FORUMS

Nexus & Cookies: A More Focused Direction?

It is that time of the year again, and we are approaching the day where Android fans all over … more

LG G4 US Carrier Release Dates

The LG G4 was announced on April 29th with its Snapdragon 808 SoC, a welcomed change from its higher-end … more

Microsoft Reaches Pre-Install Agreement With New OEMs

As of late, Microsoft has been making a subtle but widespread play into the … more

Discover XDA: Discover Greater

We’ve all been there at some point in our XDA lives; we used to spend hours browsing over the … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] Flash to stock failed with odin

16th June 2014, 10:48 PM |#1  
OP Junior Member
Flag Fremont
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Hey guys. So I've been trying to restore someone's phone back to stock firmware. Their s3 got stuck in a boot loop. So I went found a mk3 one click restore on one of these forums and tried restoring it. Odin reads the phone, and I click start. It goes through the process of restoring but when it goes to get the pit for mapping, it ends and Odin says it failed. I haven't found anybody who has had the same problem as me. I tried using a few different computers and tried flashing another pit but it all failed. Can someone help me out??? Thanks guys!
 
 
16th June 2014, 11:58 PM |#2  
thenameisnigel's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag New York
Thanks Meter: 255
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nick.delaserda

Hey guys. So I've been trying to restore someone's phone back to stock firmware. Their s3 got stuck in a boot loop. So I went found a mk3 one click restore on one of these forums and tried restoring it. Odin reads the phone, and I click start. It goes through the process of restoring but when it goes to get the pit for mapping, it ends and Odin says it failed. I haven't found anybody who has had the same problem as me. I tried using a few different computers and tried flashing another pit but it all failed. Can someone help me out??? Thanks guys!

Was it on the ND8 firmware before? If so, it's permanently bricked and basically useless unfortunately.

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk
17th June 2014, 12:26 AM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Flag Fremont
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by thenameisnigel

Was it on the ND8 firmware before? If so, it's permanently bricked and basically useless unfortunately.

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk

I'm not sure. The customer said that it was in the middle of upgrading and flipped out, and got stuck on the boot loop, so im guessing it was upgrading to ND8
17th June 2014, 12:38 AM |#4  
g_money's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 337
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nick.delaserda

I'm not sure. The customer said that it was in the middle of upgrading and flipped out, and got stuck on the boot loop, so im guessing it was upgrading to ND8

But, youcan get into download mode right? Did you try the nd8 stock tar?

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk 2
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to g_money For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th June 2014, 12:42 AM |#5  
OP Junior Member
Flag Fremont
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by g_money

But, youcan get into download mode right? Did you try the nd8 stock tar?

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk 2

Yeah I can still get into download mode. But no I gave them tried the nd8 stock I've only done the mk3 tar. I'll have to try then when I get home. Lol let you know. Thank you
17th June 2014, 02:30 AM |#6  
Senior Member
Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 59
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nick.delaserda

I'm not sure. The customer said that it was in the middle of upgrading and flipped out, and got stuck on the boot loop, so im guessing it was upgrading to ND8

I would suggest only trying the ND8 from now on. If it has the ND8 bootloader and you try to Odin anything other than ND8 it will hard brick it and there will be no coming back from it.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to vwags For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th June 2014, 06:02 AM |#7  
OP Junior Member
Flag Fremont
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by g_money

But, youcan get into download mode right? Did you try the nd8 stock tar?

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by vwags

I would suggest only trying the ND8 from now on. If it has the ND8 bootloader and you try to Odin anything other than ND8 it will hard brick it and there will be no coming back from it.

thank you guys sooo much!!! flashed with the ND8 tar and worked like a charm!!!
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to nick.delaserda For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th June 2014, 06:19 AM |#8  
g_money's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 337
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nick.delaserda

thank you guys sooo much!!! flashed with the ND8 tar and worked like a charm!!!


Lol. Glad to hear you're up and running....

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk 2
The Following User Says Thank You to g_money For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes