Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,813,525 Members 38,640 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] One M8 Tethering issue

Tip us?
 
srstas
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 17
Join Date: Jul 2010
Exclamation [Q] One M8 Tethering issue

I looked all over the net but did not found anything on this,
So the thing is when I enable the hotspot my devices connect to it with no problem but the phone itself looses connectivity meaning the internal browser or any other app for that meter cant get network connection....

It was true for the stock ROM, I also tried the Viper, same result.
Now running the latest GPE ROM and the issue is gone, I do like the original version and want to get back to it so I'd appreciate any feedback
anyone else has that issue?
thanks.
 
srstas
Old
#2  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 17
Join Date: Jul 2010
Really? No one encountered this issue?
 
srstas
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 17
Join Date: Jul 2010
Lightbulb Solution

Quote:
Originally Posted by srstas View Post
I looked all over the net but did not found anything on this,
So the thing is when I enable the hotspot my devices connect to it with no problem but the phone itself looses connectivity meaning the internal browser or any other app for that meter cant get network connection....

It was true for the stock ROM, I also tried the Viper, same result.
Now running the latest GPE ROM and the issue is gone, I do like the original version and want to get back to it so I'd appreciate any feedback
anyone else has that issue?
thanks.
I found a solution just in case some one will face the same problem

the problem was that there was a special APN for modem use, and the phone would use it by default when in hot spot mode
the APN comes with the stock roms by the way, so I just deleted it and now it uses the default APN while in HS mode that way both the phone and the connected devices get network connectivity
 
mwatson
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 108
Posts: 686
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Basingstoke
Glad it's not just mine, I tether my M8 to my car HU. The HU connects to the hot spot by there is no data pass through. I've tried opening a web page on the M8 to force a data exchange but still nothing. This is intermittent tout very annoying when it happens.

Where in the menu do you alter these APNs?
 
GermanGuy
Old
#5  
GermanGuy's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 117
Posts: 1,090
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Minneapolis
Quote:
Originally Posted by mwatson View Post
Glad it's not just mine, I tether my M8 to my car HU. The HU connects to the hot spot by there is no data pass through. I've tried opening a web page on the M8 to force a data exchange but still nothing. This is intermittent tout very annoying when it happens.

Where in the menu do you alter these APNs?
Settings - Mobile Data - Access point names
AT&T HTC One M8
 
mwatson
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 108
Posts: 686
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Basingstoke
I only have one APN. thats for my provider. Must be something else causing the issue for me.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes