button, and select CF-Auto-Root-....tar.md5

put note II in download mode (volume button, home, power)

click start

wait a couple secs

odin says pass

phone reboots and then does some more rooting stuff and reboots again

runs root checker and shows its not rooted

help???
I had to use this method a few days ago and I got it to work with the latest Odin3 3.09. Anything else and it would fail for me.
 
booandroids
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 11
Join Date: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by ItsLasher View Post
I had to use this method a few days ago and I got it to work with the latest Odin3 3.09. Anything else and it would fail for me.
I downloaded Odin v 3 09 and tried to root it again... no success.

Odin says PASS but root checker says its not rooted.
 
ItsLasher
Old
(Last edited by ItsLasher; 10th June 2014 at 05:48 AM.)
#5  
ItsLasher's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 109
Posts: 320
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Quote:
Originally Posted by booandroids View Post
I downloaded Odin v 3 09 and tried to root it again... no success.

Odin says PASS but root checker says its not rooted.
After Odin say passed are you rebooting into recovery and flashing Philz and SU or are you just rebooting into the phone OS like normal?

IF the above auto reboots back to the phone.

Uncheck the auto reboot and once it's all done and says passed reboot into recovery and complete the flashing needed.
 
booandroids
Old
(Last edited by booandroids; 10th June 2014 at 10:10 PM.)
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 11
Join Date: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by ItsLasher View Post
After Odin say passed are you rebooting into recovery and flashing Philz and SU or are you just rebooting into the phone OS like normal?

IF the above auto reboots back to the phone.

Uncheck the auto reboot and once it's all done and says passed reboot into recovery and complete the flashing needed.

I seem to have figured out the problem.. just updated SuperSU and root checker says my phone is rooted now. Now you said something about flashing Philz.. how do I do that and what does flashing Philz do to my phone?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	prpoblems.jpg
Views:	41
Size:	72.2 KB
ID:	2791388  
 
Noutafun
Old
#7  
Noutafun's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 22
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by booandroids View Post
I seem to have figured out the problem.. just updated SuperSU and root checker says my phone is rooted now. Now you said something about flashing Philz.. how do I do that and what does flashing Philz do to my phone?
if it says youre rooted then youre good. i dont think you need philz. i had the same problem. my recovery was cwm so.i dont think philz is a must.

if i remember correctly, it has something to do with supersu not matching or being up to date or something. hence your simple fix.

speaking only from experience
 
booandroids
Old
#8  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 11
Join Date: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Noutafun View Post
if it says youre rooted then youre good. i dont think you need philz. i had the same problem. my recovery was cwm so.i dont think philz is a must.

if i remember correctly, it has something to do with supersu not matching or being up to date or something. hence your simple fix.

speaking only from experience


Ok thanks

so now that I installed Philz & rooted phone, how do I install custom rom?
 
g_money
Old
(Last edited by g_money; 11th June 2014 at 10:43 PM.)
#9  
g_money's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 240
Posts: 339
Join Date: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by booandroids View Post
Ok thanks

so now that I installed Philz & rooted phone, how do I install custom rom?
Download the rom you want to use, onto your phone.
Check it's md5 (i use md5 checker from the play store)
Boot into recovery and make a backup (i also reboot, go back into recovery and restore/boot into my backup just to make sure it's good)
Back In recovery, wipe to install a new rom.
Install your rom .zip
Reboot (and hopefully) profit.


Sent from my SPH-L710 using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk 2


I'm just saying....
g_money

PROUD owner of a Sprint Galaxy sIII
(My wife thinks her Note2 is better.
She gets no root access until she apologizes...)

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Benchmark Your CPU Performance with Mini CPU Integer Script

When it comes to device testing, there are two types of people on XDA. The first … more

Rid Yourself of Charging Annoyances with No Wake on Charge Xposed Module

Almost every OEM has skinned and otherwise modifiedAndroid to suit … more