Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

damn! unlocked phone sm-g900a hotspot not work

OP jm2k7

31st May 2014, 06:03 AM   |  #1  
jm2k7's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Black Mesa :P
Thanks Meter: 64
 
173 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
I'm from Venezuela, I have purchased a mobile unlocked at & t "galaxy s5 sm-g900a" but as I do not have att sim, apparently I can not use the hotspot.

There is no way to run the hotspot with another carrier?

when trying to enable hotspot says "mobile data is not available or is not a valid sim"



edit: only works through USB.
Last edited by jm2k7; 8th June 2014 at 08:29 PM. Reason: only works through USB.
2nd June 2014, 03:55 PM   |  #2  
zoso28's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag East Coast
Thanks Meter: 55
 
404 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
More
Have you tried foxfi or tether it?
3rd June 2014, 12:18 AM   |  #3  
jm2k7's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Black Mesa :P
Thanks Meter: 64
 
173 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoso28

Have you tried foxfi or tether it?

yes, works great with EasyTether with USB, I've been able to connect via USB and have internet from there.

I'm missing is wifi audit.

4th June 2014, 11:39 PM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
I have the same problem. I would like to tether via WIFI.

Someone could fix it?
8th June 2014, 06:54 PM   |  #5  
PS4AndroidHacker's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Barberton,Ohio
Thanks Meter: 37
 
328 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
Donate to Me
More
Hey I tried fox-fi at work yesterday (I work at hhgregg) to try to provide WiFi to a laptop and it wouldn't work for me. It asked me to install pdanet+ first so I did and it still didn't work. Any way to get WiFi hot spots with this phone without root?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
8th June 2014, 08:25 PM   |  #6  
jm2k7's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Black Mesa :P
Thanks Meter: 64
 
173 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by PS4AndroidHacker

Hey I tried fox-fi at work yesterday (I work at hhgregg) to try to provide WiFi to a laptop and it wouldn't work for me. It asked me to install pdanet+ first so I did and it still didn't work. Any way to get WiFi hot spots with this phone without root?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

no way, I've tried everything to make it work for wifi and nothing, is completely blocked by the software layer at&t, only works for USB.

I downloaded and tested all applications for wifi tether, and no work, same error.
15th June 2014, 11:13 PM   |  #7  
jm2k7's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Black Mesa :P
Thanks Meter: 64
 
173 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Exclamation
Well good news, geohot achieved our root at&t.

Now, as you can unlock the hotspot feature to use internet with another operator.

I remember a atrix 2 at & t, was modified somewhat in the system folder, but with this phone do?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes