FORUMS

Samsung Galaxy Alpha (SM-G850) Gets Android 5.0

An Android 5.0 Lollipop update is finally available to download for the Samsung Galaxy … more

Do You Use 4:3 or 16:9 in the Camera App?

Every person has their own method of taking the best photos on their devices, but which aspect … more

LG G4 XDA Forum Opened

LG’s latest & greatest is just a few hours away from launching, and with so many power users that are … more

Android Wear Close to Running on Samsung Gear 2

Android is an OS that can sometimes be ported to run on devices not designed to … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] Only boots to bootloader or recovery, no fastboot

16th June 2014, 01:05 AM |#1  
xpurtwitness's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 21
 
More
Hi guys. I recently flashed a boot image via the Flashify app, which had worked in the past. After it flashed, I chose to reboot. Now my phone boots to the bootloader. I can't get fastboot to recognize my device on any PC (which is why I was trying another hboot). I can boot into recovery (cwm touch for now) but restoring roms etc. fails due to "no files found". ADB detects the phone in recovery. Can I repair my phone via adb without fastboot? I had a recent cwm and titanium backup on my sd card.
 
 
16th June 2014, 03:23 AM |#2  
alray's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,911
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by xpurtwitness

Hi guys. I recently flashed a boot image via the Flashify app, which had worked in the past. After it flashed, I chose to reboot. Now my phone boots to the bootloader. I can't get fastboot to recognize my device on any PC (which is why I was trying another hboot). I can boot into recovery (cwm touch for now) but restoring roms etc. fails due to "no files found". ADB detects the phone in recovery. Can I repair my phone via adb without fastboot? I had a recent cwm and titanium backup on my sd card.

are those computers all windows 8? There some issue with windows 8 and fastboot. better to use 7, linux or mac.

you can restore a backup or install a rom using adb, no need to use fastboot (except for recovery, RUU and firmware flashing)

you can transfer a rom to your sdcard using adb from custom recovery:

Code:
adb push name_of_rom.zip /sdcard/
I recommend you to use twrp 2.6.3.3 instead of cwm (required for arhd rom i.e) when you get fastboot working again.
16th June 2014, 08:00 AM |#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by alray

are those computers all windows 8? There some issue with windows 8 and fastboot. better to use 7, linux or mac.

you can restore a backup or install a rom using adb, no need to use fastboot (except for recovery, RUU and firmware flashing)

you can transfer a rom to your sdcard using adb from custom recovery:

Code:
adb push name_of_rom.zip /sdcard/
I recommend you to use twrp 2.6.3.3 instead of cwm (required for arhd rom i.e) when you get fastboot working again.


I am stuck in the same boat - I can't use fastboot., but I need it to flash a new recovery before updating to cm11. I don't have access to any Win7 computers to use, only have Win8.1. Are there updated drivers for the HTC One yet? Or any way to get fastboot working properly on Win8.1?
16th June 2014, 08:42 AM |#4  
alray's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,911
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Artemicion

I am stuck in the same boat - I can't use fastboot., but I need it to flash a new recovery before updating to cm11. I don't have access to any Win7 computers to use, only have Win8.1. Are there updated drivers for the HTC One yet? Or any way to get fastboot working properly on Win8.1?

windows 8.1 doesnt work with early hboot version like 1.44 and if irc 1.54.

if you can't access another computer, use a live cd of ubuntu 12.04 32bit (no installation required, only boot from the disc or from a bootalb usb drive) and use fastboot from there.
16th June 2014, 08:46 AM |#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by alray

windows 8.1 doesnt work with early hboot version like 1.44 and if irc 1.54.

if you can't access another computer, use a live cd of ubuntu 12.04 32bit (no installation required, only boot from the disc or from a bootalb usb drive) and use fastboot from there.


So is it possible to upgrade my hboot to 1.55 (currently 1.54)?

EDIT: Ok, actually, examining things, it looks like this should work:
a) Go to Ubuntu for fastboot, flash new recovery
b) Back to windows, into recovery, wipe everything, push ROM over using adb, clean install of cm11
c) new cm ROM will include updated hboot so fastboot will now work in Win8.1

....that seem logical/like it should work to you? Thanks
Last edited by Artemicion; 16th June 2014 at 08:52 AM.
16th June 2014, 09:23 AM |#6  
alray's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,911
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Artemicion

So is it possible to upgrade my hboot to 1.55 (currently 1.54)?

yes, via fastboot

Quote:

EDIT: Ok, actually, examining things, it looks like this should work:
a) Go to Ubuntu for fastboot, flash new recovery
b) Back to windows, into recovery, wipe everything, push ROM over using adb, clean install of cm11
c) new cm ROM will include updated hboot so fastboot will now work in Win8.1

....that seem logical/like it should work to you? Thank

yes except c)

a rom doesn't update firmware so hboot will not be updated by flashing a custom rom. If you want to update hboot you must do it via an ota update, a complete ruu install (higher version) or manually flashing the firmware using fastboot. with s-on, you must use signed firmware only (the correct version for your device) and you bootloader must be locked or re-locked to flash it (s-on)
16th June 2014, 10:12 AM |#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by alray

yes, via fastboot



yes except c)

a rom doesn't update firmware so hboot will not be updated by flashing a custom rom. If you want to update hboot you must do it via an ota update, a complete ruu install (higher version) or manually flashing the firmware using fastboot. with s-on, you must use signed firmware only (the correct version for your device) and you bootloader must be locked or re-locked to flash it (s-on)


Wow, ok, I think that sounds like far too much effort to just update my phone. Guess I'll use the ubuntu fastboot trick once, then just hope I never need to flash anything from fastboot again on this phone. Why is it always such an effort with these damn things? Thanks for the help, won't have a chance to try this for a couple of days but doubtless I'll be back with some other failed horror scenario then.
16th June 2014, 01:33 PM |#8  
xpurtwitness's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 21
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by alray

are those computers all windows 8? There some issue with windows 8 and fastboot. better to use 7, linux or mac.

you can restore a backup or install a rom using adb, no need to use fastboot (except for recovery, RUU and firmware flashing)

you can transfer a rom to your sdcard using adb from custom recovery:

Code:
adb push name_of_rom.zip /sdcard/
I recommend you to use twrp 2.6.3.3 instead of cwm (required for arhd rom i.e) when you get fastboot working again.

Yeah, that's pretty much the extent of what I knew, but I really appreciate your response. I did manage to get my old Win7 laptop running and with some effort got all the drivers working. I used htc1guru reset, but sadly I did lose the entire contents of my SD, despite its message that nothing would be touched. :-/ Luckily, most photos were auto-backed up by G+ and it's just a few settings and such that I can't get back or figure out. Least of my concerns after having a functional phone!
17th June 2014, 11:59 AM |#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by alray

yes, via fastboot



yes except c)

a rom doesn't update firmware so hboot will not be updated by flashing a custom rom. If you want to update hboot you must do it via an ota update, a complete ruu install (higher version) or manually flashing the firmware using fastboot. with s-on, you must use signed firmware only (the correct version for your device) and you bootloader must be locked or re-locked to flash it (s-on)


Hey, so I'm trying to do this, have got linux up and running and fastboot recognizes the phone, but I couldn't flash the recovery image as the terminal couldn't see it. What location does it need to be in within linux? I put it on the root of the usb drive and it wouldn't work from there...
17th June 2014, 12:50 PM |#10  
alray's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,911
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Artemicion

Hey, so I'm trying to do this, have got linux up and running and fastboot recognizes the phone, but I couldn't flash the recovery image as the terminal couldn't see it. What location does it need to be in within linux? I put it on the root of the usb drive and it wouldn't work from there...

the answer is always the same, in the same folder you have adb in.

so in ubuntu it should be androidsdk/platform-tools/
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes