FORUMS

Time-Lapse with ChronoSnap – XDA App Review

Some of the most interesting pictures are time-lapse animations that capture the … more

XeroAsh Theme for CM12

This theme by XDA Senior Member balrajs99 features a black and slate gray UI that gives your phone a … more

Samsung Galaxy S6 To Receive Major Camera Update

When the Samsung Galaxy S6 and S6 Edge were launched, they became the prime focus for … more

Tactile: An Addicting Game with Beautiful Material Design

The game industry has been around for decades, catering to a wide … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Lock into LTE only Mode?

11th June 2014, 05:21 PM |#1  
ducksauce88's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 90
 
Donate to Me
More
Does anyone know how I could lock into LTE only mode? The phones I am using (T-Mobile & AT&T S5) is not rooted. Nor am I allowed to root it. I've search through all of the debug menus and its seems like I can only lock into certain bands. I havent had any success sending AT commands either....but I am not sure this would still even be capable as I do not know the Qualcomm AT commands to lock into a certain RAT.
 
 
11th June 2014, 05:25 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
Try this: Dial *#*#4636#*#*, look for LTE only option and select that. Hit home to clear out of dialer. Hope this works!

Sent from my GT-N7105 using xda premium
11th June 2014, 05:27 PM |#3  
aooga's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag California
Thanks Meter: 953
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by smooth65

Try this: Dial *#*#4636#*#*, look for LTE only option and select that. Hit home to clear out of dialer. Hope this works!

Sent from my GT-N7105 using xda premium

This works on most phones, but not the S5 for some reason. It must be another code.
11th June 2014, 05:33 PM |#4  
ducksauce88's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 90
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by aooga

This works on most phones, but not the S5 for some reason. It must be another code.

Correct. That code will not work. I have tried that one. I have also looked through the menus of *#197328640# and *#2263#
The Following User Says Thank You to ducksauce88 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th June 2014, 05:39 PM |#5  
aooga's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag California
Thanks Meter: 953
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ducksauce88

Correct. That code will not work. I have tried that one. I have also looked through the menus of *#197328640# and *#2263#

I'll be following this thread. Hopefully someone figures it out. None of the apps on the play store work either since they all pretty much redirect to the *#*#4636*#*# code anyway.

EDIT: Oops..gave you a free thanks. Oh well
The Following User Says Thank You to aooga For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th June 2014, 05:57 PM |#6  
ducksauce88's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 90
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by aooga

I'll be following this thread. Hopefully someone figures it out. None of the apps on the play store work either since they all pretty much redirect to the *#*#4636*#*# code anyway.

EDIT: Oops..gave you a free thanks. Oh well

lol. free thanks returned!
13th June 2014, 03:32 AM |#7  
ducksauce88's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 90
 
Donate to Me
More
Ok, so I figured it out. If you dial *#2263# and select "LTE Band Preference" it will lock it into LTE only (I am using an unlocked T-Mobile phone, not sure if that makes a difference). I have confirmed this via AT Commands. I have a new question. I have queried what bands can be selected. Does anyone know which one would be for LTE Band 17? What is "41.WLAN_US_5000"...

at$QCbandpref?
$QCBANDPREF:
"1.BC0_A"
"2.BC0_B"
"3.BC0"
"4.BC1"
"5.BC3"
"6.BC4"
"7.BC5"
"8.GSM_DCS_1800"
"9.GSM_EGSM_900"
"10.GSM_PGSM_900"
"11.BC6"
"12.BC7"
"13.BC8"
"14.BC9"
"15.BC10"
"16.BC11"
"17.BC12"
"18.BC14"
"19.BC15"
"20.BC16
"21.GSM_450"
"22.GSM_480"
"23.GSM_750"
"24.GSM_850"
"25.GSM_RGSM_900"
"26.GSM_PCS_1900"
"27.WCDMA_I_IMT_2000"
"28.WCDMA_II_PCS_1900"
"29.WCDMA_III_1700 "
"30.WCDMA_IV_1700"
"31.WCDMA_V_850"
"32.WCDMA_VI_800 "
"33.WCDMA_VII_2600"
"34.WCDMA_VIII_900"
"35.WCDMA_IX_1700"
"36.WLAN_US_2400 "
"37.WLAN_JAPAN_2400"
"38.WLAN_EUROPE_2400"
"39.WLAN_SPAIN_2400"
"40.WLAN_FRANCE_2400 "
"41.WLAN_US_5000"
"42.WLAN_JAPAN_5000"
"43.WLAN_EUROPE_5000"
"44.WLAN_SPAIN_5000"
"45.WLAN_FRANCE_5000 "
"46.Any"



OK
The Following User Says Thank You to ducksauce88 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th June 2014, 10:43 PM |#8  
elesbb's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4,675
 
Donate to Me
More
If anyone is interested, and using xposed, I created an xposed module that allows you to have a widget on your homescreen which easily enables you to change the network mode of choice.
The Following User Says Thank You to elesbb For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th June 2014, 08:45 AM |#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 36
 
More
41.WLAN_US_5000 -- that is 5Ghz Wifi (802.11ac/n)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ducksauce88

Ok, so I figured it out. If you dial *#2263# and select "LTE Band Preference" it will lock it into LTE only (I am using an unlocked T-Mobile phone, not sure if that makes a difference). I have confirmed this via AT Commands. I have a new question. I have queried what bands can be selected. Does anyone know which one would be for LTE Band 17? What is "41.WLAN_US_5000"...

at$QCbandpref?
$QCBANDPREF:
"1.BC0_A"
"2.BC0_B"
"3.BC0"
"4.BC1"
"5.BC3"
"6.BC4"
"7.BC5"
"8.GSM_DCS_1800"
"9.GSM_EGSM_900"
"10.GSM_PGSM_900"
"11.BC6"
"12.BC7"
"13.BC8"
"14.BC9"
"15.BC10"
"16.BC11"
"17.BC12"
"18.BC14"
"19.BC15"
"20.BC16
"21.GSM_450"
"22.GSM_480"
"23.GSM_750"
"24.GSM_850"
"25.GSM_RGSM_900"
"26.GSM_PCS_1900"
"27.WCDMA_I_IMT_2000"
"28.WCDMA_II_PCS_1900"
"29.WCDMA_III_1700 "
"30.WCDMA_IV_1700"
"31.WCDMA_V_850"
"32.WCDMA_VI_800 "
"33.WCDMA_VII_2600"
"34.WCDMA_VIII_900"
"35.WCDMA_IX_1700"
"36.WLAN_US_2400 "
"37.WLAN_JAPAN_2400"
"38.WLAN_EUROPE_2400"
"39.WLAN_SPAIN_2400"
"40.WLAN_FRANCE_2400 "
"41.WLAN_US_5000"
"42.WLAN_JAPAN_5000"
"43.WLAN_EUROPE_5000"
"44.WLAN_SPAIN_5000"
"45.WLAN_FRANCE_5000 "
"46.Any"



OK

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in T-Mobile Galaxy S 5 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank