FORUMS

The OnePlus 2 & The Year of Smartphone Compromises

We are very close to entering the last third of 2015, and we have now seen many of … more

OnePlus 2 Teardown, Major Android Vulnerability – XDA TV

The OnePlus 2 has been officially released. That and much more news is … more

What Do You Think About Fingerprint Scanners?

More and more phones are featuring fingerprint scanners, and with many promising … more

What’s Next for Samsung and Its Flagships?

If we were to say that the Galaxy S6 was a leap of faith made by Samsung, we … more

[Q] accidentally disabled settings.

5 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By lilnever, Junior Member on 14th June 2014, 01:52 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Alright guys I need your help, and I couldn't find anything that helped. Anyways I was messing with my phone, and I got a system notification that wouldn't clear in the notification bar. I usually just click on the app and click "force close" from the settings app. Unfortunately I accidentally clicked disable instead, and now I can't seem to re enable the settings.

I'm currently running the venom Rom from kit Kat 4.4.2. Hopefully someone can help, and not laugh at me too much. Anyways thanks in advance.
 
 
14th June 2014, 02:40 AM |#2  
clsA's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Central Florida
Thanks Meter: 1,865
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lilnever

Alright guys I need your help, and I couldn't find anything that helped. Anyways I was messing with my phone, and I got a system notification that wouldn't clear in the notification bar. I usually just click on the app and click "force close" from the settings app. Unfortunately I accidentally clicked disable instead, and now I can't seem to re enable the settings.

I'm currently running the venom Rom from kit Kat 4.4.2. Hopefully someone can help, and not laugh at me too much. Anyways thanks in advance.

just re-flash the rom
14th June 2014, 03:41 AM |#3  
lilnever's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Ya I just tried that a little while ago and it didn't work. Although I didn't wipe anything I just flashed. Do you think I might have to flash?
14th June 2014, 05:43 AM |#4  
Senior Member
Flag Melbourne
Thanks Meter: 98
 
More
What is it that you disabled?

Sent from my HTC One using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

---------- Post added at 05:43 AM ---------- Previous post was at 05:42 AM ----------

Oh you disabled settings??

Sent from my HTC One using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
14th June 2014, 07:06 AM |#5  
Senior Member
Flag Melbourne
Thanks Meter: 98
 
More
If your rooted download startup manager. Enable it in the system area. If not go to customize and add item.

Sent from my HTC One using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
14th June 2014, 07:10 AM |#6  
Seanie280672's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Halesowen
Thanks Meter: 703
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lilnever

Ya I just tried that a little while ago and it didn't work. Although I didn't wipe anything I just flashed. Do you think I might have to flash?

Like clsA said, just re-flash the rom, you will have to wipe everything, possibly your internal storage too as if I remember right, Venom Rom stores the settings there, I know for sure it stores themes and mods there, this will leave your phone completely empty apart from Bootloader and Recovery, you will then have to push the ROM to your internal storage and flash it.

Place the rom in the same folder as adb and fastboot on your computer, put the phone in recovery (main screen only), plug into the PC and open a command window in your fastboot/adb folder and type adb push (rom name).zip /sdcard/

Then flash it.
14th June 2014, 07:17 AM |#7  
lilnever's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Alright I'll try that now that I'm home I'll see if that works thank you.

Sent from my HTC One using XDA Free mobile app
14th June 2014, 11:21 AM |#8  
lilnever's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I disabled the settings app. You know where you can see app settings and such. I'll have to wait a bit before I can use a computer. But I was wondering, after using the app you suggested (didn't seem to work on my problem) I was able to find the "settings.apk" file. Wondering if uninstalling and reinstalling the "settings" app would fix anything with out having to lose any of my data. But I'm also not sure if uninstalling the settings would damage my phone, or if I do uninstall it might not let me install it again.
I tried installing the apk with out uninstalling it first and it just said application not installed

Sent from my HTC One using XDA Free mobile app
Last edited by lilnever; 14th June 2014 at 11:25 AM.
16th June 2014, 08:46 PM |#9  
lilnever's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Update. I installed app quarantined and was able to find the settings apps disabled there. I was able to use that to 're enable it

Sent from my HTC One using XDA Free mobile app
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes