FORUMS

Beats Music No Longer Accepting New Accounts

Whenever Apple launches a new product or service, it definitely manages to grab the … more

Do You Do Self-Repairs on Your Devices?

As smartphone designs become more and more complex, self-repairs on devices are also becoming … more

Sony Z4 Slips Out of Top 5 Smartphones in Japan

In a bid to streamline its flagship series which had been losing credibility over the … more

Sprint’s New Unlimited Plan with Ridiculous Capped Speeds

The carrier game in the United States is perpetually rushing forward at … more

[Q] AOKP KitKat SIM Unlock Clarification

232 posts
Thanks Meter: 4
 
By Charles:, Senior Member on 11th June 2014, 05:09 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Ok, I've read like 14 threads on this, but can't seem to verify an answer for my specific set up. So, sorry if this seems obvious to you guys. I def don't want to brick my phone.

I'm on AOKP Task650 4.4.3 (kitkat) ROM. Obviously the stock 4.1.1 SIM unlock method won't work on AOKP and I've read that the 4.3 version isn't able to downgrade and flash to a 4.1.1 ROM. What about 4.4.3? I also read that has to do with the bootloader and something about bootloaders with Knox on them won't work. I don't think that's my case.

When I go into my bootloader, I see:

ODIN MODE
Product Name: SGH-I747
Custom Binary Download: Yes (1 counts)
Current Binary: Custom
System Status: Custom
Qualcomm secureboot: Enable

So does that mean I can downgrade to 4.1.1 and unlock or am I SOL when it comes to unlocking?

Second part...if I can downgrade, do I have to do it via ODIN, or can I simply flask a ROM zip via TWRP?
If I have to do it via ODIN, can I perform a backup, flash 4.1.1, unlock, then go back into TWRP and restore to my 4.4.3 KitKat ROM?
 
 
11th June 2014, 06:48 PM |#2  
crazymonkey05's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag stilwell, OK
Thanks Meter: 228
 
Donate to Me
More
What's your baseband version? this tells what modem/BL you have

Sent from my ATT Samsung Galaxy SIII using TapaTalk
The Following User Says Thank You to crazymonkey05 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th June 2014, 08:26 PM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by crazymonkey05

What's your baseband version? this tells what modem/BL you have

Sent from my ATT Samsung Galaxy SIII using TapaTalk

UCDLK3
11th June 2014, 09:09 PM |#4  
crazymonkey05's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag stilwell, OK
Thanks Meter: 228
 
Donate to Me
More
Oki believe that's 4.1.1 so you can flash a 4.1.1 ROM and unlock....(I'm not a 100% so someone check me on that please)

Sent from my ATT Samsung Galaxy SIII using TapaTalk
11th June 2014, 09:50 PM |#5  
audit13's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 1,967
 
More
Downgrading to the stock 4.1.1 ROM will erase all data so make sure you backup everything before using Odin to go back to stock.

Based on the information from the download screen and your baseband, you should be fine to downgrade.
The Following User Says Thank You to audit13 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
12th June 2014, 02:02 PM |#6  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by audit13

Downgrading to the stock 4.1.1 ROM will erase all data so make sure you backup everything before using Odin to go back to stock.

Based on the information from the download screen and your baseband, you should be fine to downgrade.

Awesome! Thanks, guys!
15th June 2014, 05:13 PM |#7  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Just an update, I was able to flash a stock 4.1.1 via Odin and unlock my phone. Flashed TWRP and restored...back to right where I left of, but unlocked! Thanks again for the help, guys.
15th June 2014, 07:20 PM |#8  
audit13's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 1,967
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charles:

Just an update, I was able to flash a stock 4.1.1 via Odin and unlock my phone. Flashed TWRP and restored...back to right where I left of, but unlocked! Thanks again for the help, guys.

Glad it worked for you. As a personal preference, I stayed away from the 4.3 bootloader.
15th June 2014, 07:32 PM |#9  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by audit13

Glad it worked for you. As a personal preference, I stayed away from the 4.3 bootloader.

Evidently the Task560 AOKP ROM uses the 4.1.1 bootloader.
15th June 2014, 07:37 PM |#10  
audit13's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 1,967
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charles:

Evidently the Task560 AOKP ROM uses the 4.1.1 bootloader.

If you want to see which bootloaders are supported by a particular custom ROM, have a look at the updater-script file in a text editor. The bootloader versions are contained in the first few get lines.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes