Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,806,684 Members 49,955 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] accidentally disabled settings.

Tip us?
 
lilnever
Old
#1  
lilnever's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Jun 2014
Default [Q] accidentally disabled settings.

Alright guys I need your help, and I couldn't find anything that helped. Anyways I was messing with my phone, and I got a system notification that wouldn't clear in the notification bar. I usually just click on the app and click "force close" from the settings app. Unfortunately I accidentally clicked disable instead, and now I can't seem to re enable the settings.

I'm currently running the venom Rom from kit Kat 4.4.2. Hopefully someone can help, and not laugh at me too much. Anyways thanks in advance.
 
clsA
Old
#2  
clsA's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 971
Posts: 3,625
Join Date: Aug 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by lilnever View Post
Alright guys I need your help, and I couldn't find anything that helped. Anyways I was messing with my phone, and I got a system notification that wouldn't clear in the notification bar. I usually just click on the app and click "force close" from the settings app. Unfortunately I accidentally clicked disable instead, and now I can't seem to re enable the settings.

I'm currently running the venom Rom from kit Kat 4.4.2. Hopefully someone can help, and not laugh at me too much. Anyways thanks in advance.
just re-flash the rom
HTC One 32 GB AT&T

 
lilnever
Old
#3  
lilnever's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Jun 2014
Ya I just tried that a little while ago and it didn't work. Although I didn't wipe anything I just flashed. Do you think I might have to flash?
 
nateboi81
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 97
Posts: 576
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Melbourne
What is it that you disabled?

Sent from my HTC One using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

---------- Post added at 05:43 AM ---------- Previous post was at 05:42 AM ----------

Oh you disabled settings??

Sent from my HTC One using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
nateboi81
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 97
Posts: 576
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Melbourne
If your rooted download startup manager. Enable it in the system area. If not go to customize and add item.

Sent from my HTC One using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
Seanie280672
Old
#6  
Seanie280672's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 343
Posts: 1,162
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Halesowen

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by lilnever View Post
Ya I just tried that a little while ago and it didn't work. Although I didn't wipe anything I just flashed. Do you think I might have to flash?
Like clsA said, just re-flash the rom, you will have to wipe everything, possibly your internal storage too as if I remember right, Venom Rom stores the settings there, I know for sure it stores themes and mods there, this will leave your phone completely empty apart from Bootloader and Recovery, you will then have to push the ROM to your internal storage and flash it.

Place the rom in the same folder as adb and fastboot on your computer, put the phone in recovery (main screen only), plug into the PC and open a command window in your fastboot/adb folder and type adb push (rom name).zip /sdcard/

Then flash it.
 
lilnever
Old
#7  
lilnever's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Jun 2014
Alright I'll try that now that I'm home I'll see if that works thank you.

Sent from my HTC One using XDA Free mobile app
 
lilnever
Old
(Last edited by lilnever; 14th June 2014 at 11:25 AM.)
#8  
lilnever's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Jun 2014
I disabled the settings app. You know where you can see app settings and such. I'll have to wait a bit before I can use a computer. But I was wondering, after using the app you suggested (didn't seem to work on my problem) I was able to find the "settings.apk" file. Wondering if uninstalling and reinstalling the "settings" app would fix anything with out having to lose any of my data. But I'm also not sure if uninstalling the settings would damage my phone, or if I do uninstall it might not let me install it again.
I tried installing the apk with out uninstalling it first and it just said application not installed

Sent from my HTC One using XDA Free mobile app
 
lilnever
Old
#9  
lilnever's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Jun 2014
Update. I installed app quarantined and was able to find the settings apps disabled there. I was able to use that to 're enable it

Sent from my HTC One using XDA Free mobile app

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes