Sony Updates AOSP Sources to Android 5.0.1

Just a few days ago, Sony did an utterly fantastic job by pushing out numerous device trees for … more

Stop Your Screen From Turning Off with KeepItOn

We all know the feeling of reading a news article orrather longdocument, when our screen … more

The XDA LG QPair Developer Challenge Voting Has Begun!

It seems like it was just yesterday that weannounced that we had paired up with LGto … more

Major Update for the Sony Smartwatch 2 Brings DND and More

With the wearables landscape now dominated by Android Wear and Pebble, its … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Why Flash Bootloader and Radio? How?

OP JedTech

12th June 2014, 06:46 PM   |  #1  
JedTech's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 28
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
Donate to Me
More
In the changelog for 4.4 RC 1, we are told that we need to flash a new bootloader and radio. This has not been part of my normal process. Why do we need to do this? Also, I wasn't able to find any threads on suggested bootloaders and radios for PA. Please point me in the right direction if this is something I really need to do. (using a Nexus 5)

Quote from the 4.4 RC 1 Changelog:
Quote:
Originally Posted by saumil007

4.4 RC1 - Kitkat 4.4.3

Dose of awesome sauce on this week from PA Headquarters, again. As you may know we merged 4.4.3 into our source. You will need to flash new bootloader, radio, Gapps and update to latest recovery before going forward. Many bugs have been also resolved on our bug tracker thanks to community’s reports, less to go.

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to JedTech For This Useful Post: [ View ]
12th June 2014, 07:31 PM   |  #2  
saumil007's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 277
 
523 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmanidb

In the changelog for 4.4 RC 1, we are told that we need to flash a new bootloader and radio. This has not been part of my normal process. Why do we need to do this? Also, I wasn't able to find any threads on suggested bootloaders and radios for PA. Please point me in the right direction if this is something I really need to do. (using a Nexus 5)

Quote from the 4.4 RC 1 Changelog:

Flash stock 4.4.3 and then flash PA. Did the same for my primary N4

Sent from my Xperia S using Tapatalk
13th June 2014, 01:52 AM   |  #3  
JedTech's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 28
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
Donate to Me
More
I ended up unzipping the stock package and selectively flashing the stock Bootloader and Radio.

I'm not sure why I needed to do this, but I did it and I'm using 4.4 RC 1 now.
Thanks!
13th June 2014, 02:20 AM   |  #4  
Pirateghost's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 8,191
 
11,092 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Donate to Me
More
It was mentioned to do so but should have specified that it was only for those old 3.99 holdouts that weren't ready to switch. Mainly only applied to mako users.

Sent from my Nexus 5
13th June 2014, 12:38 PM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pirateghost

It was mentioned to do so but should have specified that it was only for those old 3.99 holdouts that weren't ready to switch. Mainly only applied to mako users.

Sent from my Nexus 5

So all Hammerhead user can actualy just flash directly the new rom right ?

(just want a confirmation so I dont go and flash radio and bootloader for nothing)

thanks
13th June 2014, 03:05 PM   |  #6  
Pirateghost's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 8,191
 
11,092 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by irawynn

So all Hammerhead user can actualy just flash directly the new rom right ?

(just want a confirmation so I dont go and flash radio and bootloader for nothing)

thanks

Yes. You do not need to update anything but the rom

Sent from my Nexus 5
18th June 2014, 08:23 AM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Cincinnati
Thanks Meter: 14
 
128 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
I'm kind of in the same situation, except a Nexus 7 2013 LTE is my device in question. I've been searching everywhere and haven't found any answers.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
18th June 2014, 02:35 PM   |  #8  
Pirateghost's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 8,191
 
11,092 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by XCrazedxPyroX

I'm kind of in the same situation, except a Nexus 7 2013 LTE is my device in question. I've been searching everywhere and haven't found any answers.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

You don't need to update anything then. If your device didn't come with any new boot loaders or radios then there is obviously nothing to update.

#stayparanoid

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes