Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,809,019 Members 55,299 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Battery terminals question.

Tip us?
 
Whiz91
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Jun 2014
Default [Q] Battery terminals question.

So i have gotten a nasty bootloop problem and i am pretty sure it's because of a faulty battery. I am planning on ordering a new one on ebay but the problem i have is that the battery only have 3 terminals while my phone has 4 connectors and the battery has 4 terminals.

So what i am basicly is asking is will a 3 terminal battery work on a 4 connector phone ?

Thanks.
 
tys0n
Old
#2  
tys0n's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1,244
Posts: 1,982
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Stockholm
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whiz91 View Post
So i have gotten a nasty bootloop problem and i am pretty sure it's because of a faulty battery. I am planning on ordering a new one on ebay but the problem i have is that the battery only have 3 terminals while my phone has 4 connectors and the battery has 4 terminals.

So what i am basicly is asking is will a 3 terminal battery work on a 4 connector phone ?

Thanks.
Four connectors is because of the NFC chip inside of battery. Three connectors probably works fine but you'll lose NFC.
Google product nr written on battery. There must be someone who have them, otherwise contact Samsung and ask them.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to tys0n For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
qasim799
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 183
Join Date: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whiz91 View Post
So i have gotten a nasty bootloop problem and i am pretty sure it's because of a faulty battery. I am planning on ordering a new one on ebay but the problem i have is that the battery only have 3 terminals while my phone has 4 connectors and the battery has 4 terminals.

So what i am basicly is asking is will a 3 terminal battery work on a 4 connector phone ?

Thanks.
Bro bootloop never occurs due any battery or hardware faults you have to flash the firmware and perform factory reset.
 
shervinkh
Old
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 19
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Tehran
my s3 mini got into a boot loop once i flashed stock firmware after a custom rom, fixed with wiping data.
 
koragg97
Old
#5  
koragg97's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 132
Posts: 608
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Sofia
Quote:
Originally Posted by qasim799 View Post
Bro bootloop never occurs due any battery or hardware faults you have to flash the firmware and perform factory reset.
Wrong. Last October I had random reboots and bootloops and then the battery would say 0%, but when I connect a charger it showed correct % (not 0, obviosly). Got a new battery and all is working fine
Device : Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini (GT-I8190)
ROM : ^S5style_i8190XXANC2_v4^ (by @Galaxy Mini)
Recovery : TWRP 2.7.1.3 (by @Android-Andi)
Kernel : Stock ANF3 3.0.31-1550178
Baseband : I8190XXANF3
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes