Sony to Extend its AOSP Program to Other Devices

Sony will be offering its users the possibility to use AOSP ROMs as an alternative to the … more

Project Ara Smartphone Will Run Modified Android L with Hot Swapping

Project Ara is a very exciting topic–both for hardware and … more

Streamline Android Theme Customization with Graphic Porter

I dont have a custom theme on my Android phone, and the reason for this is because … more

Boost the Brightness of Your Sony Xperia Z1’s LED

I think the last time anyone has ever used a physical torch to find their earphones, … more
Post Reply

Towelroot not working for me?

19th June 2014, 02:02 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
240 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
I downloaded the app and ran it successfully, but upon reboot I don't appear to have root. No SU app in my drawer. What could I be doing wrong?
19th June 2014, 02:07 AM   |  #2  
zacharyt86's Avatar
Member
Flag Decatur, IL
Thanks Meter: 28
 
90 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
More
It doesn't install a su manager by default, read up on the op in the official thread for more info http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2783157
19th June 2014, 02:41 AM   |  #3  
Bap343's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
If you want su just download it off the play store I did and it works just fine
19th June 2014, 02:59 AM   |  #4  
zounduser's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag sioux falls SD
Thanks Meter: 1,500
 
4,652 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bap343

If you want su just download it off the play store I did and it works just fine

That doesn't work for me. It says the binary needs to b updated. Then it just fails out.

Edit...... followed the link above and I'm good now. Installed SU and SU pro.
Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Last edited by zounduser; 19th June 2014 at 03:12 AM.
19th June 2014, 03:09 AM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 114
 
588 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
More
Even without updating the su binary it still works. Try using a root required app

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Tapatalk
19th June 2014, 03:11 AM   |  #6  
Bap343's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Well the only thing I did to get it all to work was download busy box install it then download su and clicked on it and it said something I don't remember and it rebooted my phone and worked
19th June 2014, 03:16 AM   |  #7  
Bap343's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
This is what I used and had no problem at all
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1403144114909.jpg
Views:	178
Size:	49.1 KB
ID:	2806186   Click image for larger version

Name:	1403144128095.jpg
Views:	164
Size:	48.9 KB
ID:	2806187  
19th June 2014, 08:09 AM   |  #8  
VeryCoolAlan's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 190
 
2,614 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
More
*cough * I made a video explaining this *cough* it's in this same section

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
The Following User Says Thank You to VeryCoolAlan For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th June 2014, 12:05 PM   |  #9  
garwynn's Avatar
Forum Moderator / Recognized Developer
Flag Chi-town
Thanks Meter: 7,551
 
4,678 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
Donate to Me
More
Moved to Q&A.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in AT&T Galaxy S5 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank