Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,770,672 Members 39,333 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] writing 'bootloader'... FAILED (remote: (Unknown error code))

Tip us?
 
adomol
Old
#21  
adomol's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 63
Posts: 219
Join Date: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by brad3626 View Post
I restarted, ran cmd as admin and tried every USB port and got this as the result each time:
C:\Users\Brad\AppData\Local\Android\android-sdk\platform-tools>fastboot -w updat
e image-nakasi-kot49h.zip
< waiting for device >
archive does not contain 'boot.sig'
archive does not contain 'recovery.sig'
archive does not contain 'system.sig'
--------------------------------------------
Bootloader Version...: 4.23
Baseband Version.....: N/A
Serial Number........: XXX
--------------------------------------------
checking product...
OKAY [ 0.031s]
checking version-bootloader...
OKAY [ 0.016s]
sending 'boot' (4992 KB)...
OKAY [ 5.460s]
writing 'boot'...
FAILED (remote: (FileWriteFailed))
finished. total time: 8.518s
The Nexus was frozen at this point and had to be manually forced to restart bootloader.

The factory image you are using has the bad bootloader bundled in with it. Not sure if flashing that in the first place could be the cause if your current issue?

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk

---------- Post added at 03:21 PM ---------- Previous post was at 02:58 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Erovia View Post
Just read this guide and download the latest factory image from here.

Good luck.
FYI: Of those 5 grouper images, JWR66Y and KOT49H have the bad bootloader.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
Tablet 1: Nexus 7 (grouper) [ROM] All-F2FS SlimKat 7.4 from legolas93 [KERNEL] SlimKernel by legolas93
Tablet 2: Nexus 7 (flo) [ROM] SlimKat 7.4 [KERNEL] Elemental-X 2.14
Help this poor soul to more space in the cloud and you get 10 + 1gb for yourself... click ---> Yandex!
 
brad3626
Old
(Last edited by brad3626; 14th February 2014 at 12:21 AM.)
#22  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 12
Join Date: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by adomol View Post
The factory image you are using has the bad bootloader bundled in with it. Not sure if flashing that in the first place could be the cause if your current issue?

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk

---------- Post added at 03:21 PM ---------- Previous post was at 02:58 PM ----------



FYI: Of those 5 grouper images, JWR66Y and KOT49H have the bad bootloader.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
I get the same thing with jwr66v

C:\Windows\System32>cd \Users\brad\AppData\Local\Android\android-sdk\platform-to
ols

C:\Users\Brad\AppData\Local\Android\android-sdk\platform-tools>fastboot -w updat
e image-nakasi-jwr66v.zip
archive does not contain 'boot.sig'
archive does not contain 'recovery.sig'
archive does not contain 'system.sig'
--------------------------------------------
Bootloader Version...: 4.23
Baseband Version.....: N/A
Serial Number........: XXX
--------------------------------------------
checking product...
OKAY [ 0.030s]
checking version-bootloader...
OKAY [ 0.018s]
sending 'boot' (4896 KB)...
OKAY [ 0.688s]
writing 'boot'...
FAILED (remote: (FileWriteFailed))
finished. total time: 3.797s

C:\Users\Brad\AppData\Local\Android\android-sdk\platform-tools>
 
hannibal585
Old
#23  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 23
Join Date: Apr 2011
Default i am unable to flash bootloader

hello
please help
n7 (2012) on cm11 nightly started random freeze a couple of days ago
this morning, stuck at 'google' logo, blank screen on trying to boot recovery
tried to read similar cases, decided on factory image KOT49H
stress, no power backup, scheduled loadshedding (in my city, country)
i am not sure if i typed 'fastboot erase boot' OR 'fastboot erase bootloader'
but when it came to flashing the bootloader, it came with an error.
then i read that that particlar bootloader had an error, but.. i downloaded 3 different images
and i still am failing to flash. please note i have not rebooted for fear that i may have, my mistake,
erased the bootloader. i am streesed specially because i am not sure how long i will be able to keep
up the power supply (loadshedding..)
thanks
 
adomol
Old
#24  
adomol's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 63
Posts: 219
Join Date: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by hannibal585 View Post
hello
please help
n7 (2012) on cm11 nightly started random freeze a couple of days ago
this morning, stuck at 'google' logo, blank screen on trying to boot recovery
tried to read similar cases, decided on factory image KOT49H
stress, no power backup, scheduled loadshedding (in my city, country)
i am not sure if i typed 'fastboot erase boot' OR 'fastboot erase bootloader'
but when it came to flashing the bootloader, it came with an error.
then i read that that particlar bootloader had an error, but.. i downloaded 3 different images
and i still am failing to flash. please note i have not rebooted for fear that i may have, my mistake,
erased the bootloader. i am streesed specially because i am not sure how long i will be able to keep
up the power supply (loadshedding..)
thanks
Here is a link to the working bootloader.

Although, if you erased the bootloader or it is somehow corrupted, you may have a hard brick on your hands.
The Following User Says Thank You to adomol For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
hannibal585
Old
#25  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 23
Join Date: Apr 2011
Default excuse me

i am on bootloader, i use fastboot.
is it possible to figure out if i have erased
the current bootloader? what have done wrong?
I should be able to flash one weather or not I
had erased it..?

---------- Post added at 01:45 AM ---------- Previous post was at 01:41 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by adomol View Post
Here is a link to the working bootloader.

Although, if you erased the bootloader or it is somehow corrupted, you may have a hard brick on your hands.
thank you. just by looking at the linked page, i know the md5 sum by heart. I have tried to flash that one, also comes with nakasi-krt16s,
did not work
got
root@some_debian_system:/media/sdd2/nakasi-kot49h/nakasi-kot49h# ./fastboot flash bootloader bootloader-grouper-4.23.img
sending 'bootloader' (2100 KB)...
OKAY [ 2.246s]
writing 'bootloader'...
FAILED (remote: (Unknown error code))
finished. total time: 2.388s
 
adomol
Old
(Last edited by adomol; 20th February 2014 at 08:12 PM.)
#26  
adomol's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 63
Posts: 219
Join Date: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by hannibal585 View Post
i am on bootloader, i use fastboot.
is it possible to figure out if i have erased
the current bootloader? what have done wrong?
I should be able to flash one weather or not I
had erased it..?

---------- Post added at 01:45 AM ---------- Previous post was at 01:41 AM ----------



thank you. just by looking at the linked page, i know the md5 sum by heart. I have tried to flash that one, also comes with nakasi-krt16s,
did not work
got
root@some_debian_system:/media/sdd2/nakasi-kot49h/nakasi-kot49h# ./fastboot flash bootloader bootloader-grouper-4.23.img
sending 'bootloader' (2100 KB)...
OKAY [ 2.246s]
writing 'bootloader'...
FAILED (remote: (Unknown error code))
finished. total time: 2.388s
So you can start your N7 in fastboot mode? Do you have the option to boot into recovery?
 
hannibal585
Old
(Last edited by hannibal585; 21st February 2014 at 06:00 PM.)
#27  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 23
Join Date: Apr 2011
It could only boot bootloader (trying the recovery ended with blank display).
I have not rebooted it fearing the bootloader is not there anymore
thank you for trying to help me.

regards
 
Cr8zyJay
Old
#28  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by hannibal585 View Post
It could only boot bootloader (trying the recovery ended with blank display).
I have not rebooted it fearing the bootloader is not there anymore
thank you for trying to help me.

regards
I have run into this same issue only my tablet is not unlocked. I'm going to attempt to fix this with what I have read here. If there is any further information on this can someone please post it here. I'm trying to figure out how to fix the FAILED <Remote<Unknown Error>> I receive when attempting to unlock the bootloader.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes