Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,737,870 Members 50,178 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

I think I may have ruined my phone

Tip us?
 
BerndM14
Old
#11  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 147
Posts: 477
Join Date: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by haydenrbm View Post
Okay it is unlocked, but now it just stays on the AOKP boot screen

Thank you for the help btw, it must be very painful.
Press Volume UP + Power button, once the screen goes dead, press Volume DOWN + Power button to get back into bootloader. Then flash a custom recovery (Like TWRP) and start flashing the Stock nandroid backups, can be found from here Collection of Stock backups
The Following User Says Thank You to BerndM14 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
haydenrbm
Old
(Last edited by haydenrbm; 16th June 2014 at 08:28 PM.)
#12  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 7
Join Date: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by BerndM14 View Post
Press Volume UP + Power button, once the screen goes dead, press Volume DOWN + Power button to get back into bootloader. Then flash a custom recovery (Like TWRP) and start flashing the Stock nandroid backups, can be found from here Collection of Stock backups
Okay i have got into the bootloader now, thanks.
I cannot put the rom into the internal storage because my computer wont detect the phone
 
BerndM14
Old
#13  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 147
Posts: 477
Join Date: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by haydenrbm View Post
Okay i have got into the bootloader now, thanks.
the adb devices will show it if i have it in recovery mode but not bootloader, why is that ?
You didn't read any of my posts about that, did you? lol

I already stated adb commands like "adb devices" "adb reboot" etc will NOT work in bootloader, it'll work in the system and yes, it'll work in recovery for sideloading etc, but NOT in bootloader. For bootloader you HAVE to use fastboot commands, "fastboot devices" "fastboot reboot" "fastboot oem lock" "fastboot oem get_identifier_token" "fastboot flash unlocktoken Unlock_code.bin" etc etc
The Following User Says Thank You to BerndM14 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
haydenrbm
Old
#14  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 7
Join Date: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by BerndM14 View Post
You didn't read any of my posts about that, did you? lol

I already stated adb commands like "adb devices" "adb reboot" etc will NOT work in bootloader, it'll work in the system and yes, it'll work in recovery for sideloading etc, but NOT in bootloader. For bootloader you HAVE to use fastboot commands, "fastboot devices" "fastboot reboot" "fastboot oem lock" "fastboot oem get_identifier_token" "fastboot flash unlocktoken Unlock_code.bin" etc etc
Sorry I skipped past your first response, that makes sense now.
So I need to put the rom on my internal storage then go into recovery and install the zip using TWRP..but when I plug my phone into the computer the internal storage wont show up.
I do have sync manager installed also, and it wont show up in that either
 
BerndM14
Old
(Last edited by BerndM14; 16th June 2014 at 09:18 PM.)
#15  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 147
Posts: 477
Join Date: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by haydenrbm View Post
Okay i have got into the bootloader now, thanks.
I cannot put the rom into the internal storage because my computer wont detect the phone
With that adb devices command again in bootloader? Did you flash TWRP yet? If so, Got to Advanced >>> ADB Sideload >>> Swipe to start sideload.

Place the ROM.zip file in your adb folder then:

Connect phone to PC, while still in recovery mode type adb devices to make sure your device gets picked up, should show you the serial number for device AS WELL as "sideload" next to it, if so then you are hooked up right. Next type adb sideload name_of_zip.zip wait until fully finished.

If sideload fails for one or other reason you can also try to push it. Reboot to recovery again, type adb devices to make sure device gets picked up, type adb push name_of_zip.zip /data/media/0/ or adb push name_of_zip.zip /sdcard/ flash as per usual then.

Yet somehow I don't think you even need to go to these steps
The Following User Says Thank You to BerndM14 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
haydenrbm
Old
(Last edited by haydenrbm; 16th June 2014 at 09:11 PM.)
#16  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 7
Join Date: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by BerndM14 View Post
With that adb devices command again in bootloader? Did you flash TWRP yet? If so, Got to Advanced >>> ADB Sideload >>> Swipe to start sideload.

Place the ROM.zip file in your adb folder then:

Connect phone to PC, while still in recovery mode type adb devices to make sure your device gets picked up, should show you the serial number for device AS WELL as "sideload" next to it, if so then you are hooked up right. Next type adb sideload name_of_zip.zip wait until fully finished, once done reboot back into recovery and flash rom.

If sideload fails for one or other reason you can also try to push it. Reboot to recovery again, type adb devices to make sure device gets picked up, type adb push name_of_zip.zip /data/media/0/ or adb push name_of_zip.zip /sdcard/ flash as per usual then.

Yet somehow I don't think you even need to go to these steps

haha..thank you for baby steps
The sideload completed and i rebooted then went back into recovery and install but there isn't a zip file anywhere

Edit: wow..some how i reset it and it turned on and got into the phone... and now it connects to the computer so i should be able to follow the other tutorial now...man you are a life saver thank you so much
The Following User Says Thank You to haydenrbm For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
BerndM14
Old
#17  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 147
Posts: 477
Join Date: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by haydenrbm View Post
haha..thank you for baby steps
The sideload completed and i rebooted then went back into recovery and install but there isn't a zip file anywhere

Edit: wow..some how i reset it and it turned on and got into the phone... and now it connects to the computer so i should be able to follow the other tutorial now...man you are a life saver thank you so much
I made a small mistake with the sideload though, it actually installs automatically as such you don't have to go back into recovery to flash, as it did it already, sorry. Edited post to fix.

Well as long as you can get into phone now to copy the nandroid backup to the phone all should be in order, can flash back stock from the nandroid then.

Glad it worked out then.
The Following User Says Thank You to BerndM14 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
heartready
Old
(Last edited by heartready; 19th June 2014 at 06:19 AM.)
#18  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 29
Join Date: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by BerndM14 View Post
I made a small mistake with the sideload though, it actually installs automatically as such you don't have to go back into recovery to flash, as it did it already, sorry. Edited post to fix.

Well as long as you can get into phone now to copy the nandroid backup to the phone all should be in order, can flash back stock from the nandroid then.

Glad it worked out then.
Hello BerndM14, thank you for this baby steps. Mine m8 is a gpe version, it's 4.4.2 google rom, rooted, cwm recovery, s-on. I was trying to flash the full google 4.4.3 zip rom under recovery, however, after that, my m8 automaticlly enter recovery everytime reboot. And I can manually enter the bootloader, my pc can find the m8 both in recovery and bootloader. I searched this post, and do it accordingly, I download the gpe stock backup KOT49H.H16 - 1.16.1700.16 - CWM Philz touch and use adb sideload gpe3.zip to the cell phone sucessfully, then the recovery automaticlly starts installing rom, then, I got below message:
-- Erasing & formatting /system as ext4 (Unmounted system)
system partition formatted!
-- Mounting system partition for writing
Writing rom system to system partition
Rom system written successfully!
@symlinking and permissions
--Creating toolbox symlinks
--creating additional symlinks
Symlinks Set!
--installing busybox
Set_perm: some changes failed
E:Error in /tmp/update.zip
(status 7)
installation aborted.

Install from sideload complete.

then, I reboot it manually. problem still there, still enter the recovery automaticlly.
do you have any comments on this? please.
thanks,

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes