Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,811,145 Members 44,695 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] one hell of a brick :(

Tip us?
 
Fasted12
Old
#11  
Fasted12's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 35
Posts: 99
Join Date: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by nabilbek View Post
I am aware and have adb. thing is phone is bricked after last update (stuck at logo)
so i can only get into download mode ....wish there was a way to get from download to recovery but I cant find any
without the use of the power button ofc ...
sorry man, hope the button install goes well
 
ovenbird
Old
#12  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 10
Join Date: Jun 2014
Default hmm

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fasted12 View Post
sorry man, hope the button install goes well
i have the same exact problem minus my power button, it works normal

and i get firmware upgrade encountered an issue

i get that screen when i normal boot it, try recovery, or download mode, everything results to firmware upgrade encountered an issue

not sure if i should post here with this or not, just letting you know
 
Fasted12
Old
#13  
Fasted12's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 35
Posts: 99
Join Date: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by ovenbird View Post
i have the same exact problem minus my power button, it works normal

and i get firmware upgrade encountered an issue

i get that screen when i normal boot it, try recovery, or download mode, everything results to firmware upgrade encountered an issue

not sure if i should post here with this or not, just letting you know
i guess the question is, can you get your phone to download mode...
 
ovenbird
Old
#14  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 10
Join Date: Jun 2014
Default download mode

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fasted12 View Post
i guess the question is, can you get your phone to download mode...
it reaches download mode no matter what i do ( the firmware error is in the download mode )

the problem is while in download mode nothing recognizes it ( its not normal download mode )

Im getting this :

I cant post links but this is the image i can send you

cdn.droidviews.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/09/Firmware-upgrade-encountered-an-issue jpg


put a DOT in there
The Following User Says Thank You to ovenbird For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Fasted12
Old
#15  
Fasted12's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 35
Posts: 99
Join Date: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by ovenbird View Post
it reaches download mode no matter what i do ( the firmware error is in the download mode )

the problem is while in download mode nothing recognizes it ( its not normal download mode )

Im getting this :

I cant post links but this is the image i can send you

cdn.droidviews.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/09/Firmware-upgrade-encountered-an-issue jpg


put a DOT in there
if kies wont recognize, nor will odin-i dont know--try reposting maybe get some new views, sorry
 
nabilbek
Old
(Last edited by nabilbek; 19th June 2014 at 12:33 AM.)
#16  
nabilbek's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 327
Join Date: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by ovenbird View Post
i have the same exact problem minus my power button, it works normal

and i get firmware upgrade encountered an issue

i get that screen when i normal boot it, try recovery, or download mode, everything results to firmware upgrade encountered an issue

not sure if i should post here with this or not, just letting you know
this happened with me once. long long time ago
But I swear I cant remember why
here try this : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GbAJH_mL6N4

another well explained guide for solving using kies : http://androidcentral.us/2013/09/how...issue-on-kies/
The Following User Says Thank You to nabilbek For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
KJ
Old
#17  
KJ's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3,583
Posts: 8,584
Join Date: May 2011
Location: The boonies - southwest Ontario
In case anyone doesn't know.....Odin won't see your device if kies is running. You need to kill the kies process. Make sure there's no mention of it in windows task manager.

Then, if your drivers are installed right....Odin should see your phone.

Also, I've always had the best luck with Odin 3.04.



---------- Post added at 07:31 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:30 PM ----------

Or uninstall kies... I never once used it for anything.
Sent from my new HTC One M8, N7, Moto X, GTab3 or S2.

Need help with poor battery life? Any device welcome, even tho its an N5 thread. Please specify if on a device other than N5. Lots of info in first 4 posts! >>>>
[Battery Life Help] Troubleshoot Battery Issues Here....and Tips

 
nabilbek
Old
#18  
nabilbek's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 327
Join Date: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by KJ View Post
In case anyone doesn't know.....Odin won't see your device if kies is running. You need to kill the kies process. Make sure there's no mention of it in windows task manager.

Then, if your drivers are installed right....Odin should see your phone.

Also, I've always had the best luck with Odin 3.04.



---------- Post added at 07:31 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:30 PM ----------

Or uninstall kies... I never once used it for anything.

exactly ... kies is utter ****!
I would never recommend it too. A pure waste of time
 
KJ
Old
#19  
KJ's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3,583
Posts: 8,584
Join Date: May 2011
Location: The boonies - southwest Ontario
Also, see what your phone shows as in windows device manager. If its listed with an "!" on it....the drivers may need to be reinstalled. If windows doesn't see it correctly, either will Odin. 👍
Sent from my new HTC One M8, N7, Moto X, GTab3 or S2.

Need help with poor battery life? Any device welcome, even tho its an N5 thread. Please specify if on a device other than N5. Lots of info in first 4 posts! >>>>
[Battery Life Help] Troubleshoot Battery Issues Here....and Tips

The Following User Says Thank You to KJ For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
ovenbird
Old
#20  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 10
Join Date: Jun 2014
Problem solved, I reinstalled drivers.

That simple.

Thanks for the video btw, I even added the guy from youtube channel :P

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes