Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,768,220 Members 44,745 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Error 492 when installing or updating an application

Tip us?
 
SudoHalt
Old
(Last edited by SudoHalt; 10th June 2014 at 08:05 PM.)
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 74
Join Date: Sep 2012
Default Error 492 when installing or updating an application

Hello,

I just installed CM7.2 RC4 on S5830i, and Gapps. Whenever I try to download a new application or update an already installed application, I get the following message "[Application Name] could not be downloaded due to an error (492)".

I tried the following to try to solve the issue but in vain:
  • Clearing data and cache of market and Google Services Framework
  • Wiping cache and dalvik cache
  • Formatting SD card (anyway apps were set to be installed on internal storage)
  • Factory Reset
  • Factory Reset then Wipe /cache, /system and /data and then reinstalling the ROM and Gapps.

What can be done about it?
Main Device: Samsung Galaxy S Plus (I9001) - ROM: CyanogenMod 10.1 PMEM (Release 9) | Kernel: K^Kernel 370MB| Governor: SmartassV2

Others:
Samsung Galaxy Tab 7 Plus (P6200) - Shattered Glass but still working | ROM: Stock Android 4.1.2 - Not Rooted
Nokia 1100
 
NightRaven49
Old
#2  
NightRaven49's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 131
Posts: 430
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: most likely in school
This is a kernel error where it fails to mount /cache properly. It is not the ROM issue.

One solution posted by @marcussmith2626 on the SGY forums is to make a Nandroid backup from CWM first, then do an advanced restore of the cache from there. It should work, and has worked for me.
I am currently away to study for exams, so please do not PM me for anything.

<3 Aerith
The Following User Says Thank You to NightRaven49 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
mahithm
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 352
Posts: 956
Join Date: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by SudoHalt View Post
Hello,

I just installed CM7.2 RC4 on S5830i, and Gapps. Whenever I try to download a new application or update an already installed application, I get the following message "[Application Name] could not be downloaded due to an error (492)".

I tried the following to try to solve the issue but in vain:
  • Clearing data and cache of market and Google Services Framework
  • Wiping cache and dalvik cache
  • Formatting SD card (anyway apps were set to be installed on internal storage)
  • Factory Reset
  • Factory Reset then Wipe /cache, /system and /data and then reinstalling the ROM and Gapps.

What can be done about it?
I have encountered similar problem and I solved it by using an app called "Cache Download to SD (root)". This app enables cache on the SD Card so that you will never get the Error 492 ever again. Here is the link,

Cache Download to SD (root)

Hope I Helped
HIT THE THANKS BUTTON IF I HELPED YOU
The Following User Says Thank You to mahithm For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
amolgosavi
Old
#4  
amolgosavi's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 143
Posts: 630
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: *MUMBAI*
Quote:
Originally Posted by SudoHalt View Post
Hello,

I just installed CM7.2 RC4 on S5830i, and Gapps. Whenever I try to download a new application or update an already installed application, I get the following message "[Application Name] could not be downloaded due to an error (492)".

I tried the following to try to solve the issue but in vain:
  • Clearing data and cache of market and Google Services Framework
  • Wiping cache and dalvik cache
  • Formatting SD card (anyway apps were set to be installed on internal storage)
  • Factory Reset
  • Factory Reset then Wipe /cache, /system and /data and then reinstalling the ROM and Gapps.

What can be done about it?
Go to this link and flash that zip by lopicl.0 your problem will be solved ..

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2531392

Sent from my GT-S5830i using Tapatalk 2
The Following User Says Thank You to amolgosavi For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
SudoHalt
Old
#5  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 74
Join Date: Sep 2012
Default Thank you

Thank you, problem is now solved. BTW which of these solutions work on a phone other than the S5830i?

This is something that might be a bit offtopic, but I am interested to know more about the cause of this issue, where can I do that?
Main Device: Samsung Galaxy S Plus (I9001) - ROM: CyanogenMod 10.1 PMEM (Release 9) | Kernel: K^Kernel 370MB| Governor: SmartassV2

Others:
Samsung Galaxy Tab 7 Plus (P6200) - Shattered Glass but still working | ROM: Stock Android 4.1.2 - Not Rooted
Nokia 1100
 
mahithm
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 352
Posts: 956
Join Date: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by SudoHalt View Post
Thank you, problem is now solved. BTW which of these solutions work on a phone other than the S5830i?

This is something that might be a bit offtopic, but I am interested to know more about the cause of this issue, where can I do that?
Try the app I specified earlier. It works on any phone that runs on Android 2.2 & up and as long as it is rooted. One of the cause for this is as @NightRaven49 mentioned, the failure of the kernel to mount /cache partition properly. Another cause which I personally encountered is that some roms set the default cache size to 25 MB. So any app download greater than this size will give you this error. In general, this is mostly related with cache partition. Hope I Helped
HIT THE THANKS BUTTON IF I HELPED YOU
 
amolgosavi
Old
#7  
amolgosavi's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 143
Posts: 630
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: *MUMBAI*
Quote:
Originally Posted by SudoHalt View Post
Thank you, problem is now solved. BTW which of these solutions work on a phone other than the S5830i?

This is something that might be a bit offtopic, but I am interested to know more about the cause of this issue, where can I do that?
How u solved?

Sent from my GT-S5830i using Tapatalk 2
 
Raxit k. Tandel
Old
#8  
Raxit k. Tandel's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 126
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Navsari
Use Cache Fixer app.

Sent from my GT-S5830i using XDA Free mobile app
 
amolgosavi
Old
#9  
amolgosavi's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 143
Posts: 630
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: *MUMBAI*
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raxit k. Tandel View Post
Use Cache Fixer app.

Sent from my GT-S5830i using XDA Free mobile app
He already solved his problem

Sent from my GT-S5830i using Tapatalk 2
 
NightRaven49
Old
#10  
NightRaven49's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 131
Posts: 430
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: most likely in school
Quote:
Originally Posted by SudoHalt View Post
Thank you, problem is now solved. BTW which of these solutions work on a phone other than the S5830i?

This is something that might be a bit offtopic, but I am interested to know more about the cause of this issue, where can I do that?
I refer you to my post, because it's exactly what's happening.




Quote:
Originally Posted by NightRaven49 View Post
This is a kernel error where it fails to mount /cache properly. It is not the ROM issue.

One solution posted by @marcussmith2626 on the SGY forums is to make a Nandroid backup from CWM first, then do an advanced restore of the cache from there. It should work, and has worked for me.
My phone is a TassVe (GT-S5570I) and this method also works with Totoro (GT-S5360).
I am currently away to study for exams, so please do not PM me for anything.

<3 Aerith

The Following User Says Thank You to NightRaven49 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes