Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,743,085 Members 44,197 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Need expert help: do all snapdragon LTE support same bands?

Tip us?
 
kl25
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 300
Join Date: Apr 2010
Default Need expert help: do all snapdragon LTE support same bands?

I was recently told by a senior member of this forum that all snapdragon LTE support the same bands, and the bands are activated based on the sim card inserted.

is this true?

i went on samsung's website to compare the g900f and the canadian version of the s5, the supported bands listed are different.

i'm contemplating on buying the g900f, european version but i'm concerned with not being able to get on the 4g network here in Canada with the euro variant.

thanks for any input.
 
drakester09
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 867
Posts: 1,272
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by kl25 View Post
I was recently told by a senior member of this forum that all snapdragon LTE support the same bands, and the bands are activated based on the sim card inserted.

is this true?

i went on samsung's website to compare the g900f and the canadian version of the s5, the supported bands listed are different.

i'm contemplating on buying the g900f, european version but i'm concerned with not being able to get on the 4g network here in Canada with the euro variant.

thanks for any input.
No, they don't. Hence the multitude of variants.
The Following User Says Thank You to drakester09 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Hellscythe
Old
#3  
Hellscythe's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 431
Posts: 1,660
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: straya kienttt
Quote:
Originally Posted by drakester09 View Post
No, they don't. Hence the multitude of variants.
is the difference in the hardware or what region modem is on the device?
Previous devices:

HTC Incredible S S710e

Sony Xperia Z C6603

Current devices:

Samsung Galaxy S5 SM-G900I
 
drakester09
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 867
Posts: 1,272
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hellscythe View Post
is the difference in the hardware or what region modem is on the device?
On the chipset side of things there's only one difference: Exynos (G900H) and Snapdragon (the rest of models).
All Exynos carry an Intel baseband (of dubious power efficiency IMHO)

The modem as you mentioned and the carrier variants are responsible for the multitude of Snapdragon variants.
 
Hellscythe
Old
#5  
Hellscythe's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 431
Posts: 1,660
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: straya kienttt
Quote:
Originally Posted by drakester09 View Post
On the chipset side of things there's only one difference: Exynos (G900H) and Snapdragon (the rest of models).
All Exynos carry an Intel baseband (of dubious power efficiency IMHO)

The modem as you mentioned and the carrier variants are responsible for the multitude of Snapdragon variants.
So essentially my 900I can be turned into a 900F with a modem flash?
Previous devices:

HTC Incredible S S710e

Sony Xperia Z C6603

Current devices:

Samsung Galaxy S5 SM-G900I
 
kl25
Old
#6  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 300
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by drakester09 View Post
On the chipset side of things there's only one difference: Exynos (G900H) and Snapdragon (the rest of models).
All Exynos carry an Intel baseband (of dubious power efficiency IMHO)

The modem as you mentioned and the carrier variants are responsible for the multitude of Snapdragon variants.
does that mean i can flash a 900w8 modem onto a 900f?

oops sorry didnt realize poster above asked similar quesiton
 
drakester09
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 867
Posts: 1,272
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hellscythe View Post
So essentially my 900I can be turned into a 900F with a modem flash?
Quote:
Originally Posted by kl25 View Post
does that mean i can flash a 900w8 modem onto a 900f?

oops sorry didnt realize poster above asked similar quesiton
Nope, I think. The baseband must be different I would assume, they support different bands.

Just a little sample of what I mean:

3G Network:
HSDPA 850 / 900 / 1900 / 2100 - SM-G900H (Exynos, no 4G)

HSDPA 850 / 900 / 1900 / 2100 - SM-G900F
HSDPA 850 / 900 / 1700 / 1900 / 2100 - SM-G900M
HSDPA 850 / 1900 / 2100 - SM-G900A
HSDPA 850 / 1700 / 1900 / 2100 - SM-G900T

HSDPA 850 / 900 / 1900 / 2100 - SM-G900V, SM-G900P (CDMA)

4G Network

LTE 800 / 850 / 900 / 1800 / 1900 / 2100 / 2600 - SM-G900F
LTE 700 / 850 / 1700 / 1900 / 2100 / 2600 - SM-G900M
LTE 700 / 850 / 1700 / 1800 / 1900 / 2100 / 2600 - SM-G900A
LTE 700/850/900/1700/1800/1900/2100/2600 - SM-G900T

LTE 700 MHz Class 13 / 1700 / 2100 - SM-G900V (CDMA)
LTE 700 / 850 / 1700 / 1900 / 2100 - SM-G900R4 (CDMA)
LTE 850 / 1900 / 2500 - SM-G900P (CDMA)
 
Allaann
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Jun 2014
Default Other (same?) question

Quote:
Originally Posted by drakester09 View Post
Nope, I think. The baseband must be different I would assume, they support different bands.

Just a little sample of what I mean:

3G Network:
HSDPA 850 / 900 / 1900 / 2100 - SM-G900H (Exynos, no 4G)

HSDPA 850 / 900 / 1900 / 2100 - SM-G900F
HSDPA 850 / 900 / 1700 / 1900 / 2100 - SM-G900M
HSDPA 850 / 1900 / 2100 - SM-G900A
HSDPA 850 / 1700 / 1900 / 2100 - SM-G900T

HSDPA 850 / 900 / 1900 / 2100 - SM-G900V, SM-G900P (CDMA)

4G Network

LTE 800 / 850 / 900 / 1800 / 1900 / 2100 / 2600 - SM-G900F
LTE 700 / 850 / 1700 / 1900 / 2100 / 2600 - SM-G900M
LTE 700 / 850 / 1700 / 1800 / 1900 / 2100 / 2600 - SM-G900A
LTE 700/850/900/1700/1800/1900/2100/2600 - SM-G900T

LTE 700 MHz Class 13 / 1700 / 2100 - SM-G900V (CDMA)
LTE 700 / 850 / 1700 / 1900 / 2100 - SM-G900R4 (CDMA)
LTE 850 / 1900 / 2500 - SM-G900P (CDMA)
Hi! I have a similar question. I bought a GS5 (G900F Version, imported from Asia), In my country (Chile) it works on 4G LTE 2,6GHz, but the lower band of 4G is 700MHz, which apparently is not supported by this model (it supports 800MHz).

The official model here is the G900M, so my question is if I can flash the "modem.bin" from a G900M to my G900F, with Odin, but without rooting my device (to avoid Knox tripping or Imei problems)? Is it possible? or I simply waste my money?

Sorry for my bad english...

Thanks for your help!!!
 
homer285
Old
(Last edited by homer285; 12th June 2014 at 08:48 AM.)
#9  
homer285's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 35
Posts: 1,186
Join Date: Jun 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Allaann View Post
Hi! I have a similar question. I bought a GS5 (G900F Version, imported from Asia), In my country (Chile) it works on 4G LTE 2,6GHz, but the lower band of 4G is 700MHz, which apparently is not supported by this model (it supports 800MHz).

The official model here is the G900M, so my question is if I can flash the "modem.bin" from a G900M to my G900F, with Odin, but without rooting my device (to avoid Knox tripping or Imei problems)? Is it possible? or I simply waste my money?

Sorry for my bad english...

Thanks for your help!!!
No it wont work on many accounts, basically you cant flash a different CSC firmware etc to an alternate CSC device unless you change the CSC of that device or root(and of course the lte modem may not be supported). (an app called Phone INFO is available on Play Store to check, use at your own risk). That doesnt mean it is impossible, however, it is highly unlikely. I hope that cleared things up
M7 Red, G3 D855 Titan, Z1 Black

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Slide Dial Replacement Dialer Lets You Make Calls from Anywhere

If you frequently make phone calls, your dialer (aka phone app)is one of the … more

Navigate with Your Samsung Gear 2 Using DMA Navi Watch

Whether you’re travelling to a new destination or exploring some previously … more

Xperia Z1 Stereo Speaker Mod, Cell Phone Unlocking Legal Again! – XDA Developer TV

Cell Phone Unlocking is legal again!! That and much … more