Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,772,940 Members 46,946 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[root] ZTE Open C

Tip us?
 
Kobalt.Kitsune
Old
(Last edited by Kobalt.Kitsune; 22nd May 2014 at 07:01 PM.)
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 23
Join Date: Jan 2013
Default [root] ZTE Open C

I was browsing a help thread I have over at the dev.b2g google group this morning when I came across a post by Vance Chen. Look at the bottom of the thread and you will find a link to root the ZTE Open C!

You will need to have Windows Vista/7/8 to run the upgrade tool and flash the developer build.

First, you will need to download the ZTE Upgrade Tool, then you can either choose between a US build (for those of us who live in the Americas,) or an EU build (for those who live in Europe.)

Don't forget to remove your sim card before flashing!

Once you have the firmware downloaded, navigate to the directory you downloaded it to, then extract the .zip file. Now, open up the upgrade tool and click the browse button. You will need to navigate to the root directory of the extracted files. Once that's done, make sure your phone is detected and click update.

Here is the link!
 
KUPOinyourWINDOW
Old
(Last edited by KUPOinyourWINDOW; 24th May 2014 at 12:00 AM.)
#2  
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 50
Join Date: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kobalt.Kitsune View Post
I was browsing a help thread I have over at the dev.b2g google group this morning when I came across a post by Vance Chen. Look at the bottom of the thread and you will find a link to root the ZTE Open C!

You will need to have Windows Vista/7/8 to run the upgrade tool and flash the developer build.

First, you will need to download the ZTE Upgrade Tool, then you can either choose between a US build (for those of us who live in the Americas,) or an EU build (for those who live in Europe.)

Don't forget to remove your sim card before flashing!

Once you have the firmware downloaded, navigate to the directory you downloaded it to, then extract the .zip file. Now, open up the upgrade tool and click the browse button. You will need to navigate to the root directory of the extracted files. Once that's done, make sure your phone is detected and click update.

Here is the link!
Now all we need is a custom build of Firefox OS for the ZTE Open C that removes the fox wallpaper from the lock screen
 
ha1fman
Old
#3  
ha1fman's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 16
Join Date: Sep 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by KUPOinyourWINDOW View Post
Now all we need is a custom build of Firefox OS for the ZTE Open C that removes the fox wallpaper from the lock screen
I needed czech language, so upgraded Gaia and fox from lock screen is gone
| ZTE Open C | Android 4.4.2 KitKat |
 
KUPOinyourWINDOW
Old
(Last edited by KUPOinyourWINDOW; 26th May 2014 at 12:02 PM.)
#4  
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 50
Join Date: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by ha1fman View Post
I needed czech language, so upgraded Gaia and fox from lock screen is gone
Is it possible to downgrade Gaia? I'm on like a weird version of Firefox OS 2.0 where I can't click the ok button
 
ha1fman
Old
#5  
ha1fman's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 16
Join Date: Sep 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by KUPOinyourWINDOW View Post
Is it possible to downgrade Gaia? I'm on like a weird version of Firefox OS 2.0 where I can't click the ok button
Just use branch v1.3 not master from git
Code:
git clone -b v1.3 https://github.com/mozilla-b2g/gaia
cd gaia/
make reset-gaia
and reboot the device
| ZTE Open C | Android 4.4.2 KitKat |
 
vampirefo
Old
(Last edited by vampirefo; 1st June 2014 at 02:25 PM.)
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 74
Posts: 305
Join Date: Apr 2010
Is there a difference between orange phone and black phone on ebay? also pic shows 900/2100 not 850/1900

http://www.ebay.com/itm/USA-STOCK-ZT...item4620261638



http://imgs.inkfrog.com/pix/Eglobal/ME0000201E_49.jpg
 
vampirefo
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 74
Posts: 305
Join Date: Apr 2010
Is there a CWM recovery for open C?
 
vampirefo
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 74
Posts: 305
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by vampirefo View Post
Is there a CWM recovery for open C?
No support at all lol for this phone, lol no matter I support myself, I have rooted device setup dual boot and built a recovery for this phone, now I like the phone.

Yes I know pics suck, I took them with a HTC EVO 4G, phone., back ups come out with 1970 date, I googled, just a date bug, doesn't bother anything. recovery boots to black screen, to overcome this , run scripts via adb in recovery then phone correctly displays cwm screen.


Pics of recovery
http://postimg.org/gallery/27qklx7q/

Here is Pastebin

http://pastebin.com/vVcA6A2p

Tags
firefox os, firefox os zte open c
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes