Post Reply

[GUIDE] Download Booster Working (Verizon Version)

OP chronicaust

17th June 2014, 04:54 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 87
 
169 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
MODIFIED TO NOW WORK WITH VERIZON.
Confirmed working on Verizon Retail Edition and Dev Edition (no flashing involved, just what is listed here)

OKAY guys I got it working. See screenshots. AND FOLLOW THESE STEPS

Requirements:

Use this services.jar NOT the one from the zip. https://www.dropbox.com/s/3vjq70yfdxrmmj9/services.jar
Root
ES File Explorer (make sure Root Mode is enabled)
v2.1 odex file from this thread http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2719582

YMMV, so I recommend copying these two files from your system folder to somewhere safe (external sd or PC) just in case something goes wrong.

GOOD LUCK!

1. Download/unzip the services.odex file from the zip. Download modified services.jar from here (https://www.dropbox.com/s/3vjq70yfdxrmmj9/services.jar )

2. Copy Both files to the /system root folder
3. Fix all permissions to rw-r-r (3 checks in first column, first check in second, rest blank) DOUBLE CHECK THIS (See Attached)
4. Copy services.JAR from the system root folder to the /system/framework folder, overwrite.
5. Copy services.ODEX from the system root folder to the /system/framework folder, overwrite again.
6. Reboot

Mine took a few minutes to boot up, and reodexed everything "Android is updating apps".
?????
Profit.

CLICK THANKS.

btw HUGE thanks to RevelationOmega for doing the hard part!!

Also thanks to joshw0000 and Joderme for testing/helping me come up with this!

TURNING ON DOWNLOAD BOOSTER

CREATE A SHORTCUT TO ENABLE
1. Download AnyCut from the play store (icon is a mushroom)
2. Open the app, and choose New Shortcut > Activity
3. Find Download Booster
4. This should add a shortcut icon to your Home Screen
5. Use shortcut to turn it on.

TO GET THE QUICKSETTINGS TILE
1. Download SQlite editor (the one in the screenie works best)
2. In apps, find settings storage > settings.db > system
3. Search for notification
4. Find the three labeled Notification_Panel_Active_App_List, notification_panel_default_active_app_list and Notification_Panel_Active_App_List_for_Reset, add it to all of these.
5. Add NetworkBooster; as seen in screenshot attached.
6. Go to Settings > Notification Panel > and press Reset
7. Reboot

TESTING DOWNLOAD BOOSTER
0. Make sure you are connected to WIFI and LTE (Does not work on regular 4G or lower)
1. Open the Play Store
2. Find the app called DCIkonZ (or any app over 30 mb)
3. Install app as normal. You should get a popup as seen in attached and see a toast saying Download Booster enabled...

If you'd like to donate just PM me for PayPal. Hope you enjoy.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	sanaby6a.jpg
Views:	2840
Size:	60.2 KB
ID:	2804088   Click image for larger version

Name:	uvasy7uv.jpg
Views:	2912
Size:	59.8 KB
ID:	2804089   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-06-16-23-01-59.png
Views:	2879
Size:	169.5 KB
ID:	2804090   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-06-16-23-02-58.png
Views:	2790
Size:	206.9 KB
ID:	2804091  
Last edited by chronicaust; 24th June 2014 at 06:49 PM.
The Following 21 Users Say Thank You to chronicaust For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th June 2014, 05:58 AM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
22 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
This bricked my Verizon S5 don't do it...
17th June 2014, 06:04 AM   |  #3  
Dennisg34's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag New Hampshire
Thanks Meter: 319
 
741 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jace300

This bricked my Verizon S5 don't do it...

Thanks that this came up, was in process of getting everything ready now. Will wait til a Verizon person is able to successfully do this with proof of screenshots.
17th June 2014, 06:07 AM   |  #4  
JAYNO20's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 24
 
265 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennisg34

Thanks that this came up, was in process of getting everything ready now. Will wait til a Verizon person is able to successfully do this with proof of screenshots.

Got my hopes up...
17th June 2014, 06:08 AM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
22 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
Yeah don't do this... now my phone is stuck on the Verizon logo.. I don't know how to fix it! :|
17th June 2014, 06:20 AM   |  #6  
Dennisg34's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag New Hampshire
Thanks Meter: 319
 
741 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jace300

Yeah don't do this... now my phone is stuck on the Verizon logo.. I don't know how to fix it! :|

Try this, can't hurt

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2784880
The Following User Says Thank You to Dennisg34 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th June 2014, 06:27 AM   |  #7  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 87
 
169 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
If your phone won't boot, take it to your local Best Buy. The Samsung people have a reflash tool that can fix your phone. Not sure if you guys have a odin image or not just wanted to let you know.

I'm sorry guys. I hoped it would work.
17th June 2014, 06:29 AM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
22 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
Guess I took one for the team... Thank you for the help!
The Following User Says Thank You to Jace300 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th June 2014, 06:33 AM   |  #9  
Dennisg34's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag New Hampshire
Thanks Meter: 319
 
741 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jace300

Guess I took one for the team... Thank you for the help!

Did you try flashing back to stock in Odin? Can't hurt...then just re root
The Following User Says Thank You to Dennisg34 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th June 2014, 06:40 AM   |  #10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
22 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennisg34

Did you try flashing back to stock in Odin? Can't hurt...then just re root

Its flashing as we type.

---------- Post added at 05:40 AM ---------- Previous post was at 05:35 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by chronicaust

If your phone won't boot, take it to your local Best Buy. The Samsung people have a reflash tool that can fix your phone. Not sure if you guys have a odin image or not just wanted to let you know.

I'm sorry guys. I hoped it would work.

Please edit the OP and say it will soft brick on VZW variants... So don't try it

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Verizon Galaxy S 5 General by ThreadRank