Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,770,105 Members 52,063 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Flash to stock failed with odin

Tip us?
 
nick.delaserda
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 13
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Fremont
Default [Q] Flash to stock failed with odin

Hey guys. So I've been trying to restore someone's phone back to stock firmware. Their s3 got stuck in a boot loop. So I went found a mk3 one click restore on one of these forums and tried restoring it. Odin reads the phone, and I click start. It goes through the process of restoring but when it goes to get the pit for mapping, it ends and Odin says it failed. I haven't found anybody who has had the same problem as me. I tried using a few different computers and tried flashing another pit but it all failed. Can someone help me out??? Thanks guys!
 
thenameisnigel
Old
#2  
thenameisnigel's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 140
Posts: 92
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Seattle

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by nick.delaserda View Post
Hey guys. So I've been trying to restore someone's phone back to stock firmware. Their s3 got stuck in a boot loop. So I went found a mk3 one click restore on one of these forums and tried restoring it. Odin reads the phone, and I click start. It goes through the process of restoring but when it goes to get the pit for mapping, it ends and Odin says it failed. I haven't found anybody who has had the same problem as me. I tried using a few different computers and tried flashing another pit but it all failed. Can someone help me out??? Thanks guys!
Was it on the ND8 firmware before? If so, it's permanently bricked and basically useless unfortunately.

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk
 
nick.delaserda
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 13
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Fremont
Quote:
Originally Posted by thenameisnigel View Post
Was it on the ND8 firmware before? If so, it's permanently bricked and basically useless unfortunately.

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk
I'm not sure. The customer said that it was in the middle of upgrading and flipped out, and got stuck on the boot loop, so im guessing it was upgrading to ND8
 
g_money
Old
#4  
g_money's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 285
Posts: 370
Join Date: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by nick.delaserda View Post
I'm not sure. The customer said that it was in the middle of upgrading and flipped out, and got stuck on the boot loop, so im guessing it was upgrading to ND8
But, youcan get into download mode right? Did you try the nd8 stock tar?

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk 2


I'm just saying....
g_money

PROUD owner of a Sprint Galaxy sIII
(My wife thinks her Note2 is better.
She gets no root access until she apologizes...)
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to g_money For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
nick.delaserda
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 13
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Fremont
Quote:
Originally Posted by g_money View Post
But, youcan get into download mode right? Did you try the nd8 stock tar?

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk 2
Yeah I can still get into download mode. But no I gave them tried the nd8 stock I've only done the mk3 tar. I'll have to try then when I get home. Lol let you know. Thank you
 
vwags
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 59
Posts: 329
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Quote:
Originally Posted by nick.delaserda View Post
I'm not sure. The customer said that it was in the middle of upgrading and flipped out, and got stuck on the boot loop, so im guessing it was upgrading to ND8
I would suggest only trying the ND8 from now on. If it has the ND8 bootloader and you try to Odin anything other than ND8 it will hard brick it and there will be no coming back from it.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to vwags For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
nick.delaserda
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 13
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Fremont
Quote:
Originally Posted by g_money View Post
But, youcan get into download mode right? Did you try the nd8 stock tar?

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by vwags View Post
I would suggest only trying the ND8 from now on. If it has the ND8 bootloader and you try to Odin anything other than ND8 it will hard brick it and there will be no coming back from it.
thank you guys sooo much!!! flashed with the ND8 tar and worked like a charm!!!
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to nick.delaserda For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
g_money
Old
#8  
g_money's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 285
Posts: 370
Join Date: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by nick.delaserda View Post
thank you guys sooo much!!! flashed with the ND8 tar and worked like a charm!!!

Lol. Glad to hear you're up and running....

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk 2


I'm just saying....
g_money

PROUD owner of a Sprint Galaxy sIII
(My wife thinks her Note2 is better.
She gets no root access until she apologizes...)

The Following User Says Thank You to g_money For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes