Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Tar files for NC1 ?

OP Raz12

16th June 2014, 05:31 AM   |  #1  
Raz12's Avatar
OP Member
Newark
Thanks Meter: 13
 
65 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
More
So Ive been searching for a while now and i seem to find every TAR file to go back to stock for every other firmware except for NC1 Is this because of it being new ?

If i missed it somewhere can someone guide me to it ? I want to root NC1 but i want to have the files to start back at stock just in case another update comes . Thanks
Last edited by Raz12; 16th June 2014 at 05:36 AM. Reason: misspell word
17th June 2014, 04:14 AM   |  #2  
The French Tickl3r's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Montreal
Thanks Meter: 29
 
172 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
More
sammobile

Sent from my GT-I9505 using XDA Premium HD app
17th June 2014, 05:57 AM   |  #3  
Raz12's Avatar
OP Member
Newark
Thanks Meter: 13
 
65 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
More
That doesn't take me to NC1 TAR files to go back to stock
Quote:
Originally Posted by The French Tickl3r

sammobile

Sent from my GT-I9505 using XDA Premium HD app

17th June 2014, 06:20 AM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,985
 
1,404 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raz12

So Ive been searching for a while now and i seem to find every TAR file to go back to stock for every other firmware except for NC1 Is this because of it being new ?

If i missed it somewhere can someone guide me to it ? I want to root NC1 but i want to have the files to start back at stock just in case another update comes . Thanks

The NC1 .tar for the ATT I337 is not available. It was such a small update that a full odin .tar is unlikely.
17th June 2014, 06:24 AM   |  #5  
Raz12's Avatar
OP Member
Newark
Thanks Meter: 13
 
65 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
More
Alright thank you , So if i root it and another update such as 4.4.3 i wouldn't be able to get a OTA update would i ?
Quote:
Originally Posted by muniz_ri

The NC1 .tar for the ATT I337 is not available. It was such a small update that a full odin .tar is unlikely.

17th June 2014, 06:32 AM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,985
 
1,404 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raz12

Alright thank you , So if i root it and another update such as 4.4.3 i wouldn't be able to get a OTA update would i ?

It depends on the update....some OTA updates check every single system file to make certain you are completely stock( including unrooted). Others, like the NC1 update, only check some of the files.

The 4.4.3 update is supposed to be a minor bug fix(no UI changes) and may still flash successfully even if you are rooted but it is almost certain that you will lose root.

I suggest everyone hold off on taking the next ota update until some of us can evaluate it and determine our options (we say this all the time yet very few listen ).
17th June 2014, 06:50 AM   |  #7  
Raz12's Avatar
OP Member
Newark
Thanks Meter: 13
 
65 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
More
Okay so the next update won't be like the Galaxy s5 Kit kat ? No difference in the Touch Wiz ? Just bug issues solved ? & Also so would you root your phone as of right now ? on NC1 If you were on it ?
Quote:
Originally Posted by muniz_ri

It depends on the update....some OTA updates check every single system file to make certain you are completely stock( including unrooted). Others, like the NC1 update, only check some of the files.

The 4.4.3 update is supposed to be a minor bug fix(no UI changes) and may still flash successfully even if you are rooted but it is almost certain that you will lose root.

I suggest everyone hold off on taking the next ota update until some of us can evaluate it and determine our options (we say this all the time yet very few listen ).

17th June 2014, 07:11 AM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,985
 
1,404 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raz12

Okay so the next update won't be like the Galaxy s5 Kit kat ? No difference in the Touch Wiz ? Just bug issues solved ? & Also so would you root your phone as of right now ? on NC1 If you were on it ?

I don't know for certain that we will not get the updated TouchWiz however I highly doubt it.

And I did root my phone with my NC1 100% stock rom and then unrooted once I had it set up the way I like it.

When the next ota comes out I plan on creating a safestrap flashable update zip to test and see if its rootable with towelroot and create a pre-rooted safestrap flashable 100% stock rom as a workaround if its not rootable.
Last edited by muniz_ri; 17th June 2014 at 07:52 AM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes