Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,741,266 Members 44,932 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] CM11.0, 20140608, M7 Snapshot - Unable to get signal from radio

Tip us?
 
audit13
Old
#11  
audit13's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 352
Posts: 2,176
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpelley92 View Post
Bootloader and baseband: I747MVLUEMK5
You're running the most recent release so I'm not sure what's causing the issue.
 
mpelley92
Old
#12  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 12
Join Date: Nov 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by audit13 View Post
You're running the most recent release so I'm not sure what's causing the issue.
I have found the problem with the service. I live in an area where signal is not too great. My LG G2 has a tendency to pick up the correct tower for my area, but my Galaxy S3 does not choose the same tower... It looks for one in a completely different direction.

Forgive me, this thread is going to take a bit of a turn.

Is there any way to choose which cell tower the phone connects to? In my area there is one directly east and the other is directly west. I need the western tower in order to make/receive calls/text and in order to get any data reception. Right now where my phone sits, it does not connect to the western tower so I cannot use it. I used OpenSignal to observe which tower both phones connect to.

The other issue I found is my extended battery (Anker 7200) also interferes with reception quite a bit. In town, it's not noticeable. But out on my acreage it stops my phone from getting any signal. I compared it to my LG G2 and my Galaxy S3 with the old 2100mAh battery. The G2 hovers around -95, S3 w/OEM battery at -101 and the S3 w/Anker battery at -113 (no service).

Mike
 
x0ne215
Old
#13  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 168
Posts: 442
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Philly

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpelley92 View Post
Is there any way to choose which cell tower the phone connects to? In my area there is one directly east and the other is directly west. I need the western tower in order to make/receive calls/text and in order to get any data reception. Right now where my phone sits, it does not connect to the western tower so I cannot use it. I used OpenSignal to observe which tower both phones connect to.
Mike
Try changing the mode to LTE only under your settings. This may force the stronger connection.
Samsung Galaxy S III: Quantum 1.20 [4.3] DKP Kernel
Nexus 7: Paranoid Andoird 3.99 [4.3]
Samsung Galaxy S Captivate: Slim Build 5 [4.2.2][Media Center]
[Guide]How to root 2.3.5 & Flash a Custom Rom w/o USB
 
mpelley92
Old
(Last edited by mpelley92; 12th June 2014 at 03:44 PM.)
#14  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 12
Join Date: Nov 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by x0ne215 View Post
Try changing the mode to LTE only under your settings. This may force the stronger connection.
Unfortunately that won't work either. In my area I can only pick up HSPA....
 
x0ne215
Old
#15  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 168
Posts: 442
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Philly

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpelley92 View Post
Unfortunately that won't work either. In my area I can only pick up HSPA....
Hmm. Out of curiosity, have you tried a different ROM on 4.4.2? I've had weird issues with ROMs and signal, ie MIUI caused me to have my signal cut in and out at random intervals. Worth a shot at least. I've been using SlimKat if you want one for reference (probably the quickest download due to size).

Unfortunately all I can suggest is trying to play with tasker and seeing if you can get it to skip over the crap tower, but to my knowledge there's no way to prevent connection to said tower.

I guess if you wanna get into a gray area you could modify said tower....but I claim no responsibility for your actions with that
Samsung Galaxy S III: Quantum 1.20 [4.3] DKP Kernel
Nexus 7: Paranoid Andoird 3.99 [4.3]
Samsung Galaxy S Captivate: Slim Build 5 [4.2.2][Media Center]
[Guide]How to root 2.3.5 & Flash a Custom Rom w/o USB
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to x0ne215 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
mpelley92
Old
#16  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 12
Join Date: Nov 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by x0ne215 View Post
Hmm. Out of curiosity, have you tried a different ROM on 4.4.2? I've had weird issues with ROMs and signal, ie MIUI caused me to have my signal cut in and out at random intervals. Worth a shot at least. I've been using SlimKat if you want one for reference (probably the quickest download due to size).

Unfortunately all I can suggest is trying to play with tasker and seeing if you can get it to skip over the crap tower, but to my knowledge there's no way to prevent connection to said tower.

I guess if you wanna get into a gray area you could modify said tower....but I claim no responsibility for your actions with that
I've been using Liquidsmooth the past few nights and am losing signal more than ever.

Would the OS control how the modem is used? I would think that it's hardware only that changes how and when you get service.

I'm going to try the UEND3 modem firmware and see if that makes a difference. Also going to try SlimKat like you suggested.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Mod Lets You Have Stereo Speakers on Your Sony Xperia Z1 (Sort Of)

The stereo speakers onthe Sony Xperia Z2areprobably a relatively large … more

Give Your Screen Some Color with HexaTime Live Wallpaper

We don’t often cover very many live wallpapers here on the XDA Portal. You may … more

Android Wear App Review: Command Google Now with Commandr – XDA Developer TV

OK Google. Make Me a sandwich. How many times have you … more

Play Your Hits and Learn the Lyrics with NextGen Music Player

There are plenty of music players for Android available in Play Store. They … more