Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,770,713 Members 39,291 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Trouble Installing Sense 6 Update

Tip us?
 
alray
Old
(Last edited by alray; 13th June 2014 at 07:55 AM.)
#11  
alray's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1012
Posts: 2,614
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Montreal

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by coolboy2343 View Post
Facing a similar problem but with system/app/plusone.apk, the sense 5.5 OTA had come in without any issues, only this OTA is getting stuck. I am S-ON, bootloader locked with stock recovery. To use the Guru reset tool, is it necessary to be S-OFF? My s/w version is 4.19.1540.9, there is a 4.3 RUU available on Htc dev site? Can i download it and run the .exe on a computer with my phone being BL locked, stock recovery or we can not downgrade to 4.3 from 4.4.2? I was planning to run the 4.3 .exe ruu and then OTA twice to get sense 6.
you can't downgrade with S-ON using a ruu. This is not required to to be s-off to use guru reset rom but s-off is required for the guru bootloader reset tool. There is also a nandroid backup of 5.11.1540.9 and the signed firmware in the dev edition updates thread, where you have already posted about the same issue. look at page 94
If I've helped you, please hit the ''tanks'' button
If you want a reply, quote or mention me using @alray

Useful links for the HTC One:
nkk71's SuperGUIDE to returning 100% back to stock
Flashing requirements chart by nkk71
HTC1Guru.com by crushalot
The Following User Says Thank You to alray For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
coolboy2343
Old
(Last edited by coolboy2343; 13th June 2014 at 10:01 AM.)
#12  
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 32
Join Date: May 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by alray View Post
you can't downgrade with S-ON using a ruu. This is not required to to be s-off to use guru reset rom but s-off is required for the guru bootloader reset tool. There is also a nandroid backup of 5.11.1540.9 and the signed firmware in the dev edition updates thread, where you have already posted about the same issue. look at page 94
Thanks a lot alray, i did see the tutorial and to use the Guru reset tool, i need to unlock my bootloader, flash TWRP, then flash Guru reset tool and read on screen instructions to flash a stock recovery and firmware. After that, i need to relock the bootloader and check for OTA updates. The guru reset available is 3.22.1540.1 and as you say it does not require S-OFF.

What would be a safer way? To use guru reset tool and then do OTA updates till the latest firmware or install the 5.11.1540.9 firmware, i have absolutely no clue on how to flash stock firmwares, if it is done through custom recoveries or stock recovery.

Thanks
 
yatindroid
Old
#13  
yatindroid's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 333
Posts: 1,310
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Jaipur
Quote:
Originally Posted by coolboy2343 View Post
Thanks a lot alray, i did see the tutorial and to use the Guru reset tool, i need to unlock my bootloader, flash TWRP, then flash Guru reset tool and read on screen instructions to flash a stock recovery and firmware. After that, i need to relock the bootloader and check for OTA updates. The guru reset available is 3.22.1540.1 and as you say it does not require S-OFF.

What would be a safer way? To use guru reset tool and then do OTA updates till the latest firmware or install TWRP and then flash the 5.11.1540.9 firmware using TWRP?

Thanks
don't lock bootloader until your work finished you don't need it unlocked bootloader will help you if you got some difficulty / error
Guru rest Rom not required s off but if ota over that version should be same with your current version if not ota will fail for example your current version is 5 you use guru reset rom with version 3 then you will update it with ota version 4 it will fail because S On will not let you flash firmware 4 over 5 so keep that in mind use guru reset with same version of your current version
 
coolboy2343
Old
#14  
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 32
Join Date: May 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by yatindroid View Post
don't lock bootloader until your work finished
Guru rest Rom not required s off but if ota over that version should be same with your current version if not ota will fail for example your current version is 5 you use guru reset rom with version 3 then you will update it with ota version 4 it will fail because S On will not let you flash firmware 4 over 5 so keep that in mind use guru reset with same version of your current version
Now I'm yatin kumar to yatindroid
Darn it, which means i cant use Guru reset as my current version is 4.19.1540.9 and there is no reset tool available for it. Dont want to play around with S-OFF etc as am planning to sell the phone and worried if something might go wrong during the process.
The last option available is to then use a 4.19.1540.9 but one user had said some where that4.xx RUU's are not working.
I tried but could not find a 4.19.1540.9 nandroid backup as well, will try the RUU and if it does not work then maybe wait for htc dev to release 4.4.2 RUU from their end.
 
viv_1980
Old
#15  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 11
Join Date: Jun 2014
Is there any way to do this without rooting?

Sent from my HTC One using XDA Free mobile app
 
yatindroid
Old
#16  
yatindroid's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 333
Posts: 1,310
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Jaipur
Quote:
Originally Posted by viv_1980 View Post
Is there any way to do this without rooting?

Sent from my HTC One using XDA Free mobile app
RUU only

from HTC One
 
alray
Old
(Last edited by alray; 13th June 2014 at 08:13 PM.)
#17  
alray's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1012
Posts: 2,614
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Montreal

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by coolboy2343 View Post
The last option available is to then use a 4.19.1540.9 but one user had said some where that4.xx RUU's are not working.
I tried but could not find a 4.19.1540.9 nandroid backup as well, will try the RUU and if it does not work then maybe wait for htc dev to release 4.4.2 RUU from their end.
Why would you want to find a 4.19.1540.9 nandroid backup when I said at post #11 that there is a nandroid backup of 5.11.1540.9 and the 5.11.1540.9 signed firmware in the dev edition updates thread at page 94 (posted by me, users reported both nandroid and firmware working good)
@yatindroid : sorry for hijacking this thread.
If I've helped you, please hit the ''tanks'' button
If you want a reply, quote or mention me using @alray

Useful links for the HTC One:
nkk71's SuperGUIDE to returning 100% back to stock
Flashing requirements chart by nkk71
HTC1Guru.com by crushalot
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to alray For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
coolboy2343
Old
#18  
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 32
Join Date: May 2013
Sorry but i have no clue at all on how to use that nandroid backup to update the phone. Do i need to unlock bootloader again, flash twrp and then restore that backup?
What to do with the firmware file?
Thanks



Quote:
Originally Posted by alray View Post
Why would you want to find a 4.19.1540.9 nandroid backup when I said at post #11 that there is a nandroid backup of 5.11.1540.9 and the 5.11.1540.9 signed firmware in the dev edition updates thread at page 94 (posted by me, users reported both nandroid and firmware working good)
@yatindroid : sorry for hijacking this thread.
 
alray
Old
(Last edited by alray; 14th June 2014 at 07:57 AM.)
#19  
alray's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1012
Posts: 2,614
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Montreal

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by coolboy2343 View Post
Sorry but i have no clue at all on how to use that nandroid backup to update the phone. Do i need to unlock bootloader again, flash twrp and then restore that backup?
What to do with the firmware file?
Thanks
  1. unlock bootloader
  2. flash twrp 2.6.3.3
  3. boot phone in recovery
  4. make a backup of ''Boot'' only (this is only to generate a backup path on your phone)
  5. when completed, reboot phone in the OS, connected on your computer
  6. browse your internal storage, go to TWRP/Backups/Your_Phone_serial/Some_date/
  7. delete files in this folder (these are the file backed up previously to generate the backup path above)
  8. extract the 5.11.1540.9 backup archive and copy all the files in the backup folder (previously generated) of your phone (TWRP/Backups/Your_Phone_serial/Some_date/) should have around 11 files (some .win .md5 files and a .log)
  9. go back in twrp, select ''restore'' , select ''some_date'' folder, select all the partitions and swipe to restore
  10. after the restore is completed, in twrp go to ''wipe'' then ''swipe to factory reset'' do not ''format data'' or ''advanced wipe''
  11. reboot phone in the OS

if you want to update the firmware after restoring the backup:
  1. relock bootloader
  2. reboot bootloader
  3. flash the firmware
    Code:
    fastboot oem rebootRUU
    fastboot oem flash zip firmware.zip
    fastboot oem flash zip firmware.zip
    fastboot reboot

flashing firmware can be dangerous so be sure you understand what you are doing first, there is a lot of threads here explaining how to flash firmware.

---------- Post added at 05:43 PM ---------- Previous post was at 05:39 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by coolboy2343 View Post
am planning to sell the phone
Why not just seeling the phone ''as is'' ?

if you have any other question please pm me, open another thread or post in the dev update thread so it will be easier for @yatindroid and @viv_1980 to continue troubleshooting viv_1980's issue.

there is also another thread that discuss the exact same issue you are having ''unexpected content'' of /system/app/plusone.apk on 4.19.1540.9: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=53381299
Maybe you could try what I said in that thread before messing with backups and firmware.
If I've helped you, please hit the ''tanks'' button
If you want a reply, quote or mention me using @alray

Useful links for the HTC One:
nkk71's SuperGUIDE to returning 100% back to stock
Flashing requirements chart by nkk71
HTC1Guru.com by crushalot
The Following User Says Thank You to alray For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
coolboy2343
Old
#20  
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 32
Join Date: May 2013
Default Problem solved

Thanks a ton to @alray, @yatindroid and @SaHiLzZ, i finally downloaded the 4.19.1540.9 RUU from Android ruu, connected to windows 7, used the .exe file and it smoothly flashed the stock firmware. After it, updated OTA to sense 6 and this time the update went smoothly and my M7 is now updated to sense 6. It is completely stock now, will easily get OTA updates in future and i wanted to set things right before selling it off so that the future owner does not face issues with the phone, not every one is a member of Xda .

Thanks guys

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes