Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,770,417 Members 46,246 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Cannot re root after 4.4.3 upgrade

Tip us?
 
wardy277
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 110
Join Date: Feb 2009
Default [Q] Cannot re root after 4.4.3 upgrade

Hi,

I previously had purity rom on my nexus 10. I decided to back to stock and use the xposed framework. So with 4.4.3 I flashed the stock images (manualy so it didn't wipe my sdcard partition), wiped data, cache and dalvick.

Stock 4.4.3 works fine, no issues here, but in acquiring root by flashing supersu update (both 93 and 99r3) root doesn't seem to stick. I can adb in and su from terminal, but when booting android supersu days it couldn't acquire root. I have tried other clockworkmod recovery and team win recovery so see if it was a bug with recovery, but no dice. Clockwork did occasionally say it lost root and press Yes to put it back, it did this on my nexus 5 and I still kept root.

I have even tried the universal nexus toolkit but that didn't work either. All methods I have tried have run the zip output fine, saying success.

Any ideas what's wrong. I assume I have done something wrong but can't find much information about root not working like this.
UK T-Mobile HTC Sensation
LeeDroid ROM
16GB Class 6 SD
Clockwork recovery

Motorola Xoom WiFi UK
Tiamat 2.2
16GB Class 4 SD
Clockwork recovery
 
planet_x69
Old
(Last edited by planet_x69; 18th June 2014 at 05:43 PM.)
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 23
Posts: 109
Join Date: Jul 2011
Did you try chainfire 2.00?

Link to Chainfire page
 
XxLordxX
Old
#3  
XxLordxX's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 980
Posts: 2,762
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Why do you need to know that?

 
DONATE TO ME
Hi,

Some time ago I've faced the same issue as you, what worked for me was using an older supersu flashable zip and after flashing it I flashed the latest. Don't know if it was placebo or something, but always worked for me .

~Lord
 
sfobrien
Old
#4  
sfobrien's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 271
Posts: 908
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Indiana
I did the exact same couple days ago after running Omnirom. I used this odex stock image http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2529492

After the initial factory wipe I wiped dalvik,cache,data, and flashed SU after flashing the ROM but before reboot. Using latest TWRP. Hope this helps.
Steve


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes