Now Gesture Tweaks Replaces Google Now with Custom Action

On most modern Android devices with software navigation keys, swiping up from the … more

ToqAN Fixes Android 5.0 Notification Bug on Qualcomm Toq

The Qualcomm Toq is probably one of the lesser known smartwatches on the market … more

How to Root and Unlock the Google Nexus 6 on a Mac – XDA TV

In the past, XDA Developer TV Producer droidmodd3rx has shown you how to … more

Set Up Your MediaTek Device with Comprehensive Beginner’s Guide

As can be seen with the use of MediaTek chips in Android One devices … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Had to odin to stock.. how can I get twrp back?

OP FrozenPanda

14th June 2014, 04:44 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
34 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
I have a i337. I had the GPE 4.4.3 ROM by Danvdh but I thought it would be a good idea to "clean my phone" by formatting it but it ended up getting rid of some prebuild things on my internal sd card.

In any case, I ended up odining back to stock and now i'm having trouble getting TWRP back on my device (and thus being able to flash ROMS.)

As of now there's nothing on my phone so really any path would be fine with me (i've been reading and tinkering with this NB1 downgrade to MK2 then going to NC1? but that revolves around safestrap? I know its based off of twrp but its only compatible with stock roms? I like the more GPE esque roms. and not being limited...

Can someone help please? If possible in real-time over an IM service or something.
14th June 2014, 04:58 AM   |  #2  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Minnetonka, MN
Thanks Meter: 3,936
 
11,269 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrozenPanda

I have a i337. I had the GPE 4.4.3 ROM by Danvdh but I thought it would be a good idea to "clean my phone" by formatting it but it ended up getting rid of some prebuild things on my internal sd card.

In any case, I ended up odining back to stock and now i'm having trouble getting TWRP back on my device (and thus being able to flash ROMS.)

As of now there's nothing on my phone so really any path would be fine with me (i've been reading and tinkering with this NB1 downgrade to MK2 then going to NC1? but that revolves around safestrap? I know its based off of twrp but its only compatible with stock roms? I like the more GPE esque roms. and not being limited...

Can someone help please? If possible in real-time over an IM service or something.

What firmware did you flash? If you flashed anything newer than mdl you're not going to get twrp.
14th June 2014, 05:03 AM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
34 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by jd1639

What firmware did you flash? If you flashed anything newer than mdl you're not going to get twrp.

Well thats a bit concerning... can I just reflash something earlier? As I said theres nothing on my device so I am not concerned about data... sadly i'm not too sure what I flashed but I think it might have been NB1...
14th June 2014, 05:06 AM   |  #4  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Minnetonka, MN
Thanks Meter: 3,936
 
11,269 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrozenPanda

Well thats a bit concerning... can I just reflash something earlier? As I said theres nothing on my device so I am not concerned about data... sadly i'm not too sure what I flashed but I think it might have been NB1...

You're screwed. You can't go backwards in firmware to mdl. You're stuck with safestrap
14th June 2014, 05:09 AM   |  #5  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
34 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by jd1639

You're screwed. You can't go backwards in firmware to mdl. You're stuck with safestrap

zz my worst fear is coming true.. is there anyway I can like.. I don't know change bootloader? Is it similar enough to the GPE or something? I really don't want to stay with TW.. I know there are "stock" TW ROMs but.. yeah
15th June 2014, 07:00 PM   |  #6  
DeadlySin9's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 651
 
1,309 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrozenPanda

zz my worst fear is coming true.. is there anyway I can like.. I don't know change bootloader? Is it similar enough to the GPE or something? I really don't want to stay with TW.. I know there are "stock" TW ROMs but.. yeah

You can't change it once you've updated. There is a single GPE working on Safestrap but not all features work.

Sent from my SGH-I337 running GPE
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes