Get a Complete Set of Logs with Andy Log

The importance of proper logging is undeniable. No, we’re not talking about lumberjack work. … more

Try Some Android Lollipop Applications on Your Device

Android 5.0 Lollipop has been officially announced and lucky users of Google Nexus 5 … more

AutoCon Manages Your Connections to Perserve Battery Life

As we’ve talked about in the past, battery life is still somewhat of a sore … more

How to Unlock and Root a Nexus Device – XDA TV

It is official–Google has released the Nexus 6 and the Nexus 9. The Nexus family … more
Post Reply

[Q] Disable fast dormancy on the S5?

OP RBEmerson

15th June 2014, 04:56 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag SE PA
Thanks Meter: 14
 
122 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
More
I need to be able to disable fast dormancy on the S5. The Bahamian phone system, AFAIK, doesn't support FD. At least not during 2012/13. I asked a friend living, in Abaco, who's very knowledgeable on the subject. He's unaware of any changes on this front.

I found a reference to a hack for the S3, but I don't know if it works with the S5. Or if rooting is needed to (e.g., to hack build.prop).

Anybody got information on this issue?
15th June 2014, 07:33 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 875
 
1,284 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by RBEmerson

I need to be able to disable fast dormancy on the S5. The Bahamian phone system, AFAIK, doesn't support FD. At least not during 2012/13. I asked a friend living, in Abaco, who's very knowledgeable on the subject. He's unaware of any changes on this front.

I found a reference to a hack for the S3, but I don't know if it works with the S5. Or if rooting is needed to (e.g., to hack build.prop).

Anybody got information on this issue?

The GT-9300 app should work, if it's still possible to disable it.
15th June 2014, 10:24 AM   |  #3  
matheus_sc's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Olimpia-SP
Thanks Meter: 320
 
1,330 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
I use fast dormancy of gohanmoral and does fine

Sent from my SM-G900M using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
15th June 2014, 04:49 PM   |  #4  
OP Senior Member
Flag SE PA
Thanks Meter: 14
 
122 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by drakester09

The GT-9300 app should work, if it's still possible to disable it.

Er, color me totally clueless re: GT-9300 and gohanmoral. Details please.
15th June 2014, 06:54 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 875
 
1,284 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by RBEmerson

Er, color me totally clueless re: GT-9300 and gohanmoral. Details please.

https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...cytoggle.i9300

Requires root
The Following User Says Thank You to drakester09 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th June 2014, 04:01 AM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Flag SE PA
Thanks Meter: 14
 
122 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by drakester09

https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...cytoggle.i9300

Requires root

Thanks! As far as I can tell, the app is working. Until I connect with a carrier that doesn't support FD, I won't know for sure. Unless there's a way to verify it's working on my S5 while I'm still in the States. I can, of course, inspect the file and see the changes applied. The question is whether or not it's valid for this phone and OS rev. Ideas?
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Galaxy S 5 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank