FORUMS

Index Project For XDA Device Subforums

Another ambitious project from the collaborative efforts of Recognized Contributors and Forum … more

The Atlas of XDA

A few weeks ago, we asked you “How Does Your Location Affect Your Life As A Power User?”. In the days that … more

New Snapdragons: Some Context & Contrast

It hasn’t been a good year for Qualcomm so far. Every device featuring the Snapdragon 810 … more

Google To Launch Next Gen Android One On July 14

The first gen of Android One devices to be launched in India in September 2014 were … more

[Q] Galaxy S3 ATT Sometimes charges, sometimes doesnt.

6 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By ibroza, Junior Member on 11th June 2014, 01:51 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hi,

My S3 doesnt charge properly. Sometimes its charges, sometimes it doesnt. Its really annoying... It'll be plugged in charging then it doesnt. But once it doesnt work, it doesnt work after a while. Then itll work again after I try to plug it in. I had my phone jtagged recently and my phone didnt do that before until after I got it. The guy said he didnt do anything he just put everything stock. My phone is indeed stock, 4.3.

This is really annoying though..

Help?
 
 
11th June 2014, 02:30 AM |#2  
Senior Member
Atlanta, GA
Thanks Meter: 77
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ibroza

Hi,

My S3 doesnt charge properly. Sometimes its charges, sometimes it doesnt. Its really annoying... It'll be plugged in charging then it doesnt. But once it doesnt work, it doesnt work after a while. Then itll work again after I try to plug it in. I had my phone jtagged recently and my phone didnt do that before until after I got it. The guy said he didnt do anything he just put everything stock. My phone is indeed stock, 4.3.

This is really annoying though..

Help?

Sounds like a charging port issue. The guy who did the JTag job may not have intended it but it isn't unlikely the connectors to the charging port came loose in the process or something wasn't properly connected. I'd take it to a local tech shop and stay with them whilst they work on it.
11th June 2014, 02:38 AM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry2999

Sounds like a charging port issue. The guy who did the JTag job may not have intended it but it isn't unlikely the connectors to the charging port came loose in the process or something wasn't properly connected. I'd take it to a local tech shop and stay with them whilst they work on it.

Yeah I asked him but he said no he didnt. The port seems fine. I opened the phone numerous times and looked at it
11th June 2014, 02:44 AM |#4  
audit13's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 1,998
 
More
Have you tried different wall chargers and USB cables?
11th June 2014, 02:49 AM |#5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by audit13

Have you tried different wall chargers and USB cables?

Yeah
11th June 2014, 03:11 AM |#6  
audit13's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 1,998
 
More
Weird. Not sure why jtagging would affect the charging but I suppose it could. Is it possible the port was damaged during the jtag process?
11th June 2014, 03:13 AM |#7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by audit13

Weird. Not sure why jtagging would affect the charging but I suppose it could. Is it possible the port was damaged during the jtag process?

I asked the guy, but he said no he didnt. He basically just put everything back to stock including the bootloader.
12th June 2014, 01:48 AM |#8  
Senior Member
Atlanta, GA
Thanks Meter: 77
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ibroza

I asked the guy, but he said no he didnt. He basically just put everything back to stock including the bootloader.

I'm always wary about coincidences. In fact, I don't believe in them. To do a JTag, they would have had to open up the device and solder equipment to it to force firmware installation to the MB. Probably accidental but very likely something happened to your charging port in the process. What you have described sounds very much like an hardware rather than firmware issue and, unless you have the resources and tech know-how for a D-I-Y fix, you may need to take it to a Tech.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes