Sony SmartEyeglass SDK Developer Preview Released

A little over a month ago in Tokyo, Japan, Sony unveiled its new SmartEyeglasstechnology. … more

XDA and Leaseweb: Server Trial/Moto 360 Contest (Winners!)

About a month ago, we held a contest along with XDA’s host, Leaseweb, to … more

Updated Android Lollipop Preview Images – XDA TV

The Android Lollipop Preview Images are now available! That and much more news is … more

Get a Complete Set of Logs with Andy Log

The importance of proper logging is undeniable. No, we’re not talking about lumberjack work. … more
Post Reply

Note 3 poor reception

OP parambir

15th June 2014, 07:56 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
You all are my final hope... I got Note 3 N900A (AT&T factory unlocked) from eBay from USA to India last week. Inserted the Sim and I did get 1-2 bars. Now the problem is that the same SIM was giving 4-5 bars on a previous Samsung phone I had (not a smartphone but a basic phone). On Note 3 I am having serious network issues in the same area I earlier had no issues, to such an extent that sometimes I get cross on GSM signal. Data out of question. Today I also realised that the GPS is having problems locking to satellite while navigation. I should to Samsung service center here and they say the phone is okay but phones from abroad usually are very sensitive to signal strength. I am losing my piece of mind though.

Help me out on this please.

Parambir
15th June 2014, 08:27 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 23
 
167 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Not an expert by any stretch!

1. Are you using a case for the phone? Try it without one.

2. have you flashed back to stock when you bought it? If not try flashing stock. But be absolutely certain about which firmware you need for your US AT&T. You also need to backup EFS and FSC partitions from /dev before flashing anything.
15th June 2014, 08:42 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by AO7

Not an expert by any stretch!

1. Are you using a case for the phone? Try it without one.

2. have you flashed back to stock when you bought it? If not try flashing stock. But be absolutely certain about which firmware you need for your US AT&T. You also need to backup EFS and FSC partitions from /dev before flashing anything.

I am using a case. Shall try without one. Flash? Why do I need to flash? How will flash help improve signal strength? It is not that I am not getting any strength. The bars just disappear sometimes.
16th June 2014, 02:46 PM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by AO7

Not an expert by any stretch!

1. Are you using a case for the phone? Try it without one.

2. have you flashed back to stock when you bought it? If not try flashing stock. But be absolutely certain about which firmware you need for your US AT&T. You also need to backup EFS and FSC partitions from /dev before flashing anything.

Used it the whole day without the case and I think it did the trick. I never knew removing the case will effect it so much. Need to experiment it further to make sure case was the problem.
16th June 2014, 03:44 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 23
 
167 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by parambir

Used it the whole day without the case and I think it did the trick. I never knew removing the case will effect it so much. Need to experiment it further to make sure case was the problem.

Great news! Try a case that contains no metal. I recommend the Spigen line of cases. They're a bit pricey but mine has served me really well for the last 9 months now.
16th June 2014, 03:54 PM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by AO7

Great news! Try a case that contains no metal. I recommend the Spigen line of cases. They're a bit pricey but mine has served me really well for the last 9 months now.

The one I have is not metallic but I think maybe because of its thickness, the problem is occurring. I am planning to to use a case but laminate the rear cover specially the lens and flash cover.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Galaxy Note 3 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank