Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,732,550 Members 51,477 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Oops! Pocket and Titanium Backup DON'T Mix

Tip us?
 
beeglej
Old
(Last edited by beeglej; 17th June 2014 at 02:10 AM.)
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: May 2007
Default Oops! Pocket and Titanium Backup DON'T Mix

To start I broke my holster this morning. So I put my phone in my pocket like everyone would do. I apparently didn't lock the phone first. (This of course being just after I rooted and installed some Root features such as Titanium Backup) This led to only God knows, my phone opening many apps including TiB and settings. Somehow google account syncing stopped working. I read some suggestions and tried them all including a factory reset. After the reset nothing changed now except I had a phone that had no contacts or anything else tied to google. I retried editing the hosts file in /etc. I cannot edit it with Root Browser, Root Explorer, or even after using another program called mount r/w r/o. I did another stupid thing by deleting the host file in an attempt to replace it with another I created. Only good news is now the google account will get past the screen that says i don't have a reliable connection to the server. Still cannot access the play store but I do now have calendar, contacts, and a few other things. Any ideas how I could write to /etc


Sincerely,

My stupid self.

P.S.
I already ordered another holster.


EDIT: I factory reset once more and play store started working. I did root again and the host file is still deleted.
 
raynan
Old
#2  
raynan's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 109
Posts: 347
Join Date: Jan 2011
If you're not worried about your apps and data, you could always ODIN back to stock and start over. It may not be the best way to go, but its definitely the easiest...I already did it 3 times since the root came out XD
 
beeglej
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: May 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by raynan View Post
If you're not worried about your apps and data, you could always ODIN back to stock and start over. It may not be the best way to go, but its definitely the easiest...I already did it 3 times since the root came out XD
I read if you have the OTA version you can't ODIN back since the newer firmware is not out. I didn't get to the phone in time when it OTA'd. I will probably do that when the newer firmware is out. I am not anywhere close to a dev. So if I am way off base correct me its the only way I learn.
 
norbarb
Old
#4  
norbarb's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 718
Posts: 1,393
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Crest Hill

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by beeglej View Post
I read if you have the OTA version you can't ODIN back since the newer firmware is not out. I didn't get to the phone in time when it OTA'd. I will probably do that when the newer firmware is out. I am not anywhere close to a dev. So if I am way off base correct me its the only way I learn.
Yes you can : http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=53454972

Swiping from dark side of Galaxy S5.
The Following User Says Thank You to norbarb For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes