Welcome to the New XDA-Developers Portal!

You may recall that a few weeks ago, we opened up the XDA-2015 forum themesto intrepid users … more

An Android Enthusiast’s Apple iPhone 6 Challenge

The media has gone batty again over Apple “revolutionizing” smartphones. … more

Sony to Extend its AOSP Program to Other Devices

Sony will be offering its users the possibility to use AOSP ROMs as an alternative to the … more

Project Ara: Modified Android L and Hot Swapping

Project Ara is a very exciting topic–both for hardware and software enthusiasts. The … more
Post Reply

[Q] CM11.0, 20140608, M7 Snapshot - Unable to get signal from radio

12th June 2014, 12:31 AM   |  #11  
audit13's Avatar
Senior Member
Toronto
Thanks Meter: 468
 
2,458 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpelley92

Bootloader and baseband: I747MVLUEMK5

You're running the most recent release so I'm not sure what's causing the issue.
12th June 2014, 07:29 AM   |  #12  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by audit13

You're running the most recent release so I'm not sure what's causing the issue.

I have found the problem with the service. I live in an area where signal is not too great. My LG G2 has a tendency to pick up the correct tower for my area, but my Galaxy S3 does not choose the same tower... It looks for one in a completely different direction.

Forgive me, this thread is going to take a bit of a turn.

Is there any way to choose which cell tower the phone connects to? In my area there is one directly east and the other is directly west. I need the western tower in order to make/receive calls/text and in order to get any data reception. Right now where my phone sits, it does not connect to the western tower so I cannot use it. I used OpenSignal to observe which tower both phones connect to.

The other issue I found is my extended battery (Anker 7200) also interferes with reception quite a bit. In town, it's not noticeable. But out on my acreage it stops my phone from getting any signal. I compared it to my LG G2 and my Galaxy S3 with the old 2100mAh battery. The G2 hovers around -95, S3 w/OEM battery at -101 and the S3 w/Anker battery at -113 (no service).

Mike
12th June 2014, 12:27 PM   |  #13  
Senior Member
Philly
Thanks Meter: 168
 
444 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpelley92

Is there any way to choose which cell tower the phone connects to? In my area there is one directly east and the other is directly west. I need the western tower in order to make/receive calls/text and in order to get any data reception. Right now where my phone sits, it does not connect to the western tower so I cannot use it. I used OpenSignal to observe which tower both phones connect to.
Mike

Try changing the mode to LTE only under your settings. This may force the stronger connection.
12th June 2014, 03:40 PM   |  #14  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by x0ne215

Try changing the mode to LTE only under your settings. This may force the stronger connection.

Unfortunately that won't work either. In my area I can only pick up HSPA....
Last edited by mpelley92; 12th June 2014 at 03:44 PM.
12th June 2014, 03:52 PM   |  #15  
Senior Member
Philly
Thanks Meter: 168
 
444 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpelley92

Unfortunately that won't work either. In my area I can only pick up HSPA....

Hmm. Out of curiosity, have you tried a different ROM on 4.4.2? I've had weird issues with ROMs and signal, ie MIUI caused me to have my signal cut in and out at random intervals. Worth a shot at least. I've been using SlimKat if you want one for reference (probably the quickest download due to size).

Unfortunately all I can suggest is trying to play with tasker and seeing if you can get it to skip over the crap tower, but to my knowledge there's no way to prevent connection to said tower.

I guess if you wanna get into a gray area you could modify said tower....but I claim no responsibility for your actions with that
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to x0ne215 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
12th June 2014, 04:48 PM   |  #16  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by x0ne215

Hmm. Out of curiosity, have you tried a different ROM on 4.4.2? I've had weird issues with ROMs and signal, ie MIUI caused me to have my signal cut in and out at random intervals. Worth a shot at least. I've been using SlimKat if you want one for reference (probably the quickest download due to size).

Unfortunately all I can suggest is trying to play with tasker and seeing if you can get it to skip over the crap tower, but to my knowledge there's no way to prevent connection to said tower.

I guess if you wanna get into a gray area you could modify said tower....but I claim no responsibility for your actions with that

I've been using Liquidsmooth the past few nights and am losing signal more than ever.

Would the OS control how the modem is used? I would think that it's hardware only that changes how and when you get service.

I'm going to try the UEND3 modem firmware and see if that makes a difference. Also going to try SlimKat like you suggested.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes