Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,785,614 Members 44,077 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Samsung Note 3 N9005 NO SIM Inserted

Tip us?
 
vndnguyen
Old
#11  
vndnguyen's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 663
Posts: 1,568
Join Date: Sep 2009

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by AO7 View Post
I'm experiencing the same issue. Flashed a new Temasek CM11 nightly and after booting into the rom for the first time no PIN unlock dialogue appeared. The phone is stuck at "searching for service". My IMEI number is still there and both SIM cards I have tried work perfectly in my iPhone.

I'm still on JB 4.3 bootloader with CMW recovery 6.0.4.5 and baseband is N9005XXUBMI6. Is it possible something got messed up when flashing latest CM? Perhaps baseband/modem firmware outdated?

I'm downloading N9905XXUEND3 and will flash back completely to stock. Will report back here later.
Sorry I've never tried CM so I'm not sure what happens.

Please feedback.
 
AO7
Old
(Last edited by AO7; 12th June 2014 at 09:36 PM.)
#12  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 20
Posts: 144
Join Date: Nov 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by vndnguyen View Post
Sorry I've never tried CM so I'm not sure what happens.

Please feedback.
I have managed to solve the problem.

1. First back up EFS and FSG in case you haven't done that yet. On the N9005 your IMEI information is stored in FSG so do not use any tools that only backup the EFS without the FSG. For tools check here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2611903

2. Flash stock image for N9005. I was still on JB 4.3 with the unlocked bootloader so I flashed JB 4.3 again, didn't bother with KK 4.4 which will lock the bootloader after flashing.

3. Booting back into stock and the SIM PIN entry menu appeared straight away.

4. Flash CWM recovery appropriate to your bootloader 4.3 or 4.4

5. Flash CM

6. SIM PIN entry and cellular works perfectly again
conclusion:
I'm not sure why this happened. Downgrading to a previous CM build did not solve the issue. So I'm reluctant to blame CM itself. Perhaps the recovery was the culprit. Somewhere something must have been corrupted during a flash. Luckily nothing that couldn't be fixed by flashing stock.
The Following User Says Thank You to AO7 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Fix KitKat WiFi Drops on Your Own

Despite introducing many useful features and overall great performance and enhancements,Android 4.4 KitKat … more

Bring Back Tablet UI on KitKat

Google presented their brand new UI for tablets alongsidethe release of Android 3.0 Honeycomb back in early … more

Give Your Notification Shade a Facelift with these Modding Guides

Modification has always been one of the strong suits of Android, due in … more

Keep Track of How Much Your Car Truly Costs with Car Logbook

It’s a very well established fact that cars are expensive. In addition to … more