Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Buying Canadian model to use on AT&T?

OP Cryceratops

17th June 2014, 05:42 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
78 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
Hello there,

Since the American versions of this phone seem to be bootloader locked, would it be possible to get the Canadian version, on say, Rogers, which isn't bootloader locked, and use it on AT&T? Would I get LTE this way as well? Thanks.
17th June 2014, 07:26 AM   |  #2  
Brava27's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 152
 
864 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
Absolutely. Should work no problem. Just add apn settings and simcard

Sent from my SM-G900W8 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to Brava27 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
18th June 2014, 03:06 AM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
78 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brava27

Absolutely. Should work no problem. Just add apn settings and simcard

Sent from my SM-G900W8 using Tapatalk

Sorry to sound uninformed, but what is APN settings? Also, is there a more practical way to get an unlocked version from within the U.S. itself? Such as from T-Mobile?
18th June 2014, 04:27 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 50
 
378 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
I sold a Canadian HTC M7 from Telus on the US market with the bootloader unlocked but the new owner could not simply insert his SIM into the phone. It was SIM locked. Locked bootloader is completely different story than locked SIM (the device is locked to work only with a particular carrier's SIM). I had to get an unlock code and then worked. Be aware about this.
Here is your explanation:

http://android.stackexchange.com/que...ked-bootloader



Quote:
Originally Posted by Cryceratops

Hello there,

Since the American versions of this phone seem to be bootloader locked, would it be possible to get the Canadian version, on say, Rogers, which isn't bootloader locked, and use it on AT&T? Would I get LTE this way as well? Thanks.

The Following User Says Thank You to jb_alphamale For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes