New Forums Created for Windows 10 Development

Microsoft, looking to be a player in the game of giants with their recent announcement of … more

T-Mobile Expands Its LTE Network

T-Mobile US has announced moreLTE network expansion. The carrierwill provide asignal for the700 MHz band, … more

Kernel Source Available for HTC One M8

HTC pushed the Lollipop-based Sense update to the developer edition of the HTC One M8 just a couple … more

Asus Hints at Upcoming Week-long Battery Smartwatch

Asus hinted that their next smartwatch, succesor to the elegant ZenWatch, could feature … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Galaxy S3 bad Board can I replace with Bad IMEI board

OP blainville10

16th June 2014, 12:48 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
HI,

I have a S3 with a good IMEI but need to change the board due to bad signal. I have tried everything reflashing checking my imei everything is ok. Can I buy a bad imei unlocked board and change the imei on it to my imei number.
16th June 2014, 06:40 PM   |  #2  
BWolf56's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Outaouais
Thanks Meter: 1,710
 
3,911 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by blainville10

HI,

I have a S3 with a good IMEI but need to change the board due to bad signal. I have tried everything reflashing checking my imei everything is ok. Can I buy a bad imei unlocked board and change the imei on it to my imei number.

Have you tried flashing a different modem?
16th June 2014, 06:50 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
I would think I'd just need to flash my backup nv file that a backed up. But I've heard that the old imei may come back after a while.
16th June 2014, 06:54 PM   |  #4  
BWolf56's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Outaouais
Thanks Meter: 1,710
 
3,911 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by blainville10

I would think I'd just need to flash my backup nv file that a backed up. But I've heard that the old imei may come back after a while.

You didn't answer my question. Flashing a modem might save you all this trouble.

As for playing with IMEI, it's never a good idea and guides are being removed everywhere due to being illegal in some places.
16th June 2014, 07:03 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
Flash you mean with a jtag or flash like installing a rom with a program. Ive flashed roms through usb and I would know how to flash my nv file on another board
16th June 2014, 07:14 PM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
well if I cant change the imei forget it than
16th June 2014, 09:08 PM   |  #7  
BWolf56's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Outaouais
Thanks Meter: 1,710
 
3,911 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by blainville10

Flash you mean with a jtag or flash like installing a rom with a program. Ive flashed roms through usb and I would know how to flash my nv file on another board

Quote:
Originally Posted by blainville10

well if I cant change the imei forget it than

By flash, I mean in recovery mode. I suggest you start reading on how to do it.

Changing the IMEI is possible but will be hard to find a good guide on how to do it.
16th June 2014, 10:47 PM   |  #8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by BWolf56

By flash, I mean in recovery mode. I suggest you start reading on how to do it.

Changing the IMEI is possible but will be hard to find a good guide on how to do it.

I have flashed custom roms in recovery mode but still doesnt solve my problem. What are you suggesting I should flash in recovery mode. Maybe a link
Last edited by blainville10; 16th June 2014 at 10:54 PM.
17th June 2014, 01:49 PM   |  #9  
BWolf56's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Outaouais
Thanks Meter: 1,710
 
3,911 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by blainville10

I have flashed custom roms in recovery mode but still doesnt solve my problem. What are you suggesting I should flash in recovery mode. Maybe a link

Searching is cool

Directly from the stickied: [MODEM] Complete Modem List for both I747U & I747M
17th June 2014, 02:20 PM   |  #10  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by BWolf56

Searching is cool

Directly from the stickied: [MODEM] Complete Modem List for both I747U & I747M


I had done that lol and didn't work. I did solve my problem though. I read nv file from another board with nv-reader-writer and replaced imei with mine and works. I guess the nv file was corrupt.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes