Android 5.0.2 and New Factory Images For Nexus 7 (Wi-Fi) Available

Android 5.0 is has been publicly available since early November, and the … more

Github Tutorial App Shows You How to Use… Github

Github can get pretty complicated and using it can become quite daunting, especially … more

Google Glass-like Clip-On For Regular Glasses Developed by Sony

For the price of $2,000, a pair of glasses that can run apps, take pictures, … more

Micromax Takes OnePlus to Court! Android Wear Receives Lollipop – XDA TV

Android 5.0 Lollipop is available officially for the Moto 360! … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Adb tools keeps showing error device not found ?

OP Roefastford

11th June 2014, 07:59 AM   |  #1  
OP Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter: 39
 
549 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
I keep getting error device not found with adb tools on two different verizon m8's ?

I was using adb tools 1.0.31 and never had any problem until tonight and my one m8 I had obtained s-off on it a bit over a week ago with no problem at all. I tried to firewater s-off another m8 that belongs to a friend and his keeps getting error device not found and mine does the same thing. My computer has froze up 2 times in the last 2 days I"am on windows 7 I used system restore and went back 5 days no difference.

I even tried another version of adb tools, then I tried my other computer which it never freezes up and same deal on it with multiple versions of adb tools. I have updated all drivers and done all that rebooted over and over I have even removed java on both computers and installed new versions. Really pulling my hair out on this. Even tried multiple usb ports on both computers.

I have also constantly been checking device manager and there are no conflicts on anything and all drivers keep showing that they are the newest driver.

I could see if it was doing it on just the one m8, but on mine also which it was working fine on it just days ago.

Anyone have any ideas ?
Last edited by Roefastford; 11th June 2014 at 08:05 AM.
11th June 2014, 05:24 PM   |  #2  
berndblb's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Los Angeles, CA
Thanks Meter: 1,055
 
3,180 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
More
You did remember to enable USB debugging, did you? [emoji6]

Sent from my HTC6525LVW using Tapatalk
12th June 2014, 08:57 AM   |  #3  
OP Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter: 39
 
549 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by berndblb

You did remember to enable USB debugging, did you? [emoji6]

Sent from my HTC6525LVW using Tapatalk

Yes I even tried unchecking it then powering off restarting and rechecking it, actually did that all a couple times to rule it out.
12th June 2014, 02:02 PM   |  #4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
64 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
Do you see the Android ADB interface in device manager, or are there any yellow exclamation marks there?

For ADB to work you need:
- ADB access on in Developer Settings (USB Debugging)
- The ADB application
- Drivers for your Windows PC for the ADB device to be recognized

You've stated you've done point 1, I don't doubt you have point 2, you need to work on point 3.

Note: The last possibility is you have some external program blocking your access. I've seen some draconian firewalls block USB.
12th June 2014, 02:34 PM   |  #5  
OP Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter: 39
 
549 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by jskup

Do you see the Android ADB interface in device manager, or are there any yellow exclamation marks there?

For ADB to work you need:
- ADB access on in Developer Settings (USB Debugging)
- The ADB application
- Drivers for your Windows PC for the ADB device to be recognized

You've stated you've done point 1, I don't doubt you have point 2, you need to work on point 3.

Note: The last possibility is you have some external program blocking your access. I've seen some draconian firewalls block USB.

If your talking about my htc it showed working fine and I tried to update the driver and it showed I have the newest driver available. I went through everything on device manager and everything was working fine, and no exclamation marks. Like I said it was working fine as I used it to firewater s-off an at&t m8 2 weeks ago and it worked fine for it. And I did the firewater on 2 other htc phones in the last 2 months. Also I have used the same adb tools for like the last year with no problems. Also I have not changed any programs, and I have used the same antivirus and firewall for the last 2 years so it should not be blocking it.

This is all why it has me stumped ?
12th June 2014, 02:46 PM   |  #6  
Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
64 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
It's not as bad as all that.

The next thing I'd do would be to uninstall and reinstall whatever method gave you the drivers. If you installed the HTC Sync software, uninstall and reinstall. If you used some other method, such as the Minimal ADB and Fastboot package, I'd uninstall and reinstall it.

I have to deal with drivers all the time at work. This sort of thing can happen. Windows makes this process more complicated than it is in Linux.
12th June 2014, 03:57 PM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Flag Bloomington, MN
Thanks Meter: 18
 
29 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roefastford

I keep getting error device not found with adb tools on two different verizon m8's ?

Have you tried a different USB cable?
12th June 2014, 04:44 PM   |  #8  
OP Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter: 39
 
549 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doc Ames

Have you tried a different USB cable?

Yes tried multiple cables and multiple usb ports. With android system running they pick up the phone as a storage device also. It makes no sense. Going to try unistalling drivers and reinstalling as the other guy suggested.
12th June 2014, 04:46 PM   |  #9  
OP Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter: 39
 
549 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by jskup

It's not as bad as all that.

The next thing I'd do would be to uninstall and reinstall whatever method gave you the drivers. If you installed the HTC Sync software, uninstall and reinstall. If you used some other method, such as the Minimal ADB and Fastboot package, I'd uninstall and reinstall it.

I have to deal with drivers all the time at work. This sort of thing can happen. Windows makes this process more complicated than it is in Linux.

I will try uninstalling and reinstalling the drivers and see if that fixes the problem, thanks.
12th June 2014, 09:18 PM   |  #10  
OP Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter: 39
 
549 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Figured it out. I was trying to run firewater from bootloader lol, and not with android running. Ok I guess I really messed that up lol.
Last edited by Roefastford; 12th June 2014 at 09:21 PM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes