Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Thread Closed

Utime/Charmpin G7 Rom update

OP mamakaze

13th June 2014, 12:49 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
Hello,

I've bought an Utime G7 mobile (Android version 4.2.1, kernel version 3.4.5, build number: s33a_95045a_m11_v002_ch_20140307) from the ebay, but I forgot to tell them, that I'd like the hungarian language. How can I add this to my system? Or I've downloaded a hungarian rom from the needrom.com (it contains img files, mbr, ect...), and I'd like to know, how to install it (the last time I've done something like this, I've worked with android 2.0, 3 years ago on my tablet, maybe a lot of things changed )
13th June 2014, 01:37 PM   |  #2  
Perseus's Avatar
XDA: ASSIST
Recognized Contributor
Atlantis
Thanks Meter: 4,576
 
7,464 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Donate to Me
More
After taking a look at that website, since these are complete firmwares, they can be pushed over ADB after putting the phone is bootloader/download/fastboot mode. Once done, you'd have to issue a set of commands to flash the firmware. Here's a nice tutorial [Tutorial] How to flash a new boot.img via Fastboot Although its for a different device, underlying ADB commands are still the same.

Having said that, here's a nice discussion thread.
[Q] Enabling other languages? Post 3 would be of importance to you. Its for a different device but the steps listed are just the same for you.
14th June 2014, 03:50 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
I think, I'm stupid or something. I don't understand a word about theese tutorials, and I don't understand why do I need theese things (adb, fastboot, ect..) to update my rom (I've rooted my phone)... Isn't that enough to install rom manager v5.5.3.7...open it, choose "reboot into recovery", and after the reboot, choose "apply update from sd card", and select the system.img (I've unpacked from a zip what contains boot.img, EBR1, EBR2, lk.bin, logo.bin, MBR, preloader.bin, recovery.img, secro.img, system.img)?
Or just create a bootable sd card?
Last edited by mamakaze; 14th June 2014 at 04:47 PM.
14th June 2014, 11:49 PM   |  #4  
Perseus's Avatar
XDA: ASSIST
Recognized Contributor
Atlantis
Thanks Meter: 4,576
 
7,464 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Donate to Me
More
I understand that this all can be a bit overwhelming. My colleague @demkantor has two very nice tutorials, [Guide] How To Setup And Use Fastboot and [Guide] How To Create Recovery Flashable .zips / update.zips that should help.If need be, feel free to post on that thread and he'd be more than happy to help you.
15th June 2014, 10:41 AM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
this is the third time I asked for help on the internet, and after that I had to solve my own problem....
SP Flash tool was the right answer!
Last edited by mamakaze; 17th June 2014 at 01:08 PM.
Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes