Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] KNOX 0x2 ? ( checked again - 0x1 (2) )

OP TG2008

16th June 2014, 07:37 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
83 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
*********************
EDIT: I'm an idiot
Got home and looked again... "KNOX WARRANTY VOID: 0x1 (2)"
*********************






Hey all,

So I rooted my P607T and I now have the KNOX:0x2 ?

Could someone please provide info on it... I can't see any reference to 0x2 vs 0x1.

Thanks.

I'll add that everything appears to be working fine. Rooted. All appears good.
Last edited by TG2008; 17th June 2014 at 03:22 AM. Reason: I'm an idiot
16th June 2014, 08:11 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 78
 
451 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
Did you use 'towelroot' by Geohut?

Sent from my SM-P605 using xda app-developers app
16th June 2014, 08:30 PM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
83 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by shayind4

Did you use 'towelroot' by Geohut?

Sent from my SM-P605 using xda app-developers app


Negative: I used the method shown in post#39 below:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...2770940&page=4


I used Odin-3.0.9 for the above process, and also re-flashed to the stock-firmware (E2 ROM located at SAMobile), and everything appears normal, except for the 0x2 obviously.


I just wanted to know why 0x2 versus 0x1 that I believe should be displayed.


Thanks.



(Brutal, I just saw the 'towelroot' thread... dammit. I wish I had seen that last night when I did my rooting. I'd have tried it, instead.)
Last edited by TG2008; 16th June 2014 at 08:35 PM.
16th June 2014, 09:36 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 78
 
451 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
Sorry. Towelroot was released yesterday, and I alerted guys on P605 thread. No idea about Knox 0x2.

Sent from my SM-P605 using xda app-developers app
17th June 2014, 10:31 PM   |  #5  
Member
Flag Bronx, Ny
Thanks Meter: 5
 
33 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by TG2008

*********************
EDIT: I'm an idiot
Got home and looked again... "KNOX WARRANTY VOID: 0x1 (2)"
*********************

It appears that you tripped the fuse twice. Thus, 0x1 (2)

The method you used was sure to do do so.

Towelroot released by GeoHot, on the other hand, was able to root my 607T without tripping Knox.

Also - important.. There is no generic tablet 'functionality' loss by tripping Knox. For those of us whom intend to use Knox in an Enterprise setting, this Bit is important. But otherwise, the tab should work as intended, without the Knox features now that you have tripped the counter.

Hth.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes