Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

how to turn off ciq?

OP xxjrsmith3xx

13th April 2014, 07:39 AM   |  #1  
xxjrsmith3xx's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Corona
Thanks Meter: 122
 
597 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
when I got the phone the tmobile rep open the phone and set it up for me I know she left ciq on how can I disable it ??
13th April 2014, 08:11 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Somewhere in NYC
Thanks Meter: 417
 
2,733 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
More
I thought they got rid of CIQ...

Sent from my toaster
13th April 2014, 12:43 PM   |  #3  
nba1341's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag San Bernardino, California
Thanks Meter: 166
 
1,094 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
settings > about device > its at the bottom it says collect information you can uncheck.

Then a toast message pops up and says it may take up to 24 hours to apply or something similar.
13th April 2014, 05:41 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
162 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by nba1341

settings > about device > its at the bottom it says collect information you can uncheck.

Then a toast message pops up and says it may take up to 24 hours to apply or something similar.

I don't see any options like that in about device.
13th April 2014, 06:17 PM   |  #5  
bzlik88's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 165
 
686 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nba1341

settings > about device > its at the bottom it says collect information you can uncheck.

Then a toast message pops up and says it may take up to 24 hours to apply or something similar.

It's in backup/reset

Sent from my SM-G900T using xda app-developers app
13th April 2014, 06:43 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
162 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
I have that unchecked but CiQ is still on. I use the Carrier IQ Detector by Lookout Security and it says that CIQ is detected.
13th April 2014, 08:47 PM   |  #7  
Strychtnine's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Naperville, IL
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lilsaiful

I have that unchecked but CiQ is still on. I use the Carrier IQ Detector by Lookout Security and it says that CIQ is detected.

My best guess would be that since it's still installed it will be detected. Just because you can turn it off doesn't mean it's been removed. Until someone builds a CIQ free ROM that would be a normal result.
13th April 2014, 10:07 PM   |  #8  
Towle's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Flag Minnesota
Thanks Meter: 1,863
 
3,307 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
If you're rooted, you can use a file browser to remove ciq. Go to System/app, rename all ciq related apps by adding .bak to the end. Then go into system/lib and do the same to the file that starts with libiq
Last edited by Towle; 14th April 2014 at 01:35 AM.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Towle For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th April 2014, 06:44 PM   |  #9  
tenxo's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Ohio
Thanks Meter: 160
 
494 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2006
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Towle

If you're rooted, you can use a file browser to remove ciq. Go to System/app, rename all ciq related apps by adding .bak to the end. Then go into system/lib and do the same to the file that starts with libiq

There's also a file in system/priv-app called: IQ-tmobile-release-unsigned.signed_TMO.apk.

Sent from my SM-G900T using Tapatalk
14th June 2014, 03:25 AM   |  #10  
jjlean's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Colorado Springs, CO
Thanks Meter: 106
 
1,061 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
More
What else do we need to remove?

Sent from my SM-G900T using XDA Free mobile app

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes