Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,737,016 Members 50,395 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Video Issues on my Galaxy S4 GT-i9500

Tip us?
 
Mo Neenja31
Old
(Last edited by Mo Neenja31; 18th June 2014 at 11:58 PM.)
#1  
Mo Neenja31's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Dec 2013
Default Video Issues on my Galaxy S4 GT-i9500

Hello, don't post here often but after encountering a very weird and annoying issue with my S4, I felt the need to post here. Whenever I try to view videos in Snapchat or click on a YouTube link from Facebook or something, my screen goes crazy. See videos below.

EDIT: Apparently I can't post video links until I make 10 posts

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VcL-...ature=youtu.be
http://youtu.be/VcL-rCP317Q

Also, here is the information about my S4 (I don't live in the United Emirates but apparently that's where my phone's from):
http://i.imgur.com/lDCo3r1.png



This issue sometimes fixes itself but it comes back. If anyone could provide a remedy for this issue, it would be greatly appreciated.
 
jaswinky
Old
(Last edited by jaswinky; 18th April 2014 at 04:42 AM.)
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 98
Posts: 609
Join Date: Jun 2009
I can't see your videos, but i think here is same issue. It is like a lot of flicks to full screen, right? Only happen with some players, others only a few flicks. It happen to me since one week ago when i had to reflash several roms (stock and cm11) with pit and full wipes trying to solve a different issue, and then i came back to my original Rom (TTT, also i9500).

EDIT: i saw your video, yes, same issue, but only when playing videos at full screen. Here a s4 from Latin America.

Enviado desde mi GT-P7510 usando Tapatalk 2
 
Mo Neenja31
Old
#3  
Mo Neenja31's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Dec 2013
Yeah, pretty much. Once I go to full screen then back out of full screen, it fixes itself.
 
Mo Neenja31
Old
#4  
Mo Neenja31's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Dec 2013
Anyone know of a fix?
 
jaswinky
Old
(Last edited by jaswinky; 23rd April 2014 at 03:39 AM.)
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 98
Posts: 609
Join Date: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mo Neenja31 View Post
Anyone know of a fix?
This morning i found a half fix, and now i found another different fix...

Fix #1: (player settings) If your player has the option for software decoding/acceleration instead of hardware decoding, it will fix it. For example, i installed MX Player and at beginning it ask you if you want sw decoding. I pushed no and the issue occurred. Then i went to settings and changed to sw decoding and voilá... Also GPlayer and VLC players have this option (disable hardware acceleration).

Fix #2: (device settings). For all players even hardware decoding enabled (please, check and confirm i am right), android settings, more, developer options (you need to activate this hidden menu), scroll down to hardware-acelerated rendering, check last (turn off hardware overlays must be checked).

Enviado desde mi GT-P7510 usando Tapatalk 2
The Following User Says Thank You to jaswinky For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Mo Neenja31
Old
#6  
Mo Neenja31's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Dec 2013
I tried fix #2 and it seems to be working so far. I'll have to play around with my phone for a little while to see if the problem has been completely remedied.
 
Mo Neenja31
Old
(Last edited by Mo Neenja31; 8th May 2014 at 10:19 PM.)
#7  
Mo Neenja31's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Dec 2013
Alright, the issue seemed to be fixed but a couple days ago I noticed the issue was reoccurring. I went to the settings and noticed the hardware overlays option wasn't checked. I re-checked it and went along with my business. Few days after that, I noticed it was unchecked again


Also, I've been experiencing various apps either taking a long to load or respond which results with me force closing the app with the task manager. I did recently unmount the microSD card and put it back in my GS4 a couple days ago. Could there be a relation?
 
jaswinky
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 98
Posts: 609
Join Date: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mo Neenja31 View Post
Alright, the issue seemed to be fixed but a couple days ago I noticed the issue was reoccurring. I went to the settings and noticed the hardware overlays option wasn't checked. I re-checked it and went along with my business. Few days after that, I noticed it was unchecked again
I also noted that...


Quote:
Originally Posted by Mo Neenja31 View Post
Also, I've been experiencing various apps either taking a long to load or respond which results with me force closing the app with the task manager. I did recently unmount the microSD card and put it back in my GS4 a couple days ago. Could there be a relation?
No, I don't think it could be related. Surely because high CPU usage that moment because one or more processes...

Enviado desde mi GT-P7510 usando Tapatalk 2
The Following User Says Thank You to jaswinky For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Mo Neenja31
Old
#9  
Mo Neenja31's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Dec 2013
Sorry for the huge bump, but I still get these issues from time to time. Is there another way of remedying this without having to check the hardware overlays on all the time?

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...