FORUMS

Top Forum Discussions

Need expert help: do all snapdragon LTE support same bands?

300 posts
Thanks Meter: 22
 
By kl25, Senior Member on 11th June 2014, 02:24 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
I was recently told by a senior member of this forum that all snapdragon LTE support the same bands, and the bands are activated based on the sim card inserted.

is this true?

i went on samsung's website to compare the g900f and the canadian version of the s5, the supported bands listed are different.

i'm contemplating on buying the g900f, european version but i'm concerned with not being able to get on the 4g network here in Canada with the euro variant.

thanks for any input.
 
 
11th June 2014, 03:44 AM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 879
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kl25

I was recently told by a senior member of this forum that all snapdragon LTE support the same bands, and the bands are activated based on the sim card inserted.

is this true?

i went on samsung's website to compare the g900f and the canadian version of the s5, the supported bands listed are different.

i'm contemplating on buying the g900f, european version but i'm concerned with not being able to get on the 4g network here in Canada with the euro variant.

thanks for any input.

No, they don't. Hence the multitude of variants.
The Following User Says Thank You to drakester09 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th June 2014, 04:05 AM |#3  
Account currently disabled
Flag straya kienttt
Thanks Meter: 476
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by drakester09

No, they don't. Hence the multitude of variants.

is the difference in the hardware or what region modem is on the device?
11th June 2014, 04:41 AM |#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 879
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hellscythe

is the difference in the hardware or what region modem is on the device?

On the chipset side of things there's only one difference: Exynos (G900H) and Snapdragon (the rest of models).
All Exynos carry an Intel baseband (of dubious power efficiency IMHO)

The modem as you mentioned and the carrier variants are responsible for the multitude of Snapdragon variants.
11th June 2014, 07:30 AM |#5  
Account currently disabled
Flag straya kienttt
Thanks Meter: 476
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by drakester09

On the chipset side of things there's only one difference: Exynos (G900H) and Snapdragon (the rest of models).
All Exynos carry an Intel baseband (of dubious power efficiency IMHO)

The modem as you mentioned and the carrier variants are responsible for the multitude of Snapdragon variants.

So essentially my 900I can be turned into a 900F with a modem flash?
11th June 2014, 11:27 PM |#6  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 22
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by drakester09

On the chipset side of things there's only one difference: Exynos (G900H) and Snapdragon (the rest of models).
All Exynos carry an Intel baseband (of dubious power efficiency IMHO)

The modem as you mentioned and the carrier variants are responsible for the multitude of Snapdragon variants.

does that mean i can flash a 900w8 modem onto a 900f?

oops sorry didnt realize poster above asked similar quesiton
11th June 2014, 11:36 PM |#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 879
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hellscythe

So essentially my 900I can be turned into a 900F with a modem flash?

Quote:
Originally Posted by kl25

does that mean i can flash a 900w8 modem onto a 900f?

oops sorry didnt realize poster above asked similar quesiton

Nope, I think. The baseband must be different I would assume, they support different bands.

Just a little sample of what I mean:

3G Network:
HSDPA 850 / 900 / 1900 / 2100 - SM-G900H (Exynos, no 4G)

HSDPA 850 / 900 / 1900 / 2100 - SM-G900F
HSDPA 850 / 900 / 1700 / 1900 / 2100 - SM-G900M
HSDPA 850 / 1900 / 2100 - SM-G900A
HSDPA 850 / 1700 / 1900 / 2100 - SM-G900T

HSDPA 850 / 900 / 1900 / 2100 - SM-G900V, SM-G900P (CDMA)

4G Network

LTE 800 / 850 / 900 / 1800 / 1900 / 2100 / 2600 - SM-G900F
LTE 700 / 850 / 1700 / 1900 / 2100 / 2600 - SM-G900M
LTE 700 / 850 / 1700 / 1800 / 1900 / 2100 / 2600 - SM-G900A
LTE 700/850/900/1700/1800/1900/2100/2600 - SM-G900T

LTE 700 MHz Class 13 / 1700 / 2100 - SM-G900V (CDMA)
LTE 700 / 850 / 1700 / 1900 / 2100 - SM-G900R4 (CDMA)
LTE 850 / 1900 / 2500 - SM-G900P (CDMA)
12th June 2014, 07:25 AM |#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Other (same?) question
Quote:
Originally Posted by drakester09

Nope, I think. The baseband must be different I would assume, they support different bands.

Just a little sample of what I mean:

3G Network:
HSDPA 850 / 900 / 1900 / 2100 - SM-G900H (Exynos, no 4G)

HSDPA 850 / 900 / 1900 / 2100 - SM-G900F
HSDPA 850 / 900 / 1700 / 1900 / 2100 - SM-G900M
HSDPA 850 / 1900 / 2100 - SM-G900A
HSDPA 850 / 1700 / 1900 / 2100 - SM-G900T

HSDPA 850 / 900 / 1900 / 2100 - SM-G900V, SM-G900P (CDMA)

4G Network

LTE 800 / 850 / 900 / 1800 / 1900 / 2100 / 2600 - SM-G900F
LTE 700 / 850 / 1700 / 1900 / 2100 / 2600 - SM-G900M
LTE 700 / 850 / 1700 / 1800 / 1900 / 2100 / 2600 - SM-G900A
LTE 700/850/900/1700/1800/1900/2100/2600 - SM-G900T

LTE 700 MHz Class 13 / 1700 / 2100 - SM-G900V (CDMA)
LTE 700 / 850 / 1700 / 1900 / 2100 - SM-G900R4 (CDMA)
LTE 850 / 1900 / 2500 - SM-G900P (CDMA)

Hi! I have a similar question. I bought a GS5 (G900F Version, imported from Asia), In my country (Chile) it works on 4G LTE 2,6GHz, but the lower band of 4G is 700MHz, which apparently is not supported by this model (it supports 800MHz).

The official model here is the G900M, so my question is if I can flash the "modem.bin" from a G900M to my G900F, with Odin, but without rooting my device (to avoid Knox tripping or Imei problems)? Is it possible? or I simply waste my money?

Sorry for my bad english...

Thanks for your help!!!
12th June 2014, 08:44 AM |#9  
homer285's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 58
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Allaann

Hi! I have a similar question. I bought a GS5 (G900F Version, imported from Asia), In my country (Chile) it works on 4G LTE 2,6GHz, but the lower band of 4G is 700MHz, which apparently is not supported by this model (it supports 800MHz).

The official model here is the G900M, so my question is if I can flash the "modem.bin" from a G900M to my G900F, with Odin, but without rooting my device (to avoid Knox tripping or Imei problems)? Is it possible? or I simply waste my money?

Sorry for my bad english...

Thanks for your help!!!

No it wont work on many accounts, basically you cant flash a different CSC firmware etc to an alternate CSC device unless you change the CSC of that device or root(and of course the lte modem may not be supported). (an app called Phone INFO is available on Play Store to check, use at your own risk). That doesnt mean it is impossible, however, it is highly unlikely. I hope that cleared things up
Last edited by homer285; 12th June 2014 at 08:48 AM.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes