Samsung Galaxy Note Edge Hands On – XDA TV

Perhaps one of the more peculiar announcements this year was the curved edge-screened … more

Nova Launcher Update Brings Lollipop Functionality and Feel

One of the most popular third party launcher on Android, Nova Launcher, has just … more

Check Your I/O Usage with Iotop for Android

Ever needed to check the I/O usage of apps? If so, you probably tried searching for an iotop … more

T-Mobile HTC One M8 Gets Selfie-Friendly Android 4.4.4 OTA

The T-Mobie variant of HTC One (M8) just now received an over-the-air update … more
Post Reply

I need help rooting on Note II v4.3

OP booandroids

9th June 2014, 12:57 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
Hi

I followed this thread here http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...72&postcount=2

I downloaded Odin3-v1.85.zip and 2013.05.20 --- CF-Auto-Root (root package)

ran odin

click the PDA button, and select CF-Auto-Root-....tar.md5

put note II in download mode (volume button, home, power)

click start

wait a couple secs

odin says pass

phone reboots and then does some more rooting stuff and reboots again

runs root checker and shows its not rooted

help???
9th June 2014, 06:31 PM   |  #2  
iforgot618's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag San Antonio
Thanks Meter: 15
 
104 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
More
I just use CyanogenMod Installer and it's easy as cake! Plus you can also have a TW rom ready to go if TW is what you want
9th June 2014, 08:05 PM   |  #3  
ItsLasher's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Indianapolis, Indiana
Thanks Meter: 127
 
350 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by booandroids

Hi

I followed this thread here http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...72&postcount=2

I downloaded Odin3-v1.85.zip and 2013.05.20 --- CF-Auto-Root (root package)

ran odin

click the PDA button, and select CF-Auto-Root-....tar.md5

put note II in download mode (volume button, home, power)

click start

wait a couple secs

odin says pass

phone reboots and then does some more rooting stuff and reboots again

runs root checker and shows its not rooted

help???

I had to use this method a few days ago and I got it to work with the latest Odin3 3.09. Anything else and it would fail for me.
10th June 2014, 04:26 AM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by ItsLasher

I had to use this method a few days ago and I got it to work with the latest Odin3 3.09. Anything else and it would fail for me.

I downloaded Odin v 3 09 and tried to root it again... no success.

Odin says PASS but root checker says its not rooted.
10th June 2014, 05:42 AM   |  #5  
ItsLasher's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Indianapolis, Indiana
Thanks Meter: 127
 
350 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by booandroids

I downloaded Odin v 3 09 and tried to root it again... no success.

Odin says PASS but root checker says its not rooted.

After Odin say passed are you rebooting into recovery and flashing Philz and SU or are you just rebooting into the phone OS like normal?

IF the above auto reboots back to the phone.

Uncheck the auto reboot and once it's all done and says passed reboot into recovery and complete the flashing needed.
Last edited by ItsLasher; 10th June 2014 at 05:48 AM.
10th June 2014, 09:04 PM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by ItsLasher

After Odin say passed are you rebooting into recovery and flashing Philz and SU or are you just rebooting into the phone OS like normal?

IF the above auto reboots back to the phone.

Uncheck the auto reboot and once it's all done and says passed reboot into recovery and complete the flashing needed.


I seem to have figured out the problem.. just updated SuperSU and root checker says my phone is rooted now. Now you said something about flashing Philz.. how do I do that and what does flashing Philz do to my phone?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	prpoblems.jpg
Views:	41
Size:	72.2 KB
ID:	2791388  
Last edited by booandroids; 10th June 2014 at 10:10 PM.
10th June 2014, 11:51 PM   |  #7  
Noutafun's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
22 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by booandroids

I seem to have figured out the problem.. just updated SuperSU and root checker says my phone is rooted now. Now you said something about flashing Philz.. how do I do that and what does flashing Philz do to my phone?

if it says youre rooted then youre good. i dont think you need philz. i had the same problem. my recovery was cwm so.i dont think philz is a must.

if i remember correctly, it has something to do with supersu not matching or being up to date or something. hence your simple fix.

speaking only from experience
11th June 2014, 05:24 PM   |  #8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Noutafun

if it says youre rooted then youre good. i dont think you need philz. i had the same problem. my recovery was cwm so.i dont think philz is a must.

if i remember correctly, it has something to do with supersu not matching or being up to date or something. hence your simple fix.

speaking only from experience



Ok thanks

so now that I installed Philz & rooted phone, how do I install custom rom?
11th June 2014, 10:33 PM   |  #9  
g_money's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 328
 
403 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by booandroids

Ok thanks

so now that I installed Philz & rooted phone, how do I install custom rom?

Download the rom you want to use, onto your phone.
Check it's md5 (i use md5 checker from the play store)
Boot into recovery and make a backup (i also reboot, go back into recovery and restore/boot into my backup just to make sure it's good)
Back In recovery, wipe to install a new rom.
Install your rom .zip
Reboot (and hopefully) profit.


Sent from my SPH-L710 using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk 2
Last edited by g_money; 11th June 2014 at 10:43 PM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes