Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,736,395 Members 48,189 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

mediaserver eating data

Tip us?
 
tony yayo
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 89
Posts: 645
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Chicago
Default mediaserver eating data

Saw today that mediaserver used almost 120 mb of data in the last 24 hours. If it does that every day that's almost 4 gigs in a month. Not sure if it really does happen every day since I just noticed it but that's almost as much as I used for FB, internet, and YouTube combined. I have unlimited data so that's not an issue but I could surely see how that could eat up battery. I've noticed my data usage has been extremely high but since I'm not rooted I can't dig deeper into the issue.

Just wondering if anyone is experiencing the same?
 
og.blaah
Old
#2  
og.blaah's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 37
Posts: 125
Join Date: Jul 2012
Something seems wrong. I just checked mine..under battery settings, I have used 384bytes.... practically nothing.

(0\_!_/0)
 
tony yayo
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 89
Posts: 645
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Chicago
Quote:
Originally Posted by og.blaah View Post
Something seems wrong. I just checked mine..under battery settings, I have used 384bytes.... practically nothing.

(0\_!_/0)
Strange. Didn't use any data all day until I watched a few videos, thought it had something to do with Hulu or Break.com, haven't used any other media and again, it's another 100 mb today. WTF?
 
og.blaah
Old
#4  
og.blaah's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 37
Posts: 125
Join Date: Jul 2012
You might have an app that is staying on in the background. I would try a back-up, master reset, then slowly install the apps...you might find the bad app...??

(0\_!_/0)
 
tony yayo
Old
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 89
Posts: 645
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Chicago
Quote:
Originally Posted by og.blaah View Post
You might have an app that is staying on in the background. I would try a back-up, master reset, then slowly install the apps...you might find the bad app...??

(0\_!_/0)
Only idea is maybe it has to do with wife tethering? Seems like the same amount of data.
 
kabuk1
Old
#6  
kabuk1's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 160
Posts: 957
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Dallas
Perhaps you have a media player that's trying to download album art or something...?
I dunno, butts I guess.
 
jdidtht
Old
#7  
jdidtht's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1089
Posts: 2,012
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: minneapolis
Quote:
Originally Posted by tony yayo View Post
Saw today that mediaserver used almost 120 mb of data in the last 24 hours. If it does that every day that's almost 4 gigs in a month. Not sure if it really does happen every day since I just noticed it but that's almost as much as I used for FB, internet, and YouTube combined. I have unlimited data so that's not an issue but I could surely see how that could eat up battery. I've noticed my data usage has been extremely high but since I'm not rooted I can't dig deeper into the issue.

Just wondering if anyone is experiencing the same?
media server. do u have any auto syncs on for photos? like drop box auto sync, Google plus, Picasa etc etc. any thing like that would be auto loading photos in the background. that whatnot sounds like to me man


 
tony yayo
Old
#8  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 89
Posts: 645
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Chicago
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdidtht View Post
media server. do u have any auto syncs on for photos? like drop box auto sync, Google plus, Picasa etc etc. any thing like that would be auto loading photos in the background. that whatnot sounds like to me man


My syncs are a very short list. 100mb a day for album art? I doubt it, haven't added anything in months. Google+ isn't set for automatic uploads. I do that manually.

Only thing I can imagine is that it is from wifi tethering but from any search I've done I can't see any links to that. I'm not as much of a pro as most people around here but I'm pretty sure my google-fu is working ok. It has to have something to do with wifi tethering cause it only shows up when I'm using it but I can't be for sure. That's why I asked here, hoped someone could confirm my suspicions but no one has yet.

I still don't understand how when I look in settings>data usage it's showing 15 gigs of usage when I haven't used my 3gig limit? Admittedly I have not been able to use wifi this month since I haven't been at home for most of it but still can't see how my data usage has quardrupled. Again, I have unlimited data so that's not a worry for me but it has to be giving my battery life a hit.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Get Your Cargo to its Destination in 4×4 Military Operations Reborn

Racing games have evolved quite a bit since the days of Pole … more

Automate Your Device with Sfen

Changing the profile of yourdevice manually is now long forgotten. Since the advent of Android automation … more

Galaxy Photo Screen Lock Displays a Photo Slideshow on Your Lock Screen

Being the most often looked at part of our devices UI, the lock … more

Boost the LG G3 Speaker and Headphone Volume

It seems like OEMs are stepping up their game, with regards to thequality of their devices sound … more