FORUMS

OnePlus Addresses Reservation List Cheating

Jake Cooper figured out how to bump his place up on OnePlus’ reservation list and … more

OnePlus 2 Benchmark Scores Show Its Muscle

This video by FoneArena contains all the popular benchmarks being tested on the OnePlus 2, … more

Sony’s Emergence in The Middle: Is The Price Right?

Sony’s Electronics Division is not in its best days, and its smartphone … more

HTC Delivering Ads Straight to Sense Home

HTC’s 2015 has been a year marked by a desperate search for revenue.The HTC One M9 … more

When using GPS and charging in car, phone won't charge?

602 posts
Thanks Meter: 120
 
By snebojsa, Senior Member on 13th June 2014, 12:24 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
When I use GPS and want to charge from car charger, phone drops battery percentage, little slower then without a charger, but still dropping. So I thought that the charger is not strong enough, and bought another one with 3.1A, little better but still dropping. Then I try with home charger and no dropping, the GPS is working and battery is charging!
Is that normal, that the car charger can not charge the battery when the phone is in heavy use? The home charger have only 1A, and car 3.1A.
 
 
13th June 2014, 08:26 AM |#2  
intel007's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Kent/London
Thanks Meter: 459
 
More
Try NOT using an original HTC cable but instead a generic cable.

I recently purchased an external battery pack to charge my phone while on the move, I thought it would be best to use an original HTC cable but found it was charging to slow, when I checked in settings- power it stated at the top that it wasn't Charging as AC.

I suggest you go to your car and plug in your phone

Then go to: settings - power, check if your phone is charging as AC, if not you'll need to try with another cable ( check screenshot)
13th June 2014, 09:53 AM |#3  
snebojsa's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Belgrade
Thanks Meter: 120
 
More
I don't use original cable anyway, have other cable in car. Check it and it say AC.



Adapter is this one:



Last edited by snebojsa; 13th June 2014 at 09:57 AM.
13th June 2014, 10:50 AM |#4  
intel007's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Kent/London
Thanks Meter: 459
 
More
That's really strange mate, I don't have this issue, is there any possibility of trying a different car charger & or cable?, maybe a friend's just to eliminate it as a possibility.
13th June 2014, 10:47 PM |#5  
snebojsa's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Belgrade
Thanks Meter: 120
 
More
I tried today different things, original htc charger and cable, different charger and cable, and all of that in different car...
The best was with original htc charger and non-original cable. Phone start charging and i think that was that, BUT...
After approximately half an hour, start discharging again, and i think that i accidentally move the cable, but the red charging led was glowing. When checked in power settings, there say "discharging". I disconnect the charger and connect again, start charging but after a minute it stop. Some overheating, maybe?
14th June 2014, 01:42 PM |#6  
intel007's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Kent/London
Thanks Meter: 459
 
More
It sounds like that could be the problem (over heating) maybe you should try a different kernel and undervolt a little to see if it will help.
14th June 2014, 01:55 PM |#7  
snebojsa's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Belgrade
Thanks Meter: 120
 
More
Ok, I can try, I'm currently on Lyapota's 023 kernel and Viper X 4.1.1, everything else working very well.
14th June 2014, 02:05 PM |#8  
intel007's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Kent/London
Thanks Meter: 459
 
More
I use #017 pre aroma and it runs very cool
14th June 2014, 02:10 PM |#9  
snebojsa's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Belgrade
Thanks Meter: 120
 
More
Yes, lot's of people says that this version is the best, I would try it.
So, you try to use gps and the phone charging ok with Lyapota 017? Which rom you use?
14th June 2014, 02:31 PM |#10  
intel007's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Kent/London
Thanks Meter: 459
 
More
I have not had any problem using GPS and charging, I use the lates t MaximusHD.
14th June 2014, 02:32 PM |#11  
snebojsa's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Belgrade
Thanks Meter: 120
 
More
Ok, thanks, will try with 017 and report back.

Edit:
I didn't know that this is a very common problem, that the cable is the one who can't supply enough current. I found many articles about this problem, and found something very interesting on Youtube. Will try this tomorrow and report if it works.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-9-rfImR86g
Last edited by snebojsa; 15th June 2014 at 06:25 PM.

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes