FORUMS

Index Project For XDA Device Subforums

Another ambitious project from the collaborative efforts of Recognized Contributors and Forum … more

The Atlas of XDA

A few weeks ago, we asked you “How Does Your Location Affect Your Life As A Power User?”. In the days that … more

New Snapdragons: Some Context & Contrast

It hasn’t been a good year for Qualcomm so far. Every device featuring the Snapdragon 810 … more

Google To Launch Next Gen Android One On July 14

The first gen of Android One devices to be launched in India in September 2014 were … more

[Q] Need help with Custom ROM

18 posts
Thanks Meter: 1
 
By Bbychaos, Junior Member on 8th June 2014, 01:04 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
I'm trying to install a custom rom onto my ATT Galaxy S4. I have Safestrap installed and I can boot to the recovery.
I've tried putting BeanStalk on it and it shows the "SafeStrap Enabled" and then shuts off. So then I did some more searching and put ProjectChaos on it. It'll boot to the custom bootlogo that I've chosen and it just stays there. It won't go past that.
I don't exactly know what I'm doing wrong here...
Can anyone give me any insight?
 
 
8th June 2014, 01:12 AM |#2  
Senior Member
Flag Baton Rouge
Thanks Meter: 36
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bbychaos

I'm trying to install a custom rom onto my ATT Galaxy S4. I have Safestrap installed and I can boot to the recovery.
I've tried putting BeanStalk on it and it shows the "SafeStrap Enabled" and then shuts off. So then I did some more searching and put ProjectChaos on it. It'll boot to the custom bootlogo that I've chosen and it just stays there. It won't go past that.
I don't exactly know what I'm doing wrong here...
Can anyone give me any insight?

which firmware are you coming from? Are you flashing the right kernel modules?
The Following User Says Thank You to Thr33-F0ur For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th June 2014, 02:24 AM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thr33-F0ur

which firmware are you coming from? Are you flashing the right kernel modules?

I'm on 4.3 trying to get on 4.4
I'm not completely sure about the kernel. I tried 2 different ones with ProjectChaos
8th June 2014, 03:52 AM |#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 203
 
More
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2680868

Sent from my SGH-I337 running GPE using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to jmjoyas For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th June 2014, 04:09 AM |#5  
haremmon's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag West Coast, US
Thanks Meter: 69
 
More
Check this thread out as well please:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2616221
The Following User Says Thank You to haremmon For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th June 2014, 04:44 AM |#6  
rugmankc's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Dayton, Ohio
Thanks Meter: 1,850
 
More
I don't know about ProjectChaos, but thought Beanstalk was CM based. You can't run CM/AOSP roms. Only TW based with TW kernels--
The Following User Says Thank You to rugmankc For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th June 2014, 05:49 AM |#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 224
 
More
Check out Mapleleaf rom.... it is tw based and runs beautifully with the googy-max kernel....dumb question but you are wiping between rom changes right?
The Following User Says Thank You to Gage_Hero For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th June 2014, 06:26 AM |#8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gage_Hero

Check out Mapleleaf rom.... it is tw based and runs beautifully with the googy-max kernel....dumb question but you are wiping between rom changes right?

Yes I am.

I'll check out the links. I've been busy so I haven't been able to try anything just yet. I'll report back when I get to mess with it
17th June 2014, 03:13 AM |#9  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rugmankc

I don't know about ProjectChaos, but thought Beanstalk was CM based. You can't run CM/AOSP roms. Only TW based with TW kernels--

I am assuming ProjectChaos is TW, I got it installed and it's running nicely.
The only problem I've had thus far (I just got it installed a few hours ago) is when it boots up it says "com.android.phone" has stopped when it boots up.
I had to go back into SS and Fix Permissions and rewipe cache, etc. because I was having a reboot issue. But that solved that.


Thanks for the help everyone!!
The Following User Says Thank You to Bbychaos For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th June 2014, 03:20 AM |#10  
rugmankc's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Dayton, Ohio
Thanks Meter: 1,850
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bbychaos

I am assuming ProjectChaos is TW, I got it installed and it's running nicely.
The only problem I've had thus far (I just got it installed a few hours ago) is when it boots up it says "com.android.phone" has stopped when it boots up.
I had to go back into SS and Fix Permissions and rewipe cache, etc. because I was having a reboot issue. But that solved that.


Thanks for the help everyone!!

Glad you got it.

Sent From My Samsung Galaxy S4
The Following User Says Thank You to rugmankc For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes