Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Lock into LTE only Mode?

OP ducksauce88

11th June 2014, 06:21 PM   |  #1  
ducksauce88's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 62
 
157 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Donate to Me
Does anyone know how I could lock into LTE only mode? The phones I am using (T-Mobile & AT&T S5) is not rooted. Nor am I allowed to root it. I've search through all of the debug menus and its seems like I can only lock into certain bands. I havent had any success sending AT commands either....but I am not sure this would still even be capable as I do not know the Qualcomm AT commands to lock into a certain RAT.
11th June 2014, 06:25 PM   |  #2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
91 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
Try this: Dial *#*#4636#*#*, look for LTE only option and select that. Hit home to clear out of dialer. Hope this works!

Sent from my GT-N7105 using xda premium
11th June 2014, 06:27 PM   |  #3  
aooga's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag California
Thanks Meter: 930
 
3,138 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by smooth65

Try this: Dial *#*#4636#*#*, look for LTE only option and select that. Hit home to clear out of dialer. Hope this works!

Sent from my GT-N7105 using xda premium

This works on most phones, but not the S5 for some reason. It must be another code.
11th June 2014, 06:33 PM   |  #4  
ducksauce88's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 62
 
157 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by aooga

This works on most phones, but not the S5 for some reason. It must be another code.

Correct. That code will not work. I have tried that one. I have also looked through the menus of *#197328640# and *#2263#
The Following User Says Thank You to ducksauce88 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th June 2014, 06:39 PM   |  #5  
aooga's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag California
Thanks Meter: 930
 
3,138 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ducksauce88

Correct. That code will not work. I have tried that one. I have also looked through the menus of *#197328640# and *#2263#

I'll be following this thread. Hopefully someone figures it out. None of the apps on the play store work either since they all pretty much redirect to the *#*#4636*#*# code anyway.

EDIT: Oops..gave you a free thanks. Oh well
The Following User Says Thank You to aooga For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th June 2014, 06:57 PM   |  #6  
ducksauce88's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 62
 
157 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by aooga

I'll be following this thread. Hopefully someone figures it out. None of the apps on the play store work either since they all pretty much redirect to the *#*#4636*#*# code anyway.

EDIT: Oops..gave you a free thanks. Oh well

lol. free thanks returned!
13th June 2014, 04:32 AM   |  #7  
ducksauce88's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 62
 
157 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Donate to Me
Ok, so I figured it out. If you dial *#2263# and select "LTE Band Preference" it will lock it into LTE only (I am using an unlocked T-Mobile phone, not sure if that makes a difference). I have confirmed this via AT Commands. I have a new question. I have queried what bands can be selected. Does anyone know which one would be for LTE Band 17? What is "41.WLAN_US_5000"...

at$QCbandpref?
$QCBANDPREF:
"1.BC0_A"
"2.BC0_B"
"3.BC0"
"4.BC1"
"5.BC3"
"6.BC4"
"7.BC5"
"8.GSM_DCS_1800"
"9.GSM_EGSM_900"
"10.GSM_PGSM_900"
"11.BC6"
"12.BC7"
"13.BC8"
"14.BC9"
"15.BC10"
"16.BC11"
"17.BC12"
"18.BC14"
"19.BC15"
"20.BC16
"21.GSM_450"
"22.GSM_480"
"23.GSM_750"
"24.GSM_850"
"25.GSM_RGSM_900"
"26.GSM_PCS_1900"
"27.WCDMA_I_IMT_2000"
"28.WCDMA_II_PCS_1900"
"29.WCDMA_III_1700 "
"30.WCDMA_IV_1700"
"31.WCDMA_V_850"
"32.WCDMA_VI_800 "
"33.WCDMA_VII_2600"
"34.WCDMA_VIII_900"
"35.WCDMA_IX_1700"
"36.WLAN_US_2400 "
"37.WLAN_JAPAN_2400"
"38.WLAN_EUROPE_2400"
"39.WLAN_SPAIN_2400"
"40.WLAN_FRANCE_2400 "
"41.WLAN_US_5000"
"42.WLAN_JAPAN_5000"
"43.WLAN_EUROPE_5000"
"44.WLAN_SPAIN_5000"
"45.WLAN_FRANCE_5000 "
"46.Any"



OK
The Following User Says Thank You to ducksauce88 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th June 2014, 11:43 PM   |  #8  
elesbb's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4,441
 
6,900 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Donate to Me
More
If anyone is interested, and using xposed, I created an xposed module that allows you to have a widget on your homescreen which easily enables you to change the network mode of choice.
The Following User Says Thank You to elesbb For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th June 2014, 09:45 AM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 36
 
372 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
41.WLAN_US_5000 -- that is 5Ghz Wifi (802.11ac/n)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ducksauce88

Ok, so I figured it out. If you dial *#2263# and select "LTE Band Preference" it will lock it into LTE only (I am using an unlocked T-Mobile phone, not sure if that makes a difference). I have confirmed this via AT Commands. I have a new question. I have queried what bands can be selected. Does anyone know which one would be for LTE Band 17? What is "41.WLAN_US_5000"...

at$QCbandpref?
$QCBANDPREF:
"1.BC0_A"
"2.BC0_B"
"3.BC0"
"4.BC1"
"5.BC3"
"6.BC4"
"7.BC5"
"8.GSM_DCS_1800"
"9.GSM_EGSM_900"
"10.GSM_PGSM_900"
"11.BC6"
"12.BC7"
"13.BC8"
"14.BC9"
"15.BC10"
"16.BC11"
"17.BC12"
"18.BC14"
"19.BC15"
"20.BC16
"21.GSM_450"
"22.GSM_480"
"23.GSM_750"
"24.GSM_850"
"25.GSM_RGSM_900"
"26.GSM_PCS_1900"
"27.WCDMA_I_IMT_2000"
"28.WCDMA_II_PCS_1900"
"29.WCDMA_III_1700 "
"30.WCDMA_IV_1700"
"31.WCDMA_V_850"
"32.WCDMA_VI_800 "
"33.WCDMA_VII_2600"
"34.WCDMA_VIII_900"
"35.WCDMA_IX_1700"
"36.WLAN_US_2400 "
"37.WLAN_JAPAN_2400"
"38.WLAN_EUROPE_2400"
"39.WLAN_SPAIN_2400"
"40.WLAN_FRANCE_2400 "
"41.WLAN_US_5000"
"42.WLAN_JAPAN_5000"
"43.WLAN_EUROPE_5000"
"44.WLAN_SPAIN_5000"
"45.WLAN_FRANCE_5000 "
"46.Any"



OK


Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes