FORUMS

Sprint Moves to Lift Video Streaming Limit for All-In

Yesterday, Sprint announced a new unlimited scheme that offered customers an … more

Xiaomi Releases Kernel Source Code For Mi4i

If you’ve been following the XDA News Portal lately, you might have noticed an … more

How to Listen to Beats 1 on Android Right Now

If you felt a bit left out by Apple launching their own online radio station Beats 1 … more

NVidia SHIELD TV – XDA TV Device Review

The SHIELD TV is a not an Android smartphone device. However, that doesn’t mean it … more

[Q] going back to stock un rooted rom

4 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By stubby1, Junior Member on 10th June 2014, 04:31 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hey all,
I am looking to sell my Evo 4g lte because sprint really messed things up but that is neither here nor there. I would like to return it to stock for ease of selling it. can i do this without having a stock rooted rom and if possible can i run the updates to get the phone current for the next user? IF one of you want the rooted phone pm me i am up for anything.
Phone has MEAN BEAN rom on it and is s-off h boot 1.12.2222 radio 1.12.11.1210
thanks
stubby
 
 
10th June 2014, 05:05 PM |#2  
Magnum_Enforcer's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag Birmingham, AL
Thanks Meter: 2,727
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by stubby1

Hey all,
I am looking to sell my Evo 4g lte because sprint really messed things up but that is neither here nor there. I would like to return it to stock for ease of selling it. can i do this without having a stock rooted rom and if possible can i run the updates to get the phone current for the next user? IF one of you want the rooted phone pm me i am up for anything.
Phone has MEAN BEAN rom on it and is s-off h boot 1.12.2222 radio 1.12.11.1210
thanks
stubby

Hit the top link in my sig and go to the section on RUU's. At the bottom of the first post I have links to all applicable RUU's for the EVO LTE. Easiest thing would be to run one of them if you want to get back to stock. If you want to go back to being S-on and stock, use VipeRUU.
10th June 2014, 09:56 PM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Magnum_Enforcer

Hit the top link in my sig and go to the section on RUU's. At the bottom of the first post I have links to all applicable RUU's for the EVO LTE. Easiest thing would be to run one of them if you want to get back to stock. If you want to go back to being S-on and stock, use VipeRUU.

Thanks Magnum

Using the VipeRUU was supper easy and quick. Back to stock off to sell.
Last edited by stubby1; 11th June 2014 at 01:10 AM. Reason: update using ViperRUU
11th June 2014, 01:14 AM |#4  
Magnum_Enforcer's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag Birmingham, AL
Thanks Meter: 2,727
 
Donate to Me
More
Not a problem. Just remember that the RUU is run from your computer. Connect your phone and PC via USB cable, and once the connection is complete double-click the RUU file to start the installer. You may need to install HTC Sync so that you have the proper drivers installed on your computer. It takes about 10-15 minutes for the RUU to run, so be patient. VipeRUU is a little bit different. When you double-click the file to start the process, it will bring up a menu with options in it for you to choose from. It's pretty straightforward, though.
13th June 2014, 04:44 PM |#5  
Junior Member
Flag Columbia, MO
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
I've run VipeRUU a few times, but the bootloader stays unlocked. Anyone have any suggestions to get it back to a "Locked" state? I'm S-OFF, HBOOT 2.09.

Sent from my EVO using Tapatalk
14th June 2014, 12:15 AM |#6  
Evolution_Tech's Avatar
XDA: ASSIST
Recognized Contributor
Flag East Stroudsburg
Thanks Meter: 1,550
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by CornDogg

I've run VipeRUU a few times, but the bootloader stays unlocked. Anyone have any suggestions to get it back to a "Locked" state? I'm S-OFF, HBOOT 2.09.

Sent from my EVO using Tapatalk

fastboot oem lock

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
14th June 2014, 12:16 AM |#7  
Junior Member
Flag Columbia, MO
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
That would just make it show "Relocked", though, right?

Sent from my EVO using Tapatalk
14th June 2014, 01:06 AM |#8  
Magnum_Enforcer's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag Birmingham, AL
Thanks Meter: 2,727
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Evolution_Freak

fastboot oem lock

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

I don't believe that will work being S-off (I've tried it before just for kicks and it didn't do anything). Even if it did, the bootloader would show the tampered and unlocked warning.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes