Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

S5 Screen

OP Danny_75

13th June 2014, 06:08 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Hi,

Not had alot of luck with this this thing!.

Fixed an update problem last week to only drop it at work last night!!!

So just a Q before i go and buy a screen,

Will any SM-G900 model screen fit my H ? I will have to fly to Bangkok to collect this so need to make sure any will fit.


Cheers
13th June 2014, 11:22 AM   |  #2  
fffft's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 622
 
1,978 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Danny_75

Will any SM-G900 model screen fit my H ?

Screen is an unfortunate description. Most people use this to describe the exterior Gorilla glass. But it is sometimes used to refer to the AMOLED LCD or digitizer as well or even all three together as a module. If you are using screen in the common parlance, yes. If you really meant the LCD, then no.
13th June 2014, 05:28 PM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 878
 
1,285 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by fffft

Screen is an unfortunate description. Most people use this to describe the exterior Gorilla glass. But it is sometimes used to refer to the AMOLED LCD or digitizer as well or even all three together as a module. If you are using screen in the common parlance, yes. If you really meant the LCD, then no.

Why wouldn't it fit? Display assembly should have the same measures even if they are sourced from different providers.
13th June 2014, 09:27 PM   |  #4  
fffft's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 622
 
1,978 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by drakester09

Why wouldn't it fit?

The differences are not necessarily physical. They may be electrical differences. Why do that? Ask Samsung, but it could be cost control - leaving out parts not used by a specific carrier or country. Or it might be an effort to prevent using a lower priced grey market part in countries where they price a variant part higher.

Whatever the reason Samsung did the same thing for the S3 /S4. For example there are at least three physical S3 layouts. Sprint, the remainder of the NA modules and the international version. The Sprint version is electrically, but not physically interchangeable with the other NA modules. And neither is electrically compatible with the international variants. I have direct experience with this on the S3. I'm told by Samsung parts that the same situation exists for the S5 and have little reason to doubt that this is the case as it is what they have done in the past.
The Following User Says Thank You to fffft For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes