Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,772,106 Members 40,724 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] JCase ASEC root?

Tip us?
 
S_transform
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 29
Posts: 101
Join Date: Oct 2012
Default [Q] JCase ASEC root?

Just wondering, but with JCase's new moto X exploit being released, could this be used to root the HDX? From what I understand it should work on any android version that supports ASEC.
 
plasticarmyman
Old
#2  
plasticarmyman's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 80
Posts: 390
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Long Beach
This may be a possibility... We'll have to wait and see...

Sent from my Nexus 4
 
GSLEON3
Old
#3  
GSLEON3's Avatar
Retired Senior Moderator
Thanks Meter 1319
Posts: 2,450
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NSA Black Site Whiskey Tango Foxtrot One Niner

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by S_transform View Post
Just wondering, but with JCase's new moto X exploit being released, could this be used to root the HDX? From what I understand it should work on any android version that supports ASEC.
Jcase is a good dude. If anyone hasn't already, a polite & to the point PM should be sent to him asking just that. That is exactly what I did that led to the first root.

I personally am still rooted, I don't know exactly what I did differently than everyone else, besides installing safestrap a second time on the rom slot I use, but I have not blocked anything, not deleted or renamed any files, nothing, but updates come & the Kernel & BL fail to flash & it gets stuck in the Bootloader screen. I reboot, still have access to SS & am still rooted every time. Every single update has downloaded & tried to install & every single one has failed.
Ingress Resistance - Rainbow6


Click HERE to buy me a cheeseburger if I helped you! Or even better, find a charity or local family fighting childhood cancer & help out however you can!

A brief & incomplete timeline of my love affair with mobile technology:

 
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to GSLEON3 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
GSLEON3
Old
#4  
GSLEON3's Avatar
Retired Senior Moderator
Thanks Meter 1319
Posts: 2,450
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NSA Black Site Whiskey Tango Foxtrot One Niner

 
DONATE TO ME
Default ASEC...

Hmmmm.... I will have to go through the KF HDX source, but if this exploit exists & it may very well considering it wasn't even fixed by Google until 4.4.2, the ASEC exploit should work just fine on the HDX.

Some interesting info here: http://blog.cassidiancybersecurity.c...old-local-root

Basically the way ASEC exploit works, you can redirect a partition mount to ANYTHING, as long as it is an existing directory & there is an existing symbolic link to the directory. Interesting, even if it is a very old exploit, & very possibly something much easier to accomplish root with than some of the things I have played with, including SED...

---------- Post added at 03:13 PM ---------- Previous post was at 02:50 PM ----------

Hey, guys, I made the suggestion to contact jcase again a few days ago. PLEASE do NOT contact him regarding exploits right now. He is taking a break from this stuff & I hadn't bothered to check with him, or to check his current status.

If I feel like I am onto something, or if anyone else does, please let me know & I can get the idea or possible exploit to someone else. Jcase has done a lot for the XDA community, so give him his well deserved break.
Ingress Resistance - Rainbow6


Click HERE to buy me a cheeseburger if I helped you! Or even better, find a charity or local family fighting childhood cancer & help out however you can!

A brief & incomplete timeline of my love affair with mobile technology:

 
The Following User Says Thank You to GSLEON3 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes