Sony Updates AOSP Sources to Android 5.0.1

Just a few days ago, Sony did an utterly fantastic job by pushing out numerous device trees for … more

Stop Your Screen From Turning Off with KeepItOn

We all know the feeling of reading a news article orrather longdocument, when our screen … more

The XDA LG QPair Developer Challenge Voting Has Begun!

It seems like it was just yesterday that weannounced that we had paired up with LGto … more

Major Update for the Sony Smartwatch 2 Brings DND and More

With the wearables landscape now dominated by Android Wear and Pebble, its … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Geohot's towelroot, what to do next?

OP mrhomiec

17th June 2014, 05:16 PM   |  #1  
mrhomiec's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 53
 
278 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Source:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2783157

so i just tried this out. went a lot smoother than i expected. but now i'm kinda scared to do anything else/further.

i was already "rooted" from following this guide:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2663545

am i now able to use ROM Manager or Goo Manager and install custom recoveries?

has anyone already done so and flashed an AOSP-based ROM?

edit: just read over in the General Discussion area...
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2783335

i guess i didn't have to use this method since i was already rooted. but still only able to use SafeStrap Recovery. and still only able to flash TW-based ROMs.

does this root method allow for hopefully access to unlocked bootloaders though?
Last edited by mrhomiec; 17th June 2014 at 05:38 PM.
17th June 2014, 05:56 PM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
16 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
I just used this method as well and it seemed to work. It at least was marked as root in Titanium Backup, which is what I used to remove the bloat apps.

Btw I am on the I337M.

I've been having a lot of terrible reception on this phone, mobile network constantly dropping. My original I337 was fantastic (RIP). Maybe I should try a new modem?
17th June 2014, 06:05 PM   |  #3  
mrhomiec's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 53
 
278 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by AkiriXx

I've been having a lot of terrible reception on this phone, mobile network constantly dropping. My original I337 was fantastic (RIP). Maybe I should try a new modem?

can modems even be flashed in SafeStrap? i'm so new to this kind of custom recovery. i don't want to flash anything in there.
17th June 2014, 06:16 PM   |  #4  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Minnetonka, MN
Thanks Meter: 3,934
 
11,250 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrhomiec

can modems even be flashed in SafeStrap? i'm so new to this kind of custom recovery. i don't want to flash anything in there.

You can not use rom our goo manager. Safestrap is still the only recovery you can use

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app

---------- Post added at 11:16 AM ---------- Previous post was at 11:10 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by jd1639

You can not use rom our goo manager. Safestrap is still the only recovery you can use

Edit, modems can be flashed in ss

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app



Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app
17th June 2014, 07:45 PM   |  #5  
mrhomiec's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 53
 
278 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jd1639

You can not use rom our goo manager. Safestrap is still the only recovery you can use

Edit, modems can be flashed in ss

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app

i did not know SafeStrap could flash modems.

and i don't know why i thought root = unlocked bootloader. i should definitely have known better. here's hoping to unlocked bootloader soon though!
17th June 2014, 10:28 PM   |  #6  
RockRatt's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 3,653
 
3,987 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrhomiec

i did not know SafeStrap could flash modems.

and i don't know why i thought root = unlocked bootloader. i should definitely have known better. here's hoping to unlocked bootloader soon though!

Safestrap can flash modems and Touchwiz based Roms. It CANNOT flash kernels. You can check out my modem thread there is some notes about how to flash modems with safestrap.

Root does not equal unlocked bootloader. Even on the first ATT S4's that use the Loki bootloader bypass the locked bootloader is still locked. It is just bypassed and allows for real recoveries that are able to flash ANYTHING.

Sent From My Spiderman,Ironman,Red,Dark Blue,Green, GreyedOut BadAss Themed I337
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes