FORUMS

Index Project For XDA Device Subforums

Another ambitious project from the collaborative efforts of Recognized Contributors and Forum … more

The Atlas of XDA

A few weeks ago, we asked you “How Does Your Location Affect Your Life As A Power User?”. In the days that … more

New Snapdragons: Some Context & Contrast

It hasn’t been a good year for Qualcomm so far. Every device featuring the Snapdragon 810 … more

Google To Launch Next Gen Android One On July 14

The first gen of Android One devices to be launched in India in September 2014 were … more

[Q] How to root a Z1C on a Mac

6 posts
Thanks Meter: 2
 
By Hamozus, Junior Member on 17th June 2014, 09:11 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hi,

As I don't have enough posts I have been redirected here by xda assist.

I am trying to root my Sony Z1C (D5503) and I have read about the new towel root method. There is a useful topic on towel root and Xperia phones including Z1C by (http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...2784900&page=7) but there is nothing about using this method with a Mac and I can't figure out how to do that. The guide says that it should work on Linux, don't know if that means that it can work on Mac with some minor changes...
There is a way to put the adb drivers on mac (http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1917237 although I was not able to reset the path, not sure why) but that's as far as I went.

Or if not with towel root is there a way to root relatively easily a Z1C on mac ?

Thanks in advance
 
 
18th June 2014, 03:00 AM |#2  
Attitude.SSJ's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Mangalore
Thanks Meter: 944
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hamozus

Hi,

As I don't have enough posts I have been redirected here by xda assist.

I am trying to root my Sony Z1C (D5503) and I have read about the new towel root method. There is a useful topic on towel root and Xperia phones including Z1C by (http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...2784900&page=7) but there is nothing about using this method with a Mac and I can't figure out how to do that. The guide says that it should work on Linux, don't know if that means that it can work on Mac with some minor changes...
There is a way to put the adb drivers on mac (http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1917237 although I was not able to reset the path, not sure why) but that's as far as I went.

Or if not with towel root is there a way to root relatively easily a Z1C on mac ?

Thanks in advance

Try this :http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2783876

Sent from my Xperia Z1 Compact using Tapatalk 2
18th June 2014, 10:56 AM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Attitude.SSJ

Try this :http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2783876

Sent from my Xperia Z1 Compact using Tapatalk 2

Thanks, I will try this in the afternoon. But I think the post was modified and now it referes to adb.exe (so windows).
18th June 2014, 11:54 AM |#4  
zxz0O0's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,913
 
Donate to Me
More
There are a few errors in install.sh script. Thanks to nhnt11, they're fixed and next version should work fine on mac
The Following User Says Thank You to zxz0O0 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
18th June 2014, 10:15 PM |#5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Okay, finally home to try it !

So first problem (sorry ^^')

I do have adb on my android folder on my desktop but when I go to a terminal device I get
Quote:

pc3:android hamzamechbal$ ./adb devices
* daemon not running. starting it now on port 5037 *
* daemon started successfully *
List of devices attached
CB5A1XKHBH offline

So that's the good serial number but how do I get the online status ? Cause afterwards I get a error device is offline for the root steps...

Edit : I tried another adb file in the adb for mac guide and now instead of offline I get unauthorized -_-

Edit^2: Okay, I finally got the RSA authorization on the phone, so no more unauthorized problem. Back to the actual rooting.

Edit : Okay, so first step of pushing the file ok, then I type the second one (chmod 755), no response and when I try the third one I get

Quote:

unable to open input and output for patching!
failed to patch kernel wp mod module

Last edited by Hamozus; 18th June 2014 at 10:41 PM.
18th June 2014, 10:58 PM |#6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
I double post but just to say that it worked perfectly with the updated file of 11:49pm !!

So thanks Attitude.SSJ and zxz0O0 for the directions in this thread and munjeni, geohot and MohammadAG for the easy binary

Wouhouuu
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes