Post Reply

[Q] Will be buying HDX 7" soon, have some questions

OP Hobox10

14th June 2014, 10:29 PM   |  #1  
Hobox10's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 29
 
300 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Is there currently a way to have both the Amazon App store and the Google Play store working together? On the newest update?

Does rooting have any adverse affects from Amazon? Like will anything stop working?

I plan on buying a used tablet, how can I check to make sure the tablet is deactivated so that I can use my own Amazon stuff on it and it doesn't get marked as stolen?

I may think of other questions I need help with in the meantime, but thanks for any help.
14th June 2014, 10:44 PM   |  #2  
jimyv's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 131
 
410 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
everwhere
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hobox10

Is there currently a way to have both the Amazon App store and the Google Play store working together? On the newest update?

Does rooting have any adverse affects from Amazon? Like will anything stop working?

I plan on buying a used tablet, how can I check to make sure the tablet is deactivated so that I can use my own Amazon stuff on it and it doesn't get marked as stolen?

I may think of other questions I need help with in the meantime, but thanks for any help.

Check out the general section, you will find the anwser you seek. if you have any other questions there is also a search abilility..there are only about a half a dozen threads titled with the same or basically the same as yours...thanks for visiting and I hope you find all the information you need. Previous owner must unregister. the tablet from their account before u received it.and I would attempt to register it and setup your account before cash exchanges hands or contact amazon with id to verify that it has not been blackliisted already, it can either be unregistered by owner from tab then reset . Or done through ther online account..
Last edited by jimyv; 14th June 2014 at 10:51 PM.
15th June 2014, 12:53 AM   |  #3  
Hobox10's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 29
 
300 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
A lot of the threads I have read seem to have people contradicting or trying to figure out what actually works or not, or is simply outdated.
15th June 2014, 07:13 PM   |  #4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
73 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Yeah, I'm with OP. I have a new Fire HDX and am trying to figure out the 'best' way to root it, and after reading through everything I'm more confused than before.

I haven't taken my Fire out of the box yet. There seems to be discussion that if I haven't downloaded an OTA yet, I can root in a way others can't because the new updates block it?

Is there a known "best" ROM someone can point us to?

Why do I keep seeing everyone say 'don't ever turn on wifi!'? I assume that is just to not get the OTA update at the beginning. But once rooted, obv we can use wifi right?

Is every root method dependant on creating a separate partition for the new ROM, and whenever we use the Kindle we have to choose to use the stock amazon rom or the new ROM we've flashed?

Thanks!
Last edited by lordtigger; 15th June 2014 at 07:31 PM.
15th June 2014, 11:53 PM   |  #5  
jimyv's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 131
 
410 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
well
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordtigger

Yeah, I'm with OP. I have a new Fire HDX and am trying to figure out the 'best' way to root it, and after reading through everything I'm more confused than before.

I haven't taken my Fire out of the box yet. There seems to be discussion that if I haven't downloaded an OTA yet, I can root in a way others can't because the new updates block it?

Is there a known "best" ROM someone can point us to?

Why do I keep seeing everyone say 'don't ever turn on wifi!'? I assume that is just to not get the OTA update at the beginning. But once rooted, obv we can use wifi right?

Is every root method dependant on creating a separate partition for the new ROM, and whenever we use the Kindle we have to choose to use the stock amazon rom or the new ROM we've flashed?

Thanks!

Well "root"has nothing to do with seperate partitions n such. root is all permission control over system.
The only way to flash anything currently is being on older os rooting,then installing safestrap which will set up alternate system and data boot path allowing you to flash a ROM separately from your factory os ,as to not disturb it. Because currently we do not have stable working fastboot for this device. As for BEST rom. In any situation is totally in one own experience and opinions. Currently there isn't any selection if u look in development section the only two that function only work on old firmware ...you can roll back to that firmware ..but also bootloader is locked tight thus the need for a "safe" type of recovery as of moment only works on older firmware also. Just.within the last couple of days have reveiled a couple of rooting options for lastest firmware so ...this tab per Amazon gives no warning nor asks permission to upgrade of firmware which unrooted a ton of people last few months...soooo no root no development....now we have root again we will get going again..Have fun and most of all be PATIENT and do not ask for ETA remember all the developers here are doing that on there FreeTime and free of pay most the time. AS FAR as rooting and adding gapps to newest firmware I heard that it has been achieved with HDXPOSED found in development and permission module . Then sideload gapps... As far as adverse effects... Like I said you will have to be patient if you want somebody else to find out bugs for you.. still to new .....due to new root releases..like last three days.
Last edited by jimyv; 16th June 2014 at 12:39 AM.
16th June 2014, 12:50 AM   |  #6  
Hobox10's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 29
 
300 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
I'm perfectly fine with the stock rom honestly, as long as I can get Google Play store working alongside the Amazon app store. Now, assuming I can root when I receive the tablet, I will install safestrap. Is there any bugs or anything with safestrap but just using the stock rom? I saw some people mention getting permission errors and such but I think that was just for custom roms in another slot. I only want safestrap to make a backup.

Basically, is there any actual danger to modifying the stock rom at all, even something simply like play store? Or should it all be done on a custom rom slot? I would assume having the backup would mean if something got messed up I can just restore it.

Secondly, there is a SEPARATE play store mod you can do where they don't both work together right? I believe I saw something about it where you just have to install a custom launcher, and with the custom launcher the google play apps work but under the amazon launcher, amazon stuff works? If that's correct, does that work without root? Because I can live with that temporarily until root is secured.

Thanks.
16th June 2014, 01:05 AM   |  #7  
jimyv's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 131
 
410 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
nope
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hobox10

I'm perfectly fine with the stock rom honestly, as long as I can get Google Play store working alongside the Amazon app store. Now, assuming I can root when I receive the tablet, I will install safestrap. Is there any bugs or anything with safestrap but just using the stock rom? I saw some people mention getting permission errors and such but I think that was just for custom roms in another slot. I only want safestrap to make a backup.

Basically, is there any actual danger to modifying the stock rom at all, even something simply like play store? Or should it all be done on a custom rom slot? I would assume having the backup would mean if something got messed up I can just restore it.

Secondly, there is a SEPARATE play store mod you can do where they don't both work together right? I believe I saw something about it where you just have to install a custom launcher, and with the custom launcher the google play apps work but under the amazon launcher, amazon stuff works? If that's correct, does that work without root? Because I can live with that temporarily until root is secured.

Thanks.

As far as I know gapps aside from gmail will not work without root and HDXposed..(fixes permissions)and as far as doing any mods to stock slot it is not advised because of very difficult if even possible recovery due to no fastboot capabilities. Check for bugs for any mods in associated threads. As far as flashing anything ,again I am not sure safestrap is functioning on latest firmware .. And there hasn't been enough time for any development because of the recent rooting capabilities.
Last edited by jimyv; 16th June 2014 at 01:25 AM.
16th June 2014, 07:43 AM   |  #8  
Hobox10's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 29
 
300 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Alright, so it sounds like this is what I should do then:

Get tablet
Root it (If I can't, then I stop here)
Install safestrap
Backup
Install the backup on romslot 1??
Make the modifications I want to romslot 1

Is that right?

Also let's assume I can't root it, I can still sideload most apps I want like Gmail, Youtube, etc? (Those aren't on the amazon app store correct?)
16th June 2014, 08:12 AM   |  #9  
jimyv's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 131
 
410 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Thumbs up yeap
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hobox10

Alright, so it sounds like this is what I should do then:

Get tablet
Root it (If I can't, then I stop here)
Install safestrap
Backup
Install the backup on romslot 1??
Make the modifications I want to romslot 1

Is that right?

Also let's assume I can't root it, I can still sideload most apps I want like Gmail, Youtube, etc? (Those aren't on the amazon app store correct?)

Yeah I would say you just about got the idea .... If it is a brand-new unit you have a possibility that it will be on the old firmware still ... That is why they need to bypass activation skip set up . And check firmware before you hook it to any active Wi-Fi service .. And even if it does or is already updated there is now root available for the latest firmware ... It's just a question whether or not we can get anything else to work along with the latest firmware ... I would be advised if you attempt to run the OTA blocker which comes in the HDX utility you may have Wi-Fi glitches and reboots .... But like I said those bugs need to be checked for and follow through and repaired in their associated threads ... Not a new thread that only plugs up our forums but puts the helpful threads on the next page where cannot find them ... Remember there are multiple pages each forum section and some of the helpful threads have been buried on the next page due to people starting new threads with the same questions or problem... That have been resolved already... Remember reading is more informative than typing . And remember if anybody here is giving you their personal time to answer your questions and respond to your post it is courtesy here to hit the thanks button in the left lower corner of the post.End rant. thx
<~~~~~~~~~~ ; )
Last edited by jimyv; 16th June 2014 at 09:58 AM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Kindle Fire HDX 7" & 8.9" Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank