APKTool Updated with Android Lollipop Support

One of the beauties of Android is the level of flexibility we have over our devices. Whether … more

Lollipop Leak for Sprint Galaxy S5, TWRP for Micromax Canvas Magnus – XDA TV

Android 5.0 Lollipop has been leaked for the Sprint … more

Velocity is Like OpenTable on Steroids

We all enjoy a night out with friends or our significant other from time to time. However, there is … more

Android Lollipop Lands for the Sony Xperia Z Ultra

The undisputed king of the beasts–at least in Sony’s current stable,is the … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Trouble swapping SD cards on Lumia 520

OP lohtse

14th June 2014, 04:44 PM   |  #1  
lohtse's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Where ever they send Me!!
Thanks Meter: 42
 
932 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
More
Recently been issued Lumia 520s at work but only had 2gig sdcards in..

Have played around with it and moved apps to sdcard etc.

Now I copied everything including the hidden folders to an 8gig sdcard and swapped over to in on the 520... Everything seems ok but all apps moved to sdcard now say they are unavailable!!!! Any ideas what am doing wrong and how to over come the issue?

Regards
Lohtse
15th June 2014, 08:37 AM   |  #2  
ceesheim's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag No Android Fanboys Please !!!
Thanks Meter: 2,182
 
3,375 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lohtse

Recently been issued Lumia 520s at work but only had 2gig sdcards in..

Have played around with it and moved apps to sdcard etc.

Now I copied everything including the hidden folders to an 8gig sdcard and swapped over to in on the 520... Everything seems ok but all apps moved to sdcard now say they are unavailable!!!! Any ideas what am doing wrong and how to over come the issue?

Regards
Lohtse

you need to reinstall them again because you can't swap app's from one sd card to another. (its encrypted with the sd card ID )
so just reinstall your app's and all is ok.
15th June 2014, 06:59 PM   |  #3  
lohtse's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Where ever they send Me!!
Thanks Meter: 42
 
932 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ceesheim

you need to reinstall them again because you can't swap app's from one sd card to another. (its encrypted with the sd card ID )
so just reinstall your app's and all is ok.

thats flippin stupid!!!!!!

and I can't even reinstall as there's no option as it says that is one the sdcard even though its unavailable..


any ideas how to over come this?
15th June 2014, 07:00 PM   |  #4  
lohtse's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Where ever they send Me!!
Thanks Meter: 42
 
932 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ceesheim

you need to reinstall them again because you can't swap app's from one sd card to another. (its encrypted with the sd card ID )
so just reinstall your app's and all is ok.

thats flippin stupid!!!!!!

and I can't even reinstall as there's no option as it says that is on the sdcard even though its unavailable..


any ideas how to over come this?
16th June 2014, 09:21 AM   |  #5  
ceesheim's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag No Android Fanboys Please !!!
Thanks Meter: 2,182
 
3,375 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lohtse

thats flippin stupid!!!!!!

and I can't even reinstall as there's no option as it says that is on the sdcard even though its unavailable..


any ideas how to over come this?

just remove it from the sd card ( laptop is the more easy way)
16th June 2014, 11:40 AM   |  #6  
lohtse's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Where ever they send Me!!
Thanks Meter: 42
 
932 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
More
doesn't work lumia still thinks they are installed !!!!!
17th June 2014, 09:58 PM   |  #7  
Recognized Developer
Flag Seattle
Thanks Meter: 2,772
 
5,823 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
It's to prevent cheating (or piracy) by copying/modifying the app data; it's not "flippin stupid" at all.

1) Put the old card back in your phone.
2) Move the apps from the card to the phone (if you have to, just uninstall the apps instead).
3) Eject the old card and put in the newer, larger one.
4) Move the apps back to the card (or re-install them to the card).

Yeah, it'll take a few minutes and it would be nice if there was an easier way to do it, but the solution shouldn't be difficult.
The Following User Says Thank You to GoodDayToDie For This Useful Post: [ View ]
18th June 2014, 11:21 AM   |  #8  
lohtse's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Where ever they send Me!!
Thanks Meter: 42
 
932 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
More
I have no issues with the locking down of swapping cards but should at least give us the option to reinstall or reinstall like they do after an update of the os! Thats why its flippin stupid!.


As to moving back to internal its not possible as have moved 60% of apps to cards tonsave space on phone...

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes