Default built in text app: when opening it, can it not default to the last conversation?

This is driving me crazy!!! Whenever I open the text app, it defaults to the last conversation. Sometimes I send the wrong texts to the wrong people and it could get troublesome. I just want it to go to the main page with all the conversations with different people and pick and choose myself. I tried settings but couldn't find anything. anyone know? Thanks!