Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Newbie here with newbie questions

OP HeathicusF

2nd June 2014, 03:33 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
129 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
I come from the Samsung world. My SGS3 became physically non functional (broke screen including digitizer & LCD), so I bought a DROID Bionic off eBay to hold me over until contract renewal/upgrade time. It has the latest update on it.

I've been reading various threads and trying to figure out this new world, but I'm still a little confused. Or maybe just unsure of a few things and not sure what is still relevant information. A lot of the guide and how-to posts assume a knowledge of terminology that I don't have yet. I understand the concept of booting from different "slots" I SafeStrap, but I'm unsure quite how to get there.

Is Root required before installing SafeStrap?

Is the Motoshare method of rooting still the way to root? http://www.droidrzr.com/index.php/to...g-new-exploit/

Is that any different from Easy Root? http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2256439

What is House Of Moto? I found instructions for installing it, but I still don't know what it is.

Once I have SafeStrap and a custom rom in one of the slots, will I be able to boot automatically from the rom of my choice? Or will I have to choose it from a boot menu each reboot?

I'll probably have more stupid questions.
2nd June 2014, 07:01 AM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
27 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by HeathicusF

Is Root required before installing SafeStrap?

Yes, you need root to install SafeStrap.

Quote:

Is the Motoshare method of rooting still the way to root? http://www.droidrzr.com/index.php/to...g-new-exploit/

Is that any different from Easy Root? http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2256439

Motoshare doesn't work on Windows. That "Easy Root" is just a small Linux virtual machine with Motoshare for those who are running Windows. There is also Safe Root, which works on a variety of devices up to Android 4.3, including the Bionic.

Quote:

What is House Of Moto? I found instructions for installing it, but I still don't know what it is.

It is a collection of tools, though as far as I know the only useful one on it for the Bionic is the one for restoring your phone firmware without clearing your data if you mess something up.

Quote:

Once I have SafeStrap and a custom rom in one of the slots, will I be able to boot automatically from the rom of my choice? Or will I have to choose it from a boot menu each reboot?

Yes, you can pick which system to boot up by default, stock or one of the slots. You do need to go back into SafeStrap to change the current slot if you want to boot a different one - it doesn't give you a choice during boot.
Last edited by ShadyDreamer; 2nd June 2014 at 07:04 AM.
13th June 2014, 09:43 AM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Flag San Francisco, CA
Thanks Meter: 60
 
373 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShadyDreamer

Yes, you can pick which system to boot up by default, stock or one of the slots. You do need to go back into SafeStrap to change the current slot if you want to boot a different one - it doesn't give you a choice during boot.

Slight nitpick. At boot Safestrap gives you a 10 second window where you can hit a key to boot into safestrap instead of the "default" boot ROM. (or you can hit a key to boot the ROM without the wait)
13th June 2014, 11:09 AM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
27 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kschang

Slight nitpick. At boot Safestrap gives you a 10 second window where you can hit a key to boot into safestrap instead of the "default" boot ROM. (or you can hit a key to boot the ROM without the wait)

Yes, you have to boot into Safestrap to change which will boot; it does not give you a choice to boot a different installed ROM during boot without waiting for Safestrap recovery to boot, changing which slot to boot, then rebooting - which was my point. I didn't mean that it doesn't give you any choices at all, just not a choice of which ROM slot during boot.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes