FORUMS

Which OEM Would You Like to Help?

Most manufacturers have moments of greatness and moments of decadence, and in the past few years … more

Root T-Mobile S6/Edge on 5.1.1 Without Tripping Knox

If you purchase phones from a carrier, you may be no stranger to the difficulties … more

IonVR Coming Soon, HTC M9 Dev Edition Gets Android 5.1 – XDA TV

The HTC M9 Developer Edition has received Android 5.1. That and … more

Android 5.1.1 Omni ROM For Motorola Xoom

Back in Feb 2011, the Motorola Xoom became the first device to be sold with Android 3.0 … more

[Q] Trouble swapping SD cards on Lumia 520

1,022 posts
Thanks Meter: 50
 
By lohtse, Senior Member on 14th June 2014, 03:44 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Recently been issued Lumia 520s at work but only had 2gig sdcards in..

Have played around with it and moved apps to sdcard etc.

Now I copied everything including the hidden folders to an 8gig sdcard and swapped over to in on the 520... Everything seems ok but all apps moved to sdcard now say they are unavailable!!!! Any ideas what am doing wrong and how to over come the issue?

Regards
Lohtse
 
 
15th June 2014, 07:37 AM |#2  
ceesheim's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag No Android Fanboys Please !!!
Thanks Meter: 2,232
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lohtse

Recently been issued Lumia 520s at work but only had 2gig sdcards in..

Have played around with it and moved apps to sdcard etc.

Now I copied everything including the hidden folders to an 8gig sdcard and swapped over to in on the 520... Everything seems ok but all apps moved to sdcard now say they are unavailable!!!! Any ideas what am doing wrong and how to over come the issue?

Regards
Lohtse

you need to reinstall them again because you can't swap app's from one sd card to another. (its encrypted with the sd card ID )
so just reinstall your app's and all is ok.
15th June 2014, 05:59 PM |#3  
lohtse's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Where ever they send Me!!
Thanks Meter: 50
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ceesheim

you need to reinstall them again because you can't swap app's from one sd card to another. (its encrypted with the sd card ID )
so just reinstall your app's and all is ok.

thats flippin stupid!!!!!!

and I can't even reinstall as there's no option as it says that is one the sdcard even though its unavailable..


any ideas how to over come this?
15th June 2014, 06:00 PM |#4  
lohtse's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Where ever they send Me!!
Thanks Meter: 50
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ceesheim

you need to reinstall them again because you can't swap app's from one sd card to another. (its encrypted with the sd card ID )
so just reinstall your app's and all is ok.

thats flippin stupid!!!!!!

and I can't even reinstall as there's no option as it says that is on the sdcard even though its unavailable..


any ideas how to over come this?
16th June 2014, 08:21 AM |#5  
ceesheim's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag No Android Fanboys Please !!!
Thanks Meter: 2,232
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lohtse

thats flippin stupid!!!!!!

and I can't even reinstall as there's no option as it says that is on the sdcard even though its unavailable..


any ideas how to over come this?

just remove it from the sd card ( laptop is the more easy way)
16th June 2014, 10:40 AM |#6  
lohtse's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Where ever they send Me!!
Thanks Meter: 50
 
More
doesn't work lumia still thinks they are installed !!!!!
17th June 2014, 08:58 PM |#7  
Recognized Developer
Flag Seattle
Thanks Meter: 2,849
 
More
It's to prevent cheating (or piracy) by copying/modifying the app data; it's not "flippin stupid" at all.

1) Put the old card back in your phone.
2) Move the apps from the card to the phone (if you have to, just uninstall the apps instead).
3) Eject the old card and put in the newer, larger one.
4) Move the apps back to the card (or re-install them to the card).

Yeah, it'll take a few minutes and it would be nice if there was an easier way to do it, but the solution shouldn't be difficult.
The Following User Says Thank You to GoodDayToDie For This Useful Post: [ View ]
18th June 2014, 10:21 AM |#8  
lohtse's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Where ever they send Me!!
Thanks Meter: 50
 
More
I have no issues with the locking down of swapping cards but should at least give us the option to reinstall or reinstall like they do after an update of the os! Thats why its flippin stupid!.


As to moving back to internal its not possible as have moved 60% of apps to cards tonsave space on phone...
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes